We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 11111 Tokai Road, Tokai 7945, South Africa
Phone Number:
+27 21 713 2233
Website
Description:

Set in the heart of the tranquil Constantia Winelands and surrounded by the...

Set in the heart of the tranquil Constantia Winelands and surrounded by the Silvermine mountain range lies Steenberg Golf Club voted the 2nd Best Golf Resort in the World by Conde Naste. Situated on the Steenberg Golf Estate, this 18-hole Peter Matkovich championship course is consistently regarded as one of the finest golf courses in Cape Town and South Africa.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 36 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 7
    Excellent
  • 5
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Golfing with Friends

We were visiting Cape Town and Sternberg was recommended to us to play a round of golf. The course was fabulous and the first round we played you were required to take a caddie... read more

Reviewed 17 April 2017
Kathy T
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 23: English reviews
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We were visiting Cape Town and Sternberg was recommended to us to play a round of golf. The course was fabulous and the first round we played you were required to take a caddie and this was very helpful. My only reason for not giving this course an excellent is that we had corresponded with the course to book the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathy T
Kennersgolf, Manager at Steenberg Golf Club, responded to this review

Good Day Kathy, We are glad you enjoyed the golf course and its condition. Our apologies about the clubs, we do not have ladies left hand rental sets so I am not sure why you were informed we do. I will address this with the booking staff. Thanks you for your comments and we hope to see you back at... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Not withstanding the repairs being undertaken to several aprons and fairways (and in the current drought, I suspect they will take some time to recover), we really enjoyed our round of golf at Sternberg. In truth the GUR whilst extensive did not affect our play - possibly more luck than skill! - and the greens were in good condition with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mascot1
Kennersgolf, Manager at Steenberg Golf Club, responded to this review

Hi Mascot1, Thank you very much for your feedback after your visit to Steenberg GC. We appreciate the comments and hope that upon your next visit you will have a better experience on the golf course. The current drought is making it challenging to keep the course in perfect playing condition, but our greens-keeping staff are doing everything they can.... More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2017

I was persuaded by a friend to play once more on this course, after it commissioned its new greens. A very bad decision on my part. Whilst the greens are new, they have more sand on them than Bondi beach. Standing downwind from them is not advisable. One is in danger of being sand-blasted. Many fairways are being re-turfed with... More 

Helpful?
Thank CapeTownCharles
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

The golf course condition is very poor. Two holes are unplayable from being the premier golf course in the western cape,it has deteriorated to a very poor course badly in need of closure till the renovation works are completed. Avoid. It's a shame as I have fond memories of playing here.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Played there yesterday. Beautiful views and some challenging hole. A lot of work being done on the fairways and they were a bit scrubby in places. Greens decent to put on. Lovely bar and restaurant area. Club had a stipulation that each group hired a local caddie. My caddie was useful on occasion but I would have liked to have... More 

Helpful?
Thank bigbaggy
Kennersgolf, Manager at Steenberg Golf Club, responded to this review

Good day bigbaggy, Thank you very much for the feedback from your visit to Steenberg GC. We appreciate hearing from our guests to ensure that we offer the most memorable golfing and overall experience. We hope you will choose to visit us again in the future to enjoy all that Steenberg has to offer. Regards Steenberg GC More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2017

The estate advertised with "experience the spectacular improvements to our course" talking about their renovated greens, but they forgot to tell us (and others) how bad the fairways were and how much repair work that was going on, on fairways and aprons. And no reduction in greenfee was offered! We ordered and was assured that a buggy would be available,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lars R
Kennersgolf, Manager at Steenberg Golf Club, responded to this review

Good Day: I am sorry you did not have an enjoyable experience with us. At this time of year our golf cart fleet has to do 36 holes to accommodate the morning and afternoon fields. The Pro Shop should have communicated better to you that the cart was still out in the field but would be ready for your tee... More 

UK
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2017

I have played Steenberg Golf Club many times over the years – it has been one of my favourite golf courses in SA. On January 23 I played it again with 7 friends and I must say I was it was one of my worst golf experiences ever! Several of the fairways are being refurbished and consequently fairways from approx.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Balsy
Kennersgolf, Manager at Steenberg Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Sir, My apologies about your unsatisfactory round at Steenberg GC. We are currently doing some cultural practices on a few of the fairways to replace grass that has died off. The issue with the sand on the greens was a supplier issue and should not have effected play as it did. Please contact me at golfdir@steenberggolfclub.co.za as I would... More 

Scarborough
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Just enjoyed a perfect afternoon of golf. Super course and the staff could not be more helpful. The food was excellent. So nice to see everyone smiling and pleased to help. The manager even helped us to book into another course nearby on a different day because Steenberg was fully booked. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Tom104
Kennersgolf, Guest Relations Manager at Steenberg Golf Club, responded to this review

Hi Tom104, Thank you very much for the lovely review. We do strive to ensure all our guests have a great time while visiting Steenberg GC and we hope to see you back again soon. Regards Steenberg GC More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2016

This whole complex is a beautiful place to visit and apart from the Bistro which is lovely ,there is an impressive restaurant and a golf course enjoying fantastic views.A real must to visit .

Helpful?
Thank pamw398
Cape Town
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2016

The club sells itself as one of the highest rated golf clubs in RSA and charges one of the highest green fees in the country. You can imagine the disappointment of our group when playing it, we found it to be in dire condition. The practice green is reasonable and green, the actual greens are largely bereft of grass and... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank CapeTownCharles

Travellers who viewed Steenberg Golf Club also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Melkbosstrand, Cape Town
 

Been to Steenberg Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Steenberg Golf Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?