We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings

Features Animals
Rock-a-Nore Road, Hastings TN34 3DW, England
+44 1424 718776
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
May 2018 family visit

Very small and overpriced. It was ok- my 3 year old was entertained for around 10 minutes (it cost... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
ktfanstone
,
Godmanchester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Very informative, but.....

no staff situated around exhibits so couldn't ask further questions to help with informative trip... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
890happyshopper
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 533 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Located in the historic Old Town, take the ultimate undersea safari at Blue Reef Aquarium, Hastings. Enjoy incredibly close encounters with seahorses, native sharks, giant octopus and hundreds of amazing aquatic creatures. At the aquarium's heart is a giant ocean display - walk through the mesmerising underwater tunnel and come face to face with shoals of colourful fish. With talks and feeds all day you can even get hands on with our Remarkable Reptiles during animal encounters. Don't forget to grab a bite to eat in the Blue Reef Cafe and even book your Pirate or Mermaid themed birthday party. There's so much to sea under the sea!
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good35%
  • Average26%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“small aquarium” (22 reviews)
“archer fish” (12 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 17:00
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Rock-a-Nore Road, Hastings TN34 3DW, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1424 718776
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"small aquarium"
in 22 reviews
"archer fish"
in 12 reviews
"underwater tunnel"
in 11 reviews
"reptile area"
in 10 reviews
"feeding times"
in 10 reviews
"sea horses"
in 8 reviews
"open tank"
in 7 reviews
"fish swimming"
in 7 reviews
"reptile room"
in 7 reviews
"sea life centre"
in 6 reviews
"rainy day"
in 17 reviews
"value for money"
in 22 reviews
"family visit"
in 6 reviews
"family ticket"
in 6 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 11 reviews
"lovely place to visit"
in 7 reviews
"staff were very friendly"
in 6 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Very small and overpriced. It was ok- my 3 year old was entertained for around 10 minutes (it cost £30 to get in so I wouldn't say value for money!). Very underwhelmed with this place. My daughter had a much better time on the £2...More

Thank ktfanstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

no staff situated around exhibits so couldn't ask further questions to help with informative trip for children. Looked incredibly tired, dirty and under managed in all areas, With better management this could be brilliant. They do advertise on their website that there is parking situated...More

Thank 890happyshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

if like one of my children and obsessed with all things sea related then this is a nice place to go not overly priced like the sea life centers either

Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited Blue reef aquarium today, we bought our tickets online, lovely selection of fish & also reptiles, our granddaughter was lucky enough to hold a king Python which she loved. The staff are very friendly & ready to answer any questions you may have, we...More

Thank Sussexkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is quite a small aquarium and although it’s well kept I was disappointed as I was expecting more. If it’s busy there are loads of people standing around especially where the octopus was. We stood no chance of seeing him close up. There was...More

Thank Vectra22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueReefAquariumH, General Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Vectra22, Thank you for your review. We are so sorry you didn't enjoy your visit, we only wish you had spoken to us at the time about your concerns as we would have spoken to the school party for you. The ticket is an...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent well over an hour looking round and listening to the talks. There was plenty of information on the creatures, but not too much. We could identify most from the pictures. We saw Maxwell the octopus being fed, which was great fun. The entry...More

Thank moodymrscarolem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueReefAquariumH, General Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear moodymrscarolem, Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We are so happy to read you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back soon! Blue Reef Aquarium

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been there several times with friends and children to everyone delights. Well catered, planned and certainly informative.

Thank Jean-Paul88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueReefAquariumH, General Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jean-Paul88, Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoy your visit with us and can't wait to welcome you back again soon. Blue Reef Aquarium

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked on line as it was a lot cheaper. Great place to visit with lots of interesting types of fish. Children and adults would enjoy this visit.

Thank chigago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueReefAquariumH, General Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear chigago, Thank you for your 5 star review! It's always a great idea to check out our online discounts. We will pass on your kind words to the team. See you soon! Blue Reef Aquarium

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I came here last year with my husband who is not really into marine life, but he came as i wanted him to see it, and he found it very good, especially the octopus who had not been added when i came to the centre...More

Thank Cazzy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueReefAquariumH, General Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Cazzy1971, Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back! Make sure you check out the Archerfish Feed too, it's really impressive! See you soon! Blue Reef Aquarium

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

We visited with our 2 young children and brought a family ticket for £26.00 which we thought was a reasonable price. We was all looking forward to spending the last few hours of our holiday in here but we walked round the whole thing in...More

1  Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueReefAquariumH, General Manager at Blue Reef Aquarium Hastings, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Hannah B, Thank you for your review. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your visit and only wish you had spoken to us on the day. The aquarium takes around an hour to get round, and we also have talks and feeds every hour...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Hastings
Lansdowne
316 reviews
1.27 km away
Chatsworth Hotel
272 reviews
1.30 km away
The White Rock Hotel
480 reviews
1.63 km away
Travelodge Hastings
675 reviews
2.02 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Maggie's Fish & Chips
624 reviews
.11 km away
Cafe Maroc
250 reviews
.34 km away
First In Last Out
240 reviews
.36 km away
Webbe's Rock-a-Nore
978 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hastings Country Park
327 reviews
.13 km away
Hastings Fishermen's Museum
885 reviews
.04 km away
Shipwreck Museum
394 reviews
.06 km away
Hastings Miniature Railway
190 reviews
.17 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
SophiejM02
4 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from BlueReefAquariumH | Property representative |
Hi Sophie, I think we may have spoken via email also. Assistance dogs are permitted into the aquarium. See you soon!
0
Votes
littlepik1970
23 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Cliff W | Reviewed this property |
Well what a question. You need to speak to the manager. I found everyone very nice 👍 Bring flask and have a great time
2
Votes
susan f
8 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from BlueReefAquariumH | Property representative |
Dear Susan. The aquarium is mostly accessible however there are seven steps down and up again to the underwater tunnel. Many thanks, Blue Reef Aquarium, Hastings.
0
Votes
;