We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Retford & Gainsborough Garden Centre

Bar Road | Saundby, Gainsborough DN22 9EU, England
+44 1427 848784
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely cafe

Called into this garden centre especially to go into the café . We only had scones with cream and... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Anne D
,
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
WONDERFUL CAFE & SUPERB PLANTS & GIFTS

We've been here as a family and went back to take friends for lunch. The cafe is superb - with the... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Meli H
Read all 39 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Garden Centre, Gift Shop, Restaurant/Cafe, Disabled and baby changing facilities, large free car park, open 7 days a week
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good39%
  • Average23%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“quiche” (2 reviews)
“full english” (2 reviews)
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Bar Road | Saundby, Gainsborough DN22 9EU, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1427 848784
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"quiche"
in 2 reviews
"garden furniture"
in 2 reviews
"full english"
in 2 reviews
"roast dinner"
in 2 reviews
"will visit again"
in 2 reviews
"value for money"
in 2 reviews
"plants"
in 16 reviews
"gardening"
in 2 reviews
"gifts"
in 3 reviews
"cafe"
in 12 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Called into this garden centre especially to go into the café . We only had scones with cream and teas. The scones were really fresh. The surroundings were lovely and the staff were friendly and helpful. What more can you ask for ? We didn't...More

Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

We've been here as a family and went back to take friends for lunch. The cafe is superb - with the lemon tree setting. The food was excellent. Bought some plants too, which were not overpriced and excellent quality. The gift shop is great too,...More

Thank Meli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called in to the garden centre and went to have something to eat at the cafe. We had the full English breakfast. Not only was the food and drink lovely the cafe was such a lovely place to sit, we went on a late Thursday...More

Thank 1981clairey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetfordGainsboroGdnC, Owner at Retford & Gainsborough Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am so pleased to read you enjoyed your visit and food in our cafe and will pass on your comments to our team of "lovely ladies" who all work hard and try to make the customers...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2018

A fab garden centre with a range of different items for sale, from gifts to gardening equipment, ornaments and plants - everything you need for the garden and some surprising/original gifts too. The cafe is great with plenty of choice and fresh fish options! Would...More

Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetfordGainsboroGdnC, Owner at Retford & Gainsborough Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Thank you very much for you lovely and very informative review. It's great to hear when customers enjoy and like our centre. Hope to see you agsin soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

We went to this garden centre a couple of years ago now and although we use the cafe we found the actual plant side of it to be disappointing. The cafe food is nice and the staff quite friendly. Probably wont go back.More

1  Thank JL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetfordGainsboroGdnC, Owner at Retford & Gainsborough Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

So sorry to read you were disappointed with our plant area. Unfortunately mid January is not a time when gardeners buy plants, due to the season and weather and for that reason our stocks are generally low at this time of year. A return visit...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Tried a couple of months ago but was too early, opens at 9am. Delicious piping hot breakfast washed down with filter coffee and bottled orange juice. Warm room for all seasons.More

Thank cachacoingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetfordGainsboroGdnC, Owner at Retford & Gainsborough Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Thank you very much for your review. Our cooks prepare all breakfasts from fresh priduce to ensure they are hot and the best they can be. It is lovely to read you enjoyed both your meal and visit though. Just for future reference the cafe...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Visited on a very cold day, after Christmas. As you would expect, there were few plants. However the staff were very friendly. Went to the cafe and had baked potatoes. It was pleasant but not outstanding. A small Garden centre which can't really compete with...More

Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetfordGainsboroGdnC, Owner at Retford & Gainsborough Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Thank you for your recent review. This period just after Christmas is a quiter time for us and gives us chance to refresh our stock lines for the New Year; immediately after our busy period of Christmas lines, trees and gifts; to prepare and be...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

Called in here for a spot of warm food. We were too late though as it was a Saturday and hot food finishes at 2-30pm. Although they did do us a hot pudding. Apple pie and custard with a lovely cup of hot coffee. Helpful...More

Thank Budda_Vida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetfordGainsboroGdnC, Owner at Retford & Gainsborough Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you for your review. So sorry you missed our hot lunches, which as you say finish daily at 2.30pm. Just in case you weren't aware we do still do hot snacks, such as toasties, paninis and soup after 2.30 until we close at 4pm...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Having left North Lincolnshire about midday we decided to call for lunch at R&G's where we have had excellent service in the past. Arrived about 2 o clock and were really pleased to almost trip over a sign saying todays special offer was fish and...More

Thank Maurice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetfordGainsboroGdnC, Owner at Retford & Gainsborough Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

I am very sorry to read that you were unhappy with your last visit to us as we had sold out of our very popular Fish and Chips but left one advertisement board to one side but still visable. We receive our fish fresh from...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Exactly what you would expect from a Garden Centre Cafe. The roast dinner offers good value for money, the quiche of the day is also great. Staff are friendly and helpful. Place is always clean and tidy. Toilet facilities are also clean and well kept....More

Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetfordGainsboroGdnC, Owner at Retford & Gainsborough Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Our staff work hard to keep our Garden centre and cafe clean and well stocked and it's very rewarding when their efforts are noticed and appreciated. Your comments will be passed on to all staff members. Many...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Gainsborough Hotels
Hickman Hill Hotel
152 reviews
3.99 km away
Best Western Plus West Retford Hotel
680 reviews
10.79 km away
The Duke William Motel
45 reviews
11.56 km away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
569 reviews
12.69 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Adam's Bay
417 reviews
3.38 km away
Johnson's Fish & Chip shop
192 reviews
3.27 km away
Moonlight
217 reviews
3.49 km away
Elach
32 reviews
3.48 km away
Nearby Attractions
Idle Valley Nature Reserve
240 reviews
3.08 km away
Gainsborough Old Hall
372 reviews
3.34 km away
St Peters Church
8 reviews
5.73 km away
West Stockwith Lock
11 reviews
6.27 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Retford & Gainsborough Garden Centre staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;