We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coombe Yarra Valley

Closed: Closed
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
New Favourite!!!

I loved this place from the moment we parked the car and wandered around. Everything is on point... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
wanderlust_rambler
,
Sydney, Australia
via mobile
Great for Sunday lunch

Lovely spot. Sat and had a wine before lunch at the cellar door. Very knowledgeable and helpful... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
drtgfnz
,
Melbourne, Australia
via mobile
Read all 243 reviews
166
All photos (166)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good27%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“dame nellie”(47 reviews)
“garden tour”(46 reviews)
“scones”(35 reviews)
About
Closed
Hours Today: Closed
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
22°
10°
Dec
25°
12°
Jan
25°
13°
Feb
Contact
673 - 675 Maroondah Hwy, Coldstream, Victoria 3770, Australia
Website
+61 3 9739 0173
Call
Recommended experiences in and around Coldstream
from US$250,70
More Info
from US$109,20
More Info
from US$110,00
More Info
from US$159,80
More Info
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
134
63
24
12
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
134
63
24
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dame nellie garden tour scones afternoon tea peach melba high tea cellar door yarra valley small museum birthday lunch wine tasting private residence two courses famous opera gluten free beans clock tower
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 239 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I just wanted a main but I had to order 2 courses. This is ridiculous! Very noisy and impossible to have a conversation. The lamb shoulder was good. It is really poor choice to have a large gathering of 20 with speeches etc to invade...More

Thank Beiqn
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I loved this place from the moment we parked the car and wandered around. Everything is on point here from the garden to the restaurant to the cellar door. The wines are sooo amazing especially the Chardonnay which is just special. I really wished we...More

Thank wanderlust_rambler
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us at Coombe, Yarra Valley. Thank you for such positive feedback.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely spot. Sat and had a wine before lunch at the cellar door. Very knowledgeable and helpful staff. Lunch menu is well balanced with a range of options. Two courses for $60 or $70 for three courses. Table service haphazard but staff friendly. We all...More

Thank drtgfnz
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for such a warm review and we hope to have you dine with at again at Coombe, Yarra Valley.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We tried this place as a last minute decision. Of course they were booked out but the receptionist was so accommodating and tried effortesly to fit us in and she did. The atmosphere was just beautiful, service excellent and food was amazing. We were a...More

Thank Gianna1958
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

A beautiful venue to take an overseas visitor, to explore the history of the property and be served delicious food and wine. Though expensive the three course lunch was superb.

Thank simcat46
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

I've always wanted to visit the place where my most famous relative once lived, however was a little deflated once I arrived. I left without taking one photo. I missed the tour (GPS had time of arrival wrong ) so could only look at the...More

1  Thank wotchewwant
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thank you for your feedback regarding Coombe, Yarra Valley. It is a shame that you missed the garden tour, as the first portion of this gives vast insight into the paintings and medals in the gallery. The glass table in the gallery has emphasises on...More

Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Food: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Wine: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Service: ⭐️⭐️⭐️ (Food took too long to come out. Waited over 45mins for the mains). Atmosphere: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Value for money: ⭐️⭐️⭐️ Would I come back? 👍More

1  Thank iAiver
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback and apologise that not all aspects of your experience were 5 star. We hope to see you again soon, to experience a complete 5 star experience which is the standard we aim to uphold at Coombe,...More

Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

We called in for a wine tasting. Which turned into a food & wine tasting. We stayed for awhile, taking in the scenery. Surrounded by a beautiful setting of gardens & amazing old house. Which was originally Dame Nellie Melba house. Friendly staff,yummy wine &...More

Thank juliebyronbay
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you for such a wonderful review, we are so grateful you enjoyed our venue and we hope that you continue to visit Coombe, Yarra Valley.

Reviewed 17 September 2018

Coombe Yarra Valley was once the home of the very famous Australian opera singer, Dame Nellie Melba. It is a historical venue in Coldstream, Victoria which is about an hours drive out of the city of Melbourne. Now it is famous for its wines and...More

1  Thank Firefly47
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Thank you for such a uplifting review, we are so grateful that you have appreciated not only the food, service and wine but also enjoyed the historical relevance that upholds Dame Nellie Melba's legacy. We hope to have you join us again soon, perhaps for...More

Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

My family and I celebrated my mother’s 80th birthday at a venue she had always wanted to go (Melba’s historic cottage). Everything from signage to parking, getting our table, the contemporary Australian fare with matched local wines and the “traditional” but reinvented peach Melba were...More

Thank Jonathan H
CoombeYV, Public Relations Manager at Coombe Yarra Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Thank you Jonathon, we are glad that you have had such a great experience at Coombe and appreciate such a positive review.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Lilydale Motor Inn
35 reviews
4.18 km away
Yarra Valley Motel
167 reviews
4.69 km away
Chateau Yering Hotel
376 reviews
5.31 km away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
189 reviews
6.79 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 24 nearby restaurants
OAKS ON MELBA
20 reviews
2.04 km away
The Stables at Stones of the Yarra Valley
217 reviews
3.87 km away
Henry VIII Manor House
6 reviews
4.24 km away
Meletos
500 reviews
3.95 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 18 nearby attractions
Yarra Valley Winery Tours
122 reviews
4.72 km away
Helen & Joey Estate
48 reviews
4.99 km away
Skydive Yarra Valley
102 reviews
2.57 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Robert B
29 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from pierrekiwi | Reviewed this property |
Our tour was a little over an hour with morning tea afterwards.
1
Vote
lesleyking66
20 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Carmel S | Reviewed this property |
Hi Lesley We were at Coombe Estate yesterday and I re-mentioned your request. They received my email with your request. At first they thought it was someone just having some fun. When Petra noticed that the email was from... More
0
Votes
raelenephilpott
10 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from josanpu | Reviewed this property |
lunch only
0
Votes