Kasselshoop - Cheese Factory

Kasselshoop - Cheese Factory

Kasselshoop - Cheese Factory
4.5
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
About
Traditional, handcrafted Cheddar and Gouda Cheese Factory situated on the R305 to Stilbaai. Visit our Old School @ Kasselshoop Tasting Room and enjoy various Cheese Pairings with wines, beer, port, gin, chocolate, olives and more.
Duration: 1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
Address
Klein Soebattersvlakte, Stilbaai 6674 South Africa
Reach out directly

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles80 reviews
Excellent
50
Very good
17
Average
7
Poor
2
Terrible
4

Hannes L
Pretoria, South Africa61 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2024 • Couples
@ R60 a tasting for 11 different cheeses (all of them delish!) this is a MUST DO if you love cheese when travelling to (from) Still Bay! What a surprise!
Written 15 April 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Alta
113 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 • Couples
Nice cheese experience. Friendly waiters. Cheese tasting, well organised.
Nice menu to choose from. Value for money. Nice family outing.
Written 1 April 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Mariaan1969
Roodepoort, South Africa342 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2023 • Friends
So many people recommended that we go to this venue. We honestly thought it cannot live u to the hype.
But it so did.

So many choices of cheese tasting platters. Excellent pizzas and such great service.

Also a great play area for kids.

So great to learn more about this cheese farm.
Written 19 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

247LiveLife
South Africa1 055 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2023
We loved the way the cheese was served for the tasting. I wish we had of chosen more than just the cheese though, and had done a pairing with wine or gin etc. Lovely setting too. Some plain crackers served with the cheese would enhance the experience
Written 20 February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Rulize D
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 • Couples
What a great place. The cheese is so good. All 8 flavours. The food they serve is also very good. Loved the pizza with biltong a d figs. Grat atmosphere and eve greater views
Written 15 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

hennosch
Cape Town, South Africa3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2022 • Family
Amazing cheese tasting. The gin and cheese pairing is also nice.

Amazing nachos.

Child friendly and value for money. Recommended
Written 15 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

NeilP_CT
Cape Town, South Africa19 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 • Friends
Friendly service coupled with an awesome cheese tasting experience. Great value for money! Definitely recommend the Nettle Cheese.
Written 1 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Peter Gouws
Simon's Town, South Africa4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2021 • Couples
Wine, cheese and good company. What more could you ask for.

Good value and friendly service.

Will definitely visit when in the area again.
Written 21 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Klaudia
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020 • Couples
Very disappointed. Confirmed my booking via WhatsApp 3 times only to arrive the following day with no booking. Instead of owning up to the fact that there was a mishap with them not having booked our table for 6, they then blamed the other customers at “our” booked table for “overstaying their welcome”. Giving the impression we should wait for our table. In the 15 minutes of waiting for our table (not offered any drinks in the meantime) it eventually comes out that they actually didn't have a booking for us and that we would be offered a bottle of wine as an apology. I truly don’t appreciate being lied to, driving over an hour and a half to get there...a bottle of wine wasn’t going to fix anything at that time.
Written 22 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Klaudsss thank you for taking the time to write a review. According to our COVID19 register you are part of the same table of 6 guests (Lecia - LRduplessis) who visited the Tasting Room on 22.12.2020. I refer to our response to the Tripadvisor review of Lecia(LRduplessis), as you were part of the same booking. I do apologize for the fact that the booking you have made was never registered on our system (this being a human error). Corrective training was done immediately in this regard. Kasselshoop is a small business with 15 people trained on the job. The Old School tasting room showcase Kasselshoop's cheese, using employees from our area(training them in the tourism industry) and all of them Afrikaans speaking. On our premises (usually seating 40 -50 guests) we only seat 24 people per seating at 8 to 10 tables to adhere to covid19 rules. That being said, I am very concerned about your experience and saddened by the fact that our "pride and passion" for 20 years is "all about" the customer, being our biggest ally in our business. Our current policy : We have two seatings per day ie 11h00-13h00 and 13h30 - 15h00 In peak season it does however remain a challenge to adhere to precise time schedules In closing, our Kasselshoop team hope that you will keep on supporting small businesses, as we all really do need your support.
Written 28 December 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lecia
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020 • Couples
We went out of our way to support local small businesses during this time, especially with beaches being closed as well. We booked via WhatsApp and confirmed a few times before arrival. On arrival, our booking was not in the book and the hostess had to find our booking on her phone. They did not have a table for us and took us to a bar area with not enough space for 6 people and no social distancing. We were then told that another party is still at our table and are “overstaying their welcome”. We could clearly see that this table were ordering their food at the time. We were left at this bar area for 15 minutes without being offered a drink. The manager could not care less about the mess and was showing other customers that arrived after us, to open tables. Kasselshoop clearly don’t need or appreciate local support during these trying times. It was definitely not worth the 2 hour car ride and they will definitely not be seeing us again or get any recommendations from us.
Written 22 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LRduplessis thank you for taking the time to write this review. I do apologize for the fact that the booking you have made was never registered on our system (this being a human error). Corrective training was done immediately in this regard. Kasselshoop is a small business with 15 people trained on the job. The Old School tasting room showcase Kasselshoop's cheese, using employees from our area(training them in the tourism industry) and all of them Afrikaans speaking. On our premises (usually seating 40 -50 guests) we only seat 24 people per seating at 8 to 10 tables to adhere to covid19 rules. That being said, I am very concerned about your experience and saddened by the fact that our "pride and passion" for 20 years is "all about" the customer, being our biggest ally in our business. Our current policy : We have two seatings per day ie 11h00-13h00 and 13h30 - 15h00 In peak season it does however remain a challenge to adhere to precise time schedules In closing, our Kasselshoop team hope that you will keep on supporting small businesses, as we all really do need your support.
Written 27 December 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 80
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

KASSELSHOOP - CHEESE FACTORY: All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

All things to do in Stilbaai
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire