Tours and Tickets
Marine Big 5 Safari: Self-Drive
4.5

Marine Big 5 Safari: Self-Drive

By Dyer Island Cruises
Recommended by 94% of travellers
94% of reviewers gave this product a bubble rating of 4 or higher.
About
from
R 1 850,00
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 45 per group
Duration: 3h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: German, English
More


  • Bottled water
  • Coffee/tea and muffins on arrival
  • Warm soup and bread/ lasagne after the trip
  • Inflatable life-jackets and wet weather gear
  • Professional guide
  • Free visit to our African Penguin and Seabird Sanctuary (APSS)
  • Entry/Admission - Kleinbaai
  • Entry/Admission - African Penguin & Seabird Sanctuary
What's not included
  • Trip footage available for purchase after the trip
  • Transportation to/from attractions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off


Start:
  • Great White House Restaurant - Gansbaai, 5 Geelbek St, Van Dyks Bay, 7220, South Africa
    Travellers to meet us at the Great White House, Gansbaai, Geelbek Street, Van Dyks Bay, South Afica
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Wheelchair accessible
    • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
    • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 41160P3

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Most travellers can participate
    • Wheelchair accessible, we can accommodate 2 wheelchairs per trip. Please advise at time of booking if wheelchair assistance is required.
    • Excellent crew - one crew member to look after 6-7 guests.
    • Please note that the Conservation Fee is compulsory.
    • This tour is 2 to 2.5 hours, excluding your travel and briefing time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 45 travellers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    How much is Marine Big 5 Safari: Self-Drive?
    Marine Big 5 Safari: Self-Drive price starts from R 1 891,93. Discover and book Marine Big 5 Safari: Self-Drive on Tripadvisor
    What is the Marine Big 5 Safari: Self-Drive cancellation policy?
    Marine Big 5 Safari: Self-Drive cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Marine Big 5 Safari: Self-Drive on Tripadvisor
    Which company provides Marine Big 5 Safari: Self-Drive?
    Marine Big 5 Safari: Self-Drive is hosted by Dyer Island Cruises. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Dyer Island Cruises on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Marine Big 5 Safari: Self-Drive on Tripadvisor
    How much time do I need for Marine Big 5 Safari: Self-Drive?
    On average, this experience will take approximately 3h. Discover and book Marine Big 5 Safari: Self-Drive on Tripadvisor

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 41160P3

    Reserve your spot

    Similar experiences

    Itinerary
    • You'll start at
      Great White House Restaurant - Gansbaai
      5 Geelbek St, Van Dyks Bay, 7220, South Africa
      Travellers to meet us at the Great White House, Gansbaai, Geelbek Street, Van Dyks Bay, South Afica
      See address & details
    • 1
      Dyer Island Cruises
      Stop: 2 hours
      See details
    • 2
      Great White House Restaurant - Gansbaai
      Stop: 90 minutes - Admission included
      See details
    • 3
      African Penguin & Seabird Sanctuary
      Stop: 15 minutes - Admission included
      See details
    • You'll return to the starting point
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Dyer Island Cruises
      677
      Gansbaai, South Africa
      Joined in December 2011
    • EnriqueLR678
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Marine Big 5 tour
      - It was very well organized and even provided a weathercoat/raincoat which was very welcomed. - Fairly crowded on the boat. It wasn´t horrible but it was sometimes uncomfortable when suddenly a bunch of individuals crowded over to watch. That said, the crew did their best to distribute us. - We spent a third of the time chasing a bryde whale and once we managed to get a good view of it, we continue chasing it for a bit longer. On the one hand, not sure the whale would be very happy being chased non-stop. On the other hand, I reckon once we had the clear view we could´ve continued the trip trying to find new sea creatures. - The guide provided many interesting facts and the crew was nice and knowledgeable.
      Written 13 April 2024
    • Quayline
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Shark Cage Dive - a great experience!
      We had a really great day with Dyer Island doing their Shark Cage dive. It was well organised and we were fully briefed on the conservation work by a qualified and interesting Marine Biologist. We each spent about 30 minutes in the cage with several large Copper Sharks to provide continuous ‘entertainment’. After that we watched from the top deck for about an hour. Perfect photo opportunities. Very warm wetsuits and plenty of skilled crew to help. Delicious snacks too. A very worthy cause to support and what fun we had. We are pretty comfortable in the water but maybe worth saying we are well into our 70s so don’t think you can’t do this. It felt very safe. It felt 100% safe Delicious homemade soup and bread in their fabulous restaurant afterwards. Thank you. We think you are doing a fantastic job.
      Written 31 March 2024
    • Mirzelf
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Marine safari Hermanus
      It was a beautiful day, nice weather. The waves weren't that shaky ;-) Dolphins came past the boat, penguins were swimming nicely. The seals were enjoying themselves on their rocks. Although the whale season was already over, we were still very very lucky to spot some whales. Last but not least we saw how the sharks were fed, which are very impressive animals.
      Written 14 March 2024
    • Darek_Tar_IE
      0 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Good trip to see Sea Lions and some penguins and few coper sharks
      Experience was average. Well organised, but no dolphins or whales. It should be advertise more precisely. Like ... maybe you will be extremely lucky and you'll have a chance see a whale(s) or dolphins, but highly unlikely. Great white shark - no chance - twice every 10 year if you are working as staff.
      Written 7 January 2024
    • Meander50848783474
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Spectacular views
      The crew did great in teaching us about the marine big 5 and the views were magnificent. Didn’t get to see the whale but will have to some back when they are in season
      Written 17 December 2023
    • madjimbayen
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Awesome experience
      Awesome trip and saw so much wildlife. The trip from Capetown was seamless and the driver was friendly. Excellent experience and a MUST do for anyone wanting to see marine life around Cape Town!
      Written 27 November 2023
    • 609martinaw
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Amazing trip
      Really professional company, we felt safe all the way in very very choppy sea. Every effort was made to ensure everyone got to see the wildlife. The whales were amazing. The daily blog for each trip with pictures is great as it's very difficult to get clear photos when the boat is bouncing around so much. The work they do in supporting penguins is inspiring. Be warned take sea sickness tablets even if you don't generally feel ill at sea!
      Written 17 November 2023
    • deepbluesky1
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      A trip one should not miss
      The group tour was very well organised. I was picked up early in the morning and brought back to my accommodation. Before we're boarded the boat, we received enough information about what to expect as well as the conservation work that the Dyer Island Conservation is doing. Throughout the boat trip, a biologist enlightened us about the whales, sharks, penguins and seals. Due to bad weather, we couldn't stay long enough in the sea to see dolphins. But that's understandable. They provided a small breakfast, muffins and tea, and after the windy boat trip we got a much appreciated hot soup and tea. All in all I could recommend this tour. They really paid attention to details to our satisfaction.
      Written 9 November 2023
    • Sarah A
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Well worth doing
      This was an amazing experience. Though we had a really early start the day did not disappoint. We saw whales, bronze sharks, seals & penguins. We also had a trip to the penguin sanctuary which was informative. I would recommend this trip but just note not all animal sightings are guaranteed. The dolphins were not around this time of year but the other sightings made up for it.
      Written 4 November 2023
    • michellewT9060QX
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Amazing experience.
      This was an amazing tip and we had several large whales come right up to the ship and stay there for over 10 minutes! Definitely the tour to choose. The boat is smaller so it only holds around 25 people. This was great because it wasn't so crowded and you got an amazing view right at the rails of the boat. The captain was very respectful of the whales so it didn't seem as though they were bothered or harmed in any way. It was their choice to approach the boat. What a wonderful experience. Book this tour!
      Written 30 October 2023
    • G5020UNmartina
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Awesome time at sea
      Only discrepancies was TripAdvisor has start time at 9am. Pick up time from hotel in capetown was 6am. Start of activity/arrival was about 9am. Was thrown off w such an early start enticipating 9am pickup. But communication was good and was made aware of time day before. Pickup n drop off was smooth n easy. Arival you get coffee/tea n muffins, return from boat you get soup n homemade rolls(yummy). All staff were professional and knowledgeable. All staff on board the boat were engaging in conversation w visitors and answered any questions anyone had. Advice is get something that secures your phone /camera around your neck, boat can get rocky and was holding phone tight as to not have slip out of hands. This was an awesome trip and very enjoyable. Check out there reasonablely priced gift in shop.
      Written 29 October 2023
    • ivanfU1924JW
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Successful sea safari
      Smooth pickup and trip to the boat in a comfortable mini-bus. I saw everything advertised (whales, sharks, seals, and penguins) with the crew taking care to point everything out and how to position ourselves on the boat to see things best.
      Written 29 October 2023
    • Trail22193237440
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great
      Great Sightings, we saw southrend right whales breaching left and right side of the boat. The marine biologists and shark conservationists from Marine Dynamics really care about these majestic creatures and make sure all goes safe and well. Amazing experience.
      Written 28 October 2023
    • Brad B
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      An excellent way to spend a morning
      It’s an early start to the day but worth it for a really enjoyable experience on the water. It’s about a 90 min drive from Cape Town (they pick you up and drop you off of course). The crew on board is fantastic. Kelly, our marine biologist, was amazing - kind, patient, and knowledgeable, answering all of our questions. The rest of the crew works hard to spot animals and keep you as dry and comfortable as possible. Towels are handed out freely to protect you and your camera. We saw about 5 pairs of moms and their calves, one common shark, and tons of seals. Penguins were visible from a distance and up close from the rehabilitation center that is included as part of the tour. Coffee and muffins provided for breakfast, soup and bread for lunch after. You spend about two hours on the water.
      Written 21 October 2023
    • 459tyrones
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      One of the highlights of our trip to SA
      The one thing I would say that could be improved and the reason for giving a 4 instead of 5, is this itinerary has some gaps in it that could really make this quite unenjoyable if you’re not prepared for it. While I appreciated that I was able to be picked up and dropped off at my hotel in Camps Bay, I couldn’t help but feel like I didn’t fully realize what I had signed up for. They scheduled our pickup for 5am (the first of 5 pickup stops). While this was quite early, what made it more unbearable was that at the end of the day we were also the last drop off, near 3pm. What they failed to tell you was that there is no break for meals scheduled in this. The only opportunities to eat are the underwhelming pastries offered at the property where the tours begins 8:30am-9am, and some soup and bread which is offered after you return from the marine tour. If you don’t want anything they have to offer, you’re basically out of luck and hopefully you brought your own snacks. Pushing nearly 12hrs without a legitimate meal is hard for even the lightest of eaters, so be aware that you will need to fend for yourself most of the day. Other than that, the tour itself was quite lovely and the staff and volunteers were really such a pleasure and incredibly knowledgeable. We saw 3 of the big 5, and only 2 people got sea sick (children). Would recommend if you’re up for a long day and have snacks on deck.
      Written 16 October 2023
    See all 677 reviews
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    4.5
    4.5 of 5 bubbles50 reviews
    Excellent
    39
    Very good
    8
    Average
    3
    Poor
    0
    Terrible
    0

    P-J B
    5 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jun 2021
    We drove as family of 5 from Montagu to do the famous shark cage dive with Marine Dynamics. We stayed over in one of their accommodation option the evening before the dive. The accommodation was everything we expected, very clean and comfortable. We had a walk around Kleinbaai in the morning, and also enjoyed a great breakfast at the Great White House. This is also where the cage dive trip starts. For the dive, we were met by our marine biologist and guide - Aleyna for a debriefing, were issued with life jackets, and set off for the boat. We were very impressed with the boat, and felt very safe and comfortable for the duration of the trip. I did the dive with our 3 children, and my wife took loads of pictures and video. We saw 4 sharksm up very close whilst in the cage, and also a massive stingray. The wetsuits protected us agaist the cold, and we had an awesome time watching the sharks come right up to the cage. We got delicious hot chocolate when we got back on board, and enjoyed the cruize back, seeing dolphins, seals and loads of playfull seabirds. The staff went out the way to make us comfortable, and were very informative about all teh wildlife we encountered. This is most definately a trip that will be remembered by all of us, and something that should be on everyone's bucket list!
    Written 13 June 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you for your 5-star review! We are delighted that your family adventure turned into lasting memories. This is for our sister company, Marine Dynamics Shark Tours. Our Marine Big 5 tour however also visits the shark cage diving vessel to view sharks and stingrays. Hope to see you and your family back to join a whale watching experience too.
    Written 15 August 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    AEllingsen
    Geneva, Switzerland3 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Oct 2020
    WOW!!! A BIG THANK YOU for having me and my son, Gregory on board at the fabulous Dreamcatcher yesterday for the whale sighting tour. It was just amazing and we truly enjoyed every moment of it. We were so blessed with the beautiful weather and with sightings of the Southern whales and their babies, loads of cute Cape fur seals playing in the water and not to forget the African penguins.
    I would like to thank your awesome, professional and friendly team that was there to see if we were all doing ok, both before, during and after the tour.
    We couldn't have asked for a better experience & would, without any hesitation, highly recommend Dyer Island Cruise & Marine Dynamics' whale tours to our friends and future guests.

    Aase Ellingsen
    Written 5 October 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Jacqui C
    Johannesburg, South Africa15 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jun 2021
    Fantastic experience with Dyer Island Cruises as we spotted all of the marine big 5 on our trip. Very fortunate to experience the first sighting of the Southern Right Whales of the season - got up close to a mother and calf as well as two other males. The entire experience was very professional from the welcome, safety briefing, equipment, boat and staff - made a huge difference having a marine biologist on board who gave us information on all the sightings that we saw. Would highly recommend this trip!
    Written 21 June 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate the feedback.
    Written 15 August 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Emarie B
    Paarl, South Africa726 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Marine Dynamics run a superb and professional operation. We were a group of 9 and enjoyed sitting on the roof section of the Dream Catcher. Times are tough, but they took all required safety precautions and had a number of knowledgeable team members and a marine biologist on board.
    Written 17 December 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    jayno666
    Bristol, UK25 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Nov 2023 • Family
    A fantastic boat trip. We were fortunate to see four of the big five, and thought the service and attentiveness of all the crew members was outstanding. We appreciated the commentary from the marine biologist who was a mine of interesting information.
    A particular highlight was the 20 minutes we spent with a mother and calf Southern Right whale, who put on a great performance, getting up close to the boat on a number of occasions. The seal colony off Dyer Island didn't disappoint either!

    We felt very safe as it's clear that the company takes safety very seriously, and ensured we were fully briefed before the trip, as well as provided with life jackets and optional water proof jackets. There was also storage on the boat for our personal belongings, to ensure they didn't get wet or slip overboard.

    The coffee and muffin before the trip, as well as the soup and freshly backed breadroll at the end of the trip, were both very nice touches, which helped stave off the hunger after an early start. All in all a very worthwhile experience which we'd highly recommend.
    Written 28 November 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Sept 2021 • Family
    What an experience! Me and my grandson of 3 years went on the sea safari.
    Let me start from the beginning: The making of the booking, quick, excellent, communication.
    The arrival, welcoming and lecture about the sea life above all other companies. Jeanine was our teamleader. Well informed.
    Safet: safety jacket is a must, well cared for, in a excellent condition.

    The trip wonderful, entertaining. We saw 4 of the big five. The Skipper of the boat made every effort to have a super experience. The supervisors on the boat were professional and accommodative towards my grand child and visitors.
    We felt safe at all times. The saying good bye with something to eat was great: freshly baked bread with vegetable soup.
    This safari trip was one of the best sea trips that we have done!
    Written 11 February 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you so much for your review! It is so nice to hear that your experience in terms of booking was excellent and done in a timely manner. Thank you for complimenting our staff and mentioning Janine. We appreciate your reference to our equipment and safety jackets as well. It’s so great to hear that you were able to see 4 of the Marine Big 5. Our skipper does his best to ensure the boat ride out is as smooth and safe and that the people on the boat get as close to the wildlife sightings as possible. We love to hear that it was one of the best sea trips you have ever done! Thank you for your support and it was a pleasure to have you on board.
    Written 6 June 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Henry G
    Norwich, UK22 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Aug 2023 • Couples
    We drove from Camps Bay to Gansbaii quite early in the morning as it was a 9am launch that day.

    When we arrived, we were greeted by a small breakfast buffet. The boat and her crew felt very safe. The female Australian marine biologist on board was excellent, she was incredibly well informed on the flora and fauna of the local area and very friendly too.

    We were fortunate enough to see three southern right wales (two females, one with a calf), hundreds of Cape fur seals, and some African penguins on Dyer Island.

    Sadly we did not see any dolphins or great white sharks, the staff mentioned that this is partially to do with two orca that have been killing sharks in the area.

    On our return, we were pleasantly surprised by hot soup and fresh rolls with butter.

    One thing I would mention is that if you drive yourself from Cape Town, although the roads are very well maintained and it’s an easy drive; it is over 2 hours there and then 2 hours back.
    Written 29 August 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you for sharing your detailed experience with us. We're pleased to hear that you appreciated the efforts of our team and enjoyed the various marine encounters during your trip. It's wonderful to hear your positive feedback about our breakfast buffet, the safety measures onboard, and the knowledge and friendliness of our marine biologist. Observing three southern right whales, Cape fur seals, and African penguins on Dyer Island sounds like an incredible experience, showcasing the rich marine biodiversity of the area. We understand that the absence of dolphins and great white sharks might have been disappointing. The presence of orcas in the area has indeed affected shark sightings, and while we cannot control nature, we appreciate your understanding of these challenges. Thank you for mentioning the travel time from Cape Town. We understand it's a considerable journey, but we're glad to hear that you found the roads well-maintained and the drive manageable. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back for another marine adventure in the future.
    Written 3 October 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    gustavoredisvezia
    City of San Marino, San Marino1 contribution
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Sept 2023 • Solo
    + Good chances to see whales; seals and penguins are almost guaranteed.
    +/- Nice boat with good facilities, but overcrowded
    - After arriving on time at the meeting point (a restaurant) nobody welcomed me nor checked my ticket or registered my name.
    After a briefing I grabbed a life jacket, than i boarded the boat: anyone could have done it, even without a ticket. In case of an accident they should know who got on the boat.
    Written 26 September 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Good day, thank you for taking time to write a review for your Marine Big 5 Tour. Please would you be so kind to confirm your name and surname? We are deeply concerned by your feedback. Upon arrival, our standard procedure is for guests to report at reception and complete the sign in at the Whale Room. This initial step is essential for your safety, as it allows us to provide you with a detailed safety briefing and introduce you to our marine biologist. They will provide valuable information about the sea conditions and what you can expect during your Marine Big 5 Tour. It is indeed worrying that you did not notice these important briefings. Or that anyone else, going on a tour, was gathered in the Whale Room? We do have a dedicated team of reservationists who welcome guests at the Great White House. However, it is important for our guests to communicate their specific tour intentions to one of our competent team members, to direct you to the correct area, and to make sure you are not only visiting the restaurant. Did you receive the tea, coffee, muffins- before your tour, and homemade soup and freshly baked bread afterwards? Regarding the issue of safety jackets, we want to clarify that we have stringent safety regulations in place. It is our policy that our trained staff assists all guests with the proper fitting and placement of safety jackets. Clients will always be assisted with these. To assist us in conducting a full investigation and to address your concerns adequately, we kindly request that you share your contact details with us. You can reach me directly at pa@marinedynamicstravel.com. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, and we look forward to hearing from you soon. pa@marinedynamicstravel.com Warm regards, Kind regards Christine Wessels Public Relations / Personal Assistant: Wilfred Chivell - CEO Marine Dynamics, Dyer Island Cruises, Marine Dynamics Academy & Founder - Dyer Island Conservation Trust, African Penguin and Seabird Sanctuary
    Written 2 October 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Aleksandra
    9 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Apr 2023
    We got extremely lucky on our tour and a managed to see all of the marine big 5 which we really did not expect! Plus amazing sightings of birds. Seeing a whale super close to our boat was amazing but the seal island felt also like straight from a national geographic shot and unlike the whales it is pretty much guaranteed on every boat trip. The price is a bit high but the tour did take over 2.5h, everyone was super nice and knowledgeable and we even got a little food before and after. We also really appreciated the focus on conservation work in the area. Logistics-wise, we were supplied with raincoats but definitely bring a hat and put on a lot of sunscreen. Overall would definitely recommend!!
    Written 6 April 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you for sharing your incredible experience on our tour! We're thrilled to hear that you had the opportunity to see all of the Marine Big 5 and were pleasantly surprised by the amazing sightings of birds. It's moments like these that make the ocean truly awe-inspiring. We're delighted that you were able to witness a whale up close, and that seal island provided a picturesque scene reminiscent of a National Geographic shot. We understand that the price of the tour may seem high, but we strive to deliver an exceptional experience that goes beyond expectations. We're glad to hear that our team was friendly, knowledgeable and ensured your comfort throughout the journey. Conservation is a cause close to our hearts, and we appreciate your recognition of our focus on conservation work in the area. By joining our tour, you contribute directly to the preservation of the marine environment, and we thank you for your support. Regarding logistics, we're pleased to hear that we provided raincoats for your comfort. Your suggestion to bring a hat and apply sunscreen is important advice to protect against the sun's rays, and we appreciate you sharing it with future travelers. Once again, thank you for choosing us!
    Written 8 June 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    RhSh
    Leeds31 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Aug 2022
    I must start by saying that the company and the guides are excellent and do their utmost best to provide a great experience. On our trip, we ended up at sea for around 3 hours as spotting a whale proved to be hard on the day. Fair enough - this is what wildlife trips are all around.

    But my low score is not about that but more about our own personal experience. Knowing ourselves well and our lack of "sea legs", we asked before boarding as to the sea conditions. A bit of swell was the answer we got, which is probably the right answer compared to regular conditions.

    I don't doubt for a second that the trip was an easy one in relative terms and to make it clear - at no point did we feel unsafe. But for those who are prone to sea sickness (like me!), this is not an easy trip. I think around half the boat asked for sick bags and a lot of us used them quite a lot.

    I've been on other cruises before (including whale watching) and I can say with certainty that unfortunately, this was the worst I've ever felt on a boat.

    I think it's worth highlighting to customers what conditions can be like and make sure people are aware of the fact they might spend a long time at sea that isn't as calm as it looks from ashore.
    Written 23 August 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We always appreciate feedback to improve our services. Thank you for complimenting the company and the biologists and guides who assisted you throughout your trip. Our priority is your safety and comfort on board. Thank you for mentioning that your safety was never a concern, but it is unfortunate to hear that your personal experience was not suitable due to sickness. If people are prone to sea sickness, we suggest that sea sickness pills be taken a couple of hours before your trip. We do realize that seasickness cannot always be avoided, and that is why our crew will assist on board with seasick bags, mints and water. We cover the weather and sea conditions a day before we go out, to confirm if the tours are going out. Our boat will go out if the weather and sea permit it to ensure people receive the experience they signed up for!
    Written 27 August 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Showing results 1-10 of 45

    Marine Big 5 Safari: Self-Drive provided by Dyer Island Cruises

    FlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire