Tours and Tickets

Civil War Walking Tour of Savannah provided by Savannah Walks

Civil War Walking Tour of Savannah

Select Date and Travellers
2 adults
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Low Price Guarantee
Civil War buffs can research Savannah’s significance, but knowing the history behind each place is easier if you have a guide showing you the way. This Civil War tour in Savannah takes you to some of the most important places from the conflict, including generals’ houses and other buildings from the 1860s. Plus, you’ll learn about military strategies and little-known facts as you walk through Savannah's Historic District.
  • Hear little-known Civil War facts during this walking tour of Savannah
  • A guide leads you through the historic district to see Civil War landmarks
  • Learn about the military strategies of the North and the South
  • This short tour is offered at two times to easily fit it into your schedule
What to Expect
This Civil War tour meets in Savannah’s Historic District at Warren Square. Get acquainted with your guide and group, and then take off by foot around the city. As you walk through the historic district, your guide tells you little-known facts about Savannah’s Civil War history. Pass by homes that belonged to generals and other buildings from the 1860s. Hear stories about the war, and learn about military strategies of both the North and the South. You’ll also get to hear about how civilians at the time of the war dealt with such difficult conditions. This Civil War walking tour in Savannah ends at the Green-Meldrium house, which is the home where Sherman was invited to stay and penned his famous Savannah missive to President Lincoln.
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
323 E Congress St, Savannah, GA 31401, USA
1h 30m
Return Details
14 W Macon St, Savannah, GA 31401, USA
  • Professional guide
  • History of Savannah's role in the Civil War
  • Small Group experience
  • Gratuities
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund.
  • Comfortable shoes are recommended
  • Pets welcome
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Traveller rating
  • 22
  • 4
  • 2
  • 5
  • 4
Traveller type
Time of year
Popular mentions
Anet6083 wrote a review 09 Mar
2 contributions
We booked this a few days before we visited Savannah. Our tour guide, James was unexpectedly casual and knowledgeable. We had a fantastic time and enjoyed his obvious familiarity with the historic sites, recommendations and banter as we walked.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
SLH wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions
Our guide was filling in for the original quide who had the flu. He was on time and organized. He was personable with witty remarks and a sence of humor. Our walking tour was very informative about the Squares and area. He was able to answer my questions about anything I asked.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
g8rme wrote a review Feb 2020
San Diego, California9 contributions2 helpful votes
I scheduled this tour a week in advance and and at 1am the night before I was sent a cancelation text for the 10am tour the next day. I called to get a refund and ended up in an infinite circle of redirects to different numbers to call to get an update and the only person who
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Response from Brad S, General Manager at Civil War Walking Tour of Savannah
Responded 15 Feb 2020
Thank you for the “review”. It doesn’t sound like you ever contacted the ticket seller for a refund. If you did, refunds can take 2-3 weeks depending on the bank. We be glad to contact your ticket seller on your behalf and ensure that your $20.00 is returned to you as soon as possible.
Read more
BlueMoc wrote a review Jan 2020
Parrish, Florida119 contributions59 helpful votes
I gave it two stars only because the guide was knowledgeable and it would have been good if a Savannah walking tour is what I paid for. Unfortunately, I made a reservation for the Civil War walking tour and that's not what I got. A couple hours before the tour I received a
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Response from Brad S, General Manager at Civil War Walking Tour of Savannah
Responded 04 Jan 2020
We were asked by the city to move the meeting location due to the large groups and Warren Square being a residential square. They were trying to keep the square quiet for the residents. The tour you received was a wonderful blending of the history and Civil War of Savannah. Every single aspect of the was as it applies to Savannah was included on the tour. That is a certainty. I was the guide!
Read more
Shopandtravelmomma wrote a review Dec 2019
Johnstown, Ohio124 contributions47 helpful votes
My husband and I did this tour last minute, and we are so glad that we did. We ended up being only 2 of the 4 guests in the group, so we felt it was awesome to be able to do this tour with only a few people. Our guide was very knowledgeable and provided so much information.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Response from Brad S, General Manager at Civil War Walking Tour of Savannah
Responded 13 Dec 2019
Hello! Thank you for the review. You were very fortunate to take the tour during the slow part of the month. It gets busy in December once the kids get out of school for Christmas! The reviews about guides not showing up are a bit misleading. We used to have guests try to find the meeting location using GPS. Unfortunately GPS is pretty inaccurate in a city that’s 285 years old. The squares don’t even have addresses. However, we have found a way to ensure all guests find the meeting location.
Read more
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Savannah Walks
Best tour in Savannah
Brad was our tour guide and he was very informative and did an amazing job explaining the history of Savannah and t
Read more
Brad was an excellent guide making the time we spent touring the historic district very personable and informative.
Read more
Excellent introduction to Savannah
Enjoyable informative stroll through Savannah Beautiful city with a great history Recommend this tour
Read more
Great tour - worth the time!
We did a 1.5 hour walking tour with James our first morning in Savannah. He was very knowledgable and funny! He m
Read more
Walking tour
The 10 am history tour was awesome. The tour guide was entertaining and seemed very knowledgeable. Highly recommen
Read more
John K
Savannah History Walk
My wife and I enjoyed a very informative tour of Savanna with a pleasant host that talked in detail of various spo
Read more
Great, informative tour!
We did the 1.5 hour walking tour with James. We learned so much and had a great time. James was extremely knowledga
Read more
Fabulous Tour
Paul gave a fantastic tour of the Historic district of Savannah. He is knowledgeable about the city and clearly lo
Read more
Excellent Tour
My Wife and I had a personal tour led by Savannah Walks owner and lead tour guide Brad Spinks. Originally we had pl
Read more
Savannah History Walk
This was very inform able and the host was pleasant to be with.I recommend this tour when in the Savannah Historica
Read more
Great historic overview !
We really enjoyed this walking tour filled with a lot of history! We were provided with a lot of historical perspec
Read more
Savannah on foot is great
The tour, despite the weather, was great. Our guide, James, was funny and knowledgable. Ask for him!
Read more
Recommend This Walking Tour
I would recommend this tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly and it was just the right amount of time
Read more
Jenny I
Fun and informative
Our tour guide Brad was very knowledgable and had the right mix of history and fun in the tour we took. He also to
Read more
Roll w it
Brad, the owner, took us after his other guide came down w flu. Very informative, kept it moving and interesting. W
Read more
Key Details
  • Warren Square
  • Duration: 1h 30m
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071