We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chane Cheese Farm & Lodge

Features Animals
Closed Now: 08:00 - 16:00
Open today: 08:00 - 16:00
Review Highlights
A pleasant interlude.

Several Km down a dirt road is this Cheese Farm and restaurant. For R30 if you are a pensioner you... read more

Reviewed 1 September 2018
johnmO3446QC
,
Ramsgate, South Africa
via mobile
Good food and service

We stopped here for food on the way to St. Lucia. We were greeted with a large lodge with friendly... read more

Reviewed 16 August 2018
Squeaks86
,
Northern Ireland
Read all 53 reviews
77
All photos (77)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good40%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“pizza”(12 reviews)
“st lucia”(10 reviews)
“dirt road”(4 reviews)
About
We offer: Restaurant, Farm Shop, Kids Play Area, Cheese Tours, Mini Golf, Self catering accommodation, Wedding Venue, Team Building, Open 7 days a week. Cheese Tours - inquire inside farm shop of available times
Closed Now
Hours Today: 08:00 - 16:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
| On R618 towards St Lucia, Mtubatuba 3935, South Africa
+27 82 321 5000
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
13
20
6
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
13
20
6
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza st lucia dirt road friendly staff gift shop on site great fun goat milk tour setting deck animals chane game
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Several Km down a dirt road is this Cheese Farm and restaurant. For R30 if you are a pensioner you can watch a goat being milked and try your hand yourself before going to cheese room where your guide will describe the various processes and...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank johnmO3446QC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

We stopped here for food on the way to St. Lucia. We were greeted with a large lodge with friendly staff, a good shop and a cheese tour. We had a great rest stop here and everyone was friendly and accommodating.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Squeaks86
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

Very sweet, attentive staff who sorted out the teething problems of our first night. SO much to keep the children busy esp feeding the lovely farm animals close to the rooms. Room has all you need for a comfy stay. Braai facilities most enjoyable as...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank JudyJcbay
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

We spent a few hours at the cheese farm. Their cheese platter and cheese cake were delecious. The staff was friendly.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Andrew P
Reviewed 6 April 2018

A very disappointing visit which we chose to do at the end of our stay in St Lucia. On arrival, we looked around the little shop and found everything but cheese. Then my wife found a bottle of sauce she fancied and asked the cashier...More

Date of experience: April 2018
3  Thank Chad R
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

I've been many times to this lovely farm, and it's one of my favourite places to be in the St.Lucia area because it makes your heart feel calm, relaxed and happy. Today I was met in the gift shop by a wonderful girl called Karina...More

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank wjw2018
Nicky J, Owner at Chane Cheese Farm & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

thank you so much for visiting our farm and I will give my chef the message about her Lemon Merinque Pie :) Hope to see u soon Phillip & Nicky

Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Friendly staff, clean premises. You can however smell that you are on a farm which is expected. Make sure you are hungry before coming here. Huge burgers and sandwiches. Cheese is home made on the farm from goats milk. Worth the detour from the road....More

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Gwendolinel90
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Perhaps I expected more of the place... We were on holiday in St Lucia and decided to give the cheese farm a go. I can't complain about the quality of the food, but found it rather expensive for the portion size. But their actual downfall...More

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Suzann P
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

My wife and I took out 7 Grandsons on a North Zululand Tour and this Cheese Farm was a stop Over for lunch . I did not expect much at all wondering how many people we would find . We were so pleasantly surprised 😲...More

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank GarethR697
Nicky J, Owner at Chane Cheese Farm & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

I would like to thank you for this beautiful review and that u enjoyed our farm and food. Nicky & Phillip

Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

Food is gr8 but the cheese tour is terrible! Waste of time and money !!! The guide was uninformed, and couldn’t even answer some of the tourist basic questions!

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Krystle D
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
Meet Mekaar Resorts
3 reviews
7.29 km away
Protea Hotel Umfolozi River
129 reviews
10.78 km away
St Lucia Ecolodge and Conference Centre
246 reviews
16.94 km away
Elephant Lake Hotel
229 reviews
16.96 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 6 nearby restaurants
Feast Bistro
24 reviews
5.68 km away
Rivermill Restaurant
5 reviews
7.29 km away
Chane Cheese Farm & Lodge
26 reviews
6.94 km away
Veranda Cafe
14 reviews
5.45 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 5 nearby attractions
iSimangaliso Wetland Park
1 362 reviews
5.11 km away
iMfolozi Game Reserve
72 reviews
5.97 km away
Mtuba Mall
13 reviews
6.31 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Safari14245
4 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Nicky J | Property representative |
Good day we only serve beer & wine at the restaurant thank you
0
Votes