We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Steenberg Golf Club

11111 Tokai Road, Tokai 7945, South Africa
+27 21 713 2233
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful setting

Beautiful course which we watched my husband play from the golf cart. Every hole was picturesque... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Bellsyoungleson
via mobile
Golfing with Friends

We were visiting Cape Town and Sternberg was recommended to us to play a round of golf. The course... read more

Reviewed 17 April 2017
Kathy T
Read all 37 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Set in the heart of the tranquil Constantia Winelands and surrounded by the Silvermine mountain range lies Steenberg Golf Club voted the 2nd Best Golf Resort in the World by Conde Naste. Situated on the Steenberg Golf Estate, this 18-hole Peter Matkovich championship course is consistently regarded as one of the finest golf courses in Cape Town and South Africa.
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good21%
  • Average13%
  • Poor21%
  • Terrible13%
17 Apr 2017
“Golfing with Friends”
14 Mar 2017
“Stunning location”
LOCATION
11111 Tokai Road, Tokai 7945, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 713 2233
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful course which we watched my husband play from the golf cart. Every hole was picturesque and challenging. I would recommend this as one of the top golf courses for travelers to go to should you visit Cape Town. They were very accommodating at short...More

Thank Bellsyoungleson
SteenbergGC, Manager at Steenberg Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Bellsyoungleson, Thank you very much for the lovely review from your recent visit to Steenberg GC. We do hope you will be back again in the near future to experience more of what Steenberg has to offer. Kind regards

Reviewed 17 April 2017

We were visiting Cape Town and Sternberg was recommended to us to play a round of golf. The course was fabulous and the first round we played you were required to take a caddie and this was very helpful. My only reason for not giving...More

Thank Kathy T
Kennersgolf, Manager at Steenberg Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Good Day Kathy, We are glad you enjoyed the golf course and its condition. Our apologies about the clubs, we do not have ladies left hand rental sets so I am not sure why you were informed we do. I will address this with the...More

Reviewed 14 March 2017

Not withstanding the repairs being undertaken to several aprons and fairways (and in the current drought, I suspect they will take some time to recover), we really enjoyed our round of golf at Sternberg. In truth the GUR whilst extensive did not affect our play...More

Thank Mascot1
Kennersgolf, Manager at Steenberg Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Hi Mascot1, Thank you very much for your feedback after your visit to Steenberg GC. We appreciate the comments and hope that upon your next visit you will have a better experience on the golf course. The current drought is making it challenging to keep...More

Reviewed 22 February 2017

I was persuaded by a friend to play once more on this course, after it commissioned its new greens. A very bad decision on my part. Whilst the greens are new, they have more sand on them than Bondi beach. Standing downwind from them is...More

Thank CapeTownCharles
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

The golf course condition is very poor. Two holes are unplayable from being the premier golf course in the western cape,it has deteriorated to a very poor course badly in need of closure till the renovation works are completed. Avoid. It's a shame as I...More

Thank Andrew C
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Played there yesterday. Beautiful views and some challenging hole. A lot of work being done on the fairways and they were a bit scrubby in places. Greens decent to put on. Lovely bar and restaurant area. Club had a stipulation that each group hired a...More

Thank bigbaggy
Kennersgolf, Manager at Steenberg Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Good day bigbaggy, Thank you very much for the feedback from your visit to Steenberg GC. We appreciate hearing from our guests to ensure that we offer the most memorable golfing and overall experience. We hope you will choose to visit us again in the...More

Reviewed 7 February 2017

The estate advertised with "experience the spectacular improvements to our course" talking about their renovated greens, but they forgot to tell us (and others) how bad the fairways were and how much repair work that was going on, on fairways and aprons. And no reduction...More

Thank Lars R
Kennersgolf, Manager at Steenberg Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Good Day: I am sorry you did not have an enjoyable experience with us. At this time of year our golf cart fleet has to do 36 holes to accommodate the morning and afternoon fields. The Pro Shop should have communicated better to you that...More

Reviewed 24 January 2017

I have played Steenberg Golf Club many times over the years – it has been one of my favourite golf courses in SA. On January 23 I played it again with 7 friends and I must say I was it was one of my worst...More

1  Thank Balsy
Kennersgolf, Manager at Steenberg Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Dear Sir, My apologies about your unsatisfactory round at Steenberg GC. We are currently doing some cultural practices on a few of the fairways to replace grass that has died off. The issue with the sand on the greens was a supplier issue and should...More

Reviewed 20 January 2017

Just enjoyed a perfect afternoon of golf. Super course and the staff could not be more helpful. The food was excellent. So nice to see everyone smiling and pleased to help. The manager even helped us to book into another course nearby on a different...More

Thank Tom104
Kennersgolf, Guest Relations Manager at Steenberg Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Hi Tom104, Thank you very much for the lovely review. We do strive to ensure all our guests have a great time while visiting Steenberg GC and we hope to see you back again soon. Regards Steenberg GC

Reviewed 17 June 2016

This whole complex is a beautiful place to visit and apart from the Bistro which is lovely ,there is an impressive restaurant and a golf course enjoying fantastic views.A real must to visit .

Thank pamw398
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Catharina’s Restaurant at Steenberg
448 reviews
1.23 km away
Jakes in the Village
196 reviews
1.16 km away
Vovo Telo
12 reviews
1.15 km away
Tai Chi
10 reviews
.69 km away
Nearby Attractions
Blue Route Mall
23 reviews
2.15 km away
Tokai Forest
33 reviews
.68 km away
Groot Constantia
1 006 reviews
3.64 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Steenberg Golf Club staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit