We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pyecombe Golf Club

6 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Pyecombe Golf Club

6 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
6Reviews0Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 2
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stuart D wrote a review Oct 2020
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom3 contributions10 helpful votes
Pyecombe Golf Course is the hidden gem of golfing experiences. I am not a member but play here regularly. The greens are always in good shape, the course is challenging but not ridiculously difficult. The staff are always helpful and best of all this course does not come with the snobbery that you can experience at other courses. I love it here!
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Zak such wrote a review Oct 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I am writing this review following a horrendous experience at pycombe golf club. I am new to the sport, as is my friend who come with me. We was looking to become members of this golf club, we decided to have a round here on Saturday the 5th October. Our applications forms hadn’t processed yet so we got told just to Tee off at 7:30 am. We arrived on time, the club was near empty at this time. As we completed the first hole, a member approached me very aggressively. Shouting and swearing at me calling me every name under the sun. He was with another younger male who I must say he didn’t join in on the abusive relentless foul language that his mate was. He claimed that we pushed in front of him. I couldn’t see any evidence that there was someone else waiting to Tee off before us but I accepted my mistake of course and apologised to the member which was shouting at me and tried to explain that I am new to the sport and wasn’t sure how it worked. The abusive member called me a liar after this and continued to shout aggressively and use foul and totally unacceptable language. Never have I ever been spoken to like this, especially on a golf course where a sport revolves around etiquette. If no action is taken against this member then avoid at all costs. An absolute disgrace. I have cancelled all signing on forms and will never return. This one individual has let the club down.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Safari43764735056, Manager at Pyecombe Golf Club
Responded 21 Nov 2019
Firstly, I'm sorry to see that you had a bad experience when visiting Pyecombe. We discussed the issues that you raised immediately following your visit to the club and I had hoped that matters were resolved. It's unfortunate that you've considered it necessary to post this review, which I feel duty bound to respond to. Due to high demand, Saturday mornings are reserved for members and member guests (only). You had approached the club as a prospective member and indicated that you had playing experience. As such it was agreed that you could play. It was explained that the club had a roll-up (ball in chute) policy early morning and if that if you went into the pro shop, further information could be given. The member that you refer to has been spoken to at some length. It is clear that your respective recollections of events differ. However, his reference to 'pushing in front of him' probably related to the fact that his golf ball was first in the chute (followed by several others) and that you had teed off without going into the pro shop and without regard for the roll up group that were patiently waiting to commence play. It's unfortunate that you have chosen not to return to the club. The members here pride themselves on their welcoming approach. Hopefully the fact that you played for free will go some way to compensate matters. I wish you all the very best in finding another club that can accommodate you. Best wishes, Geoff Wise Managing Secretary
Read more
DickShennery wrote a review Mar 2019
Horley, United Kingdom9 contributions4 helpful votes
Course is short but good, challenging fun and in great condition. A good track to play when the weather is damp. But... Spent nearly an hour trying to tee off whilst members pushed past and coordinated their mates to walk past us waiting on the tee. As a three ball we were not let through the slow group in front who were a hole behind. If you’re not a member or you’re not playing in a pre-arranged society, avoid.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Safari43764735056, Manager at Pyecombe Golf Club
Responded 21 Nov 2019
I'm sorry to see the content of your review. It's unclear what day of the week that you played on, so it's difficult to comment. However, the professional team try to carefully manage access to the first tee, balancing the needs of members and visitors. It's unfortunate that you waited for an hour to tee off. I can't understand why that was the case. It might be that you arrived to play just after a club match or competition, which meant that the first tee was congested. Thanks for your comments regarding the course. I agree! ;-) What I disagree with is any suggestion that we're to be avoided. If you want to play, I recommend that you contact the pro shop and they will be more than happy to advise on when's best to do so. Best wishes, Geoff Wise Managing Secretary
Read more
Leon R wrote a review Dec 2016
12 contributions
We were able to share a marvellous Christmas Lunch at Worthing Golf Club, finding the ambiance, food, service exceptional. It is not the first time our club has used Worthing Golf Club Restaurant, for ur various celebrations, with each return visit never disappointed. The prices we were charged were acceptable, and have no hesitation recommending a visit it, even though, not necessarily to play golf,
Read more
Date of experience: December 2016
Helpful
Share
SmileySussex22 wrote a review Jun 2016
Newick, United Kingdom181 contributions86 helpful votes
Just seconds off the A23 at Pyecombe village and the recently extended car park provides good space even on busy days. A warm welcome in the lounge set the positive tone of a small, member-owned club. The new Pro and staff provided for most demands including buggies to cope with the sharply undulating course, hence its ability to remain open when other surrounding courses are closed. There was a good selection of bar foods available and meals have improved greatly in recent times. Service was excellent in the light, bright lounge and dining room. The course has improved recently: a major redevelopment of the green on the index1 hole is a great success. Cutting of the semi rough is much better. Several greens still allow your ball to 'run away' too easily following good approach shots where the fringe is non-existant. Strange whiskey eyebrows have appeared across the back of many bunkers - apparently, I'm told, to make the profiles clearer!? - but they can be very punishing. However this is a wonderful course, scenically outstanding and very good value. You won't find a better Downland course in my opinion.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2016
Helpful
Share
Previous
12