We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hartwells Cotswold Cycle Hire

Open Now: 09:30 - 17:30
Open today: 09:30 - 17:30

Hartwells Cotswold Cycle Hire
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
16
All photos (16)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent86%
  • Very good7%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“hired bikes”(3 reviews)
“repair kit”(2 reviews)
“lower swell”(2 reviews)
About
Long-established cycle hire business, with over 50 cycles. We have a huge variety of bikes, and are open every day.
Open Now
Hours Today: 09:30 - 17:30
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
High Street, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AJ, England
Website
+44 1451 820405
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
12
1
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
12
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hired bikes repair kit lower swell helmets tandem stow route ride cotswolds shop bourton
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

We are very satisfied of the bikes and the service. We got what we need, and use them in four days whithout problems. Greetings from four ladies from Norway

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Torhild M
David B, Owner at Hartwells Cotswold Cycle Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Thank you very much for your kind words. We were very pleased to help you all. David...Hartwells Cotswold Cycle Hire

Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Rented bikes here to take a spin around the town. Very helpful shop. Gave us panniers and vests. Locks and a map.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Linda H
David B, Owner at Hartwells Cotswold Cycle Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review. David...Hartwells Cotswold Cycle Hire

Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

David was quite helpful in getting us set up to reserve bicycles. We did a ride to Lower then Upper Slaughter, which was a highlight of our day. Bicycles we're good, and came with helmets, locks, and safety vests. Highly recommend trying this out!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Brian F
David B, Owner at Hartwells Cotswold Cycle Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review. David...Hartwells Cotswold Cycle Hire

Reviewed 25 July 2018

We had a very positive experience with Hartwell's Cycle Centre. The management were very welcoming, informative ans accommodating. We were provided with maps and fulsome advice on the best and most scenic routes to be taken. The bicycles provided to us were in excellent condition...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank John N
David B, Owner at Hartwells Cotswold Cycle Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Thank you so much for your glowing review ! We hope to see you again !! David..Hartwells Cotswold Cycle Hire

Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Good range of bikes for hire, well maintained cycles, reasonable prices, also provide good gear (helmet and lock)! We were given a printed map of a route to start us off with too!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Stella23114
David B, Owner at Hartwells Cotswold Cycle Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Thank you. Stella, for your kind review. It was a great pleasure to help you. David...Hartwells Cotswold Cycle Hire

Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

It started out well, the renting process went smoothly and very friendly. Unfortunately my expectations were far away from reality. I planned a longer tour through the Cotswolds. What I got was a bike that barely got me out of Bourton on the water. Gearing...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank thomaslI3768AY
David B, Owner at Hartwells Cotswold Cycle Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

I was sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the cycle that we supplied. I have spoken to my staff, who say that they were unaware at the time that there was a problem, and thought that you had just had a change of...More

Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We called ahead and booked bikes for a party of 8 with kids of all ages. David was a legend for getting us setup with excellent bikes, a map and good advice on what to do with kids in tow. Bikes were top notch and...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank 276vijayb
David B, Owner at Hartwells Cotswold Cycle Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you so much, Vijay, for your generous review. It was a pleasure to help, and we hope to see you again ! David...Hartwells Cotswold Cycle Hire

Reviewed 19 November 2017

Hired 2 bikes whilst holidaying in Bourton on the Water recently. £14 each for a full day hire. There was a lower cost for half day hire but tbh the cost difference did not justify having to clock watch on the bikes being returned in...More

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Cheekycockney190757
David B, Owner at Hartwells Cotswold Cycle Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thank you for your positive review. Best wishes David...Hartwells Cotswold Cycle Hire

Reviewed 6 October 2017

6 of our group of 9 family members hired bikes from Hartwell's and we are so glad that we did! Our ages ranged from 9 to 70 with some of us oldies being somewhat rusty in the saddle. David was patient and helpful and there...More

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank fionajerreat
David B, Owner at Hartwells Cotswold Cycle Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you, Fiona, for your kind review. It was a pleasure to help you all. David...Hartwells Cotswold Cycle Hire

Reviewed 27 September 2017

If you have a need of a bike, this is the place to come to, this amazingly well stocked and old fashioned emporium that provides such services! On another level, if you're hunting paint brushes and enamel paint (as I was) you're going to fine...More

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Busybee888
David B, Owner at Hartwells Cotswold Cycle Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for your most complimentary review. David...Hartwells

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
Chester House Hotel
809 reviews
.07 km away
Dial House Hotel
610 reviews
.08 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
1 534 reviews
1.91 km away
The Slaughters Manor House
700 reviews
1.95 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 35 nearby restaurants
Smiths of Bourton,
326 reviews
.09 km away
Bakery on the Water
719 reviews
.12 km away
Mary's Rest Tearoom & Cafe
400 reviews
.13 km away
Rose Tree Restaurant
1 288 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 32 nearby attractions
The Cotswold Brewing Company
127 reviews
1.06 km away
Cotswold Motoring Museum
1 642 reviews
.13 km away
Dragonfly Maze
659 reviews
.36 km away
Bourton on the Water
143 reviews
.51 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Saeed B
9 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from John N | Reviewed this property |
The villages on the circular route that we took were a few miles apart. The villages and views are very scenic. It is important to factor in that each route will have slopes, hills and inclines. Part of the Cotswolds... More
0
Votes