We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dinoflagellate Bioluminescence Kayaking

Select Date and Travellers
From
US$50,00
Date
2 travellers
Options
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Itinerary
    This is a typical itinerary for this product

    Stop At: Florida Adventurer Inc, Haulover Canal, Titusville, FL 32952-2570

    This is the point where we will get everyone checked in and make sure a release forms have been turned in.

    Duration: 15 minutes
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    A Day Away Kayak Launch Spot, Mims, FL 32754, USA
    Duration
    1h 30m
    Return Details
    Returns to original departure point
    Inclusions
    • Our bioluminescent kayak tours last for approximately 90 mins. You will get wet to some extent, so plan to bring some towels and wear appropriate footwear.
    • INCLUDED: KAYAK, PFD, PADDLES AND HAPPY GUIDES
    • MAX WEIGHT: 300LBS FOR A SINGLE, AND 600LBS FOR A TANDEM
    • Entry/Admission - Florida Adventurer Inc
    Exclusions
    • Beverages, bug spray, towels, snacks etc
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Wheelchair accessible
    • Our bioluminescent kayak tours last for approximately 90 mins. You will get wet to some extent, so plan to bring some towels and wear appropriate footwear.
    • Peak season is July – October with sightings as late as January
    • LAUNCH SITE: Haulover Canal, Titusville; and Kiwanis Island Park, Merritt Island
    • TRIP LENGTH: 90 MINS
    • COST PER PERSON: $65
    • INCLUDED: KAYAK, PFD, PADDLES AND HAPPY GUIDES
    • MAX WEIGHT: 300LBS FOR A SINGLE, AND 600LBS FOR A TANDEM
    • AGE RANGE: 5+
    • SUGGESTIONS TO BRING: AQUATIC FOOTWEAR, BUG SPRAY, TOWEL, SUNSCREEN, CASH FOR TIPS (optional), AND A WATER BOTTLE
    • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
    • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
    • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    25Reviews1Q&A
    Traveller rating
    • 18
    • 1
    • 1
    • 1
    • 4
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • Filter
    • English
    Popular mentions
    Best tour! Great guide, great experience! I would definitely go again! Thank you Florida Adventurer!
    Read more
    I submitted a critical review of this company, which I've included below but am editing it to 1 star because, as I feared the owner did leave a pompous, self-important reply that belittled my very honest review. Real business owners would NEVER tell a customer that they fired
    Read more
    Response from FLAdventurerInc, Owner at Dinoflagellate Bioluminescence Kayaking
    Responded 3 weeks ago
    Our pompous reply? That reply said that your review was helpful, because the guide has been terminated , for a 3rd negative review. I acknowledged that without your review he would still be on tour, leaving a terrible taste with guests. I acknowledged the fact that the website was indeed ambiguous and would be fixed regarding the tandems, a point your review brought to our attention. Lol you took down your original review, to take away 3 stars and leave 1, just so you could say I was mistaken about who you were (Leanna), which to be fair, I was not 100% sure since you hadn't called to speak with management to voice your concerns. You came straight to TA to leave a review, which is completely OK. Now, again I will explain myself. In no way is an explanation of events, pompous. You left a helpful review, we have a right to respond. So I'll explain again. You called about YOUR lost emails while I was driving, after hours. As it is illegal to text and drive, so I let you know the exact date and time in which they were sent, to avoid pulling over to type in a whole new email. I asked you if you could do me a favor and check those dates as one date of receipt was the day you called. Normally they've just been overlooked. You called back after checking , as asked (thank you) and said you couldn't find them, so I pulled off and sent a new email to your husband, who received the email immediately. No biggie. Problem solved. If you felt silly (you said stupid and I wouldn't agree with that) that is completely your choice to feel that way, but in now way did I insinuate anything of the sort. (Apparently you felt this explanation was pompous?) You mentioned the instructions for paddling, ok, well a little context would help, no? So I left context since " then he told people if they got stuck in the tree it's their fault for not listening", (which it is) but we would never say that to anyone, not in a dead pan context like that. It is actually a scripted tour, lol, so it is easy for me to give context.. It goes like this.. "OK everybody, next is reverse paddling, what I'll ask everyone to do is to put thier paddle in by thier right foot, (guide grabs paddle and puts blade in sand by where his right foot would be), now pull the paddle from Toe alllll the way back to your hip, now otherside, tow to hip, toe to hip, toe to hip, (guid demonstrates reverse paddling as other follow along), "now guys this is important because we have trees and shrubbery that line the lagoon, so if I hear you (guide waves his paddle over head side to side, while portraying a customer yelling), screaming, 'oh my gosh, I'm heading for the trees what do I doooooo, aaaaahhhhh,' "and I yell out 'full reverse, full reverse', and you start paddling faster towards the trees?".. "Well it's hard for me to feel sorry for you at this point".... That is verbatim. It's is delivered with levity as I'm waving my arms and paddle over head acting a fool. It is the same script we've used for years. If you felt you were belittled by that, I'm not sure how to respond, so all I will say is, you are completely entitled to feel that way and should have called and asked for a refund if you were offended as you stated. At this point I would leave the review alone, except this is the same exact reply I left on your last review. Apparently the truth is pompous. Regarding you not "feeling entirely secure that we could handle an emergency, should one happen"... Smh.. Well one didn't, and for the record, we are CPR and 1st responder certified, ACA certified kayak guides! Federal permit guidlines say we only need 1 guide per 18 people. There were 30 people on tour that night in your group, we had 3 guides. We provide more guides on tour than technically necessary. As you stated , we had 3 guides. So we were over prepared, with your safety in mind. 30 guests is our maximum occupancy allowed. We were full, as was every other company that is permitted on the refuge. We all bring 3 guides for 30 people. You would have had the same experience with any other tour company in this regard, especially on the New moon night you booked on. We will not apologize for that. As mentioned in the beginning of our response. This customer previously left a review and we addressed it. We have since terminated the employee in question who was trash talking guests to you. We have made the changes to the website that your review brought to our attention. We are not perfect. No one can be. No one can predict who shows up with experience and who doesn't. No one can predict what will make a guide step out of thier character to share personal thoughts with a guest. All we can do is react. I feel we've been very receptive to your review, with the exception of adding in a little context to give the readers a fuller picture of the evening in which you speak. Regarding the tips... Again it's all scripted and it goes like this, and it is only said 1x during tour and that is right before landing back on shore, AFTER THE TOUR... "ok guys, how did everyone like the tour?". (group applauds) "excellent, well guys give yourselves a round of applause, at this point you are ALL Florida Adventurers," (everyone claps), " Now guys, you will all receive a follow up email in the next 24 hours, I hope to see everyone leave a great review, even if it's to say your guide could've been taller, or funnier, we'd love to hear from you!", "Conversely your guides do work out here for tips, so if you'd like to leave one on the way out, well that would be icing on the cake for us!", "Ok guys, now I'm going to paddle to shore, so KC or Tyler will send you all in, 1 kayak at a time, so you don't take out my last good shin"... I'm sure this all sounds very familiar... Like we said the 1st time you posted this review, we are very grateful for this review, again. It is not taboo to say your review has led to an employees termination, it was that person's last straw. Without your review, he would have had more opportunity to upset, rub people the wrong way. That is not what a guest should encounter/expect while joining us for a fun and relaxing evening on the water.. Had you called and spoke to anyone at this buisness, you would have been refunded immediately. You opted to go straight to the reviews and speak your mind, we are grateful for your input. Sincerely Josh, your guide & owner on site that evening.
    Read more
    Trip Advisor asked me to repost my review because it was unjustly removed...Here it is... Also, I will add that I’m disgusted by the lies the owner of this company has spread regarding our tour, who is posting and the circumstances. "Well, here is your next review (per the
    Read more
    Response from FLAdventurerInc, Owner at Dinoflagellate Bioluminescence Kayaking
    Responded 3 weeks ago
    We know this review is to support your friends who left the 4 other negative reviews from the same night, the 4 below (titled Huge Mistake and "the review is correct... huge mistake") and the two above (titled "Do you want to live" and "Caosizing is not fun"), and didnt agree with the response the original garnished. While we are not ok with people trying to smear us, we are not here to dispute that you feel you didn't have a good time, we are here to dispute the context in which you made your case. Again, not one time did you call to complain, ask for a refund, nothing. Had you reached out, we would have issued you or your party a refund. Obviously as stated, the owner was on site.But we would have issued you a refund to at least have left that good taste in your mouth. You opted to join your friends in a smear campaign and that is fine. Our guests are well informed and can see this sequence of reviews for what they are. Localized to a disgruntled party of 5 in a 30 person group. Now this reply is left as of 10-1-2019. Your party was out on the 21st...so what a shocker it will be when more of your friends leave more reviews after we highlight how big the groups was as opposed the people in your party. We'll have those removed too as harassment, same as the others. Thank you for joining us, see you soon!
    Read more
    My friends and I had a great time with Josh and Tyler last night. We were supposed to go on a different day, but Josh texted us letting us know that the conditions for the night we picked would not be ideal, and reschedules/refunded as necessary and made it very simple. As a
    Read more
    I just read the previous reviews and must comment. We were the couple that capsized on your last evening on the tour mentioned above. I can assure you we were NOT laughing uncontrollably. If you or your other guide had been anywhere near us you might have known that.
    Read more
    Response from FLAdventurerInc, Guest Relations Manager at Dinoflagellate Bioluminescence Kayaking
    Responded 1 week ago
    Hello and thank you for leaving this review. So I specifically rember what I said, because it is a written script, that we all memorize, so every person can have the same experience. I rember going over reverse paddling to a tune that went like this... "OK guys, next is reverse paddling, so right now I need everyone to put thier paddle in at thier hip, and sweep the paddle allll the way out to your toes, hip to toe, hip to toe,.. Now, this is important guys, because we have trees and shrubbery that line the lagoon, so if I hear you heading for the trees screaming,... " OH MY GOSH, I'M HEADING FOR THE TREEEEES WHAT DO I DOOOOO, AHHHHHHHHH" (waves paddle in the air while mimicking a customer screaming), "... Annnd you continue to paddle faster forward into the trees?",.. "Well it's hard for me to feel sorry for you at this point", "so it's important that we all understand reverse, so again, that's hip to toe, hip to toe", "now does everyone understand reverse, does anyone have any questions about reverse paddling?" .. Does any of that sound familiar? As you mentioned previously "I had treated the group like school children and started to demand that you respond verbally because I could not see in the dark" . Which actually went like this "OK guy's, I'm like the person in McDonald's, I will not see you shake your head at the drive thru out here, so I'll need you to respond verbally, so I know you understand and do not have any questions about this instruction or what we're talking about in the water, ok guys ".. (Again, this is all a script that the guides will memorize.) Now if you were offended by our safety instruction and didn't answer verbally that you didn't understand, well there's not too much I can do in the way of repremanding a guide, which happened to be the owner (me) this night. This probably explains how you found yourself in the bushes. As you speak English, and found yourself in the bushes, it is our guides duty to make sure that guests whose native language is not English, can communicate with thier guides. We don't want anyone in the bushes. As for our company not being concerned with safety, we just had another kayak instructor out as a guest who teaches CHILDREN how to kayak, and they left an amazing review that actually highlighted our orientation instruction. So while we can not please everyone, we do try and be fair. Had you called the following day to tell us of your experience we would have gladly refunded you. However, we know this review is to support your friends who left the 4 other negative reviews from the same night, two below (titled Huge Mistake and "the review is correct... huge mistake") and the two above (titled "Do you want to live" and "Let's try this again"), and didn't agree with the response the original garnished. While we are not ok with people trying to smear us, we are not here to dispute that you feel you didn't have a good time, we are here to dispute the context in which you made your case. Again, not one time did you call to complain, ask for a refund, nothing. Had you reached out, we would have issued you or your party a refund. Obviously as stated, the owner was on site, so with the exception of you paddling your kayak into a tree that lined the side of the lagoon, after being instructed on how to avoid that exact situation, we would never agree with your depiction of the events. But we would have issued you a refund to at least have left that good taste in your mouth. You opted to join your friends in a smear campaign and that is fine. Our guests are well informed and can see this sequence of reviews for what they are. Localized to a disgruntled party of 5 in a 30 person group. Now this reply is left as of 10-1-2019. Your party was out on the 21st...so what a shocker it will be when more of your friends leave more reviews after we highlight how big the groups was as opposed the people in your party. We'll have those removed too as harassment, same as the others. Thank you for joining us!
    Read more
    Previous
    Key Details
    • Duration: 1h 30m
    • Mobile Ticket Accepted
    • Instant confirmation
    • Languages Offered: English
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall: +1 855 275 5071
    Special Offer
    Manatee, Dolphin and Mangrove Tunnels...
    9 Reviews
    from US$42,50*
    US$50,00
    Paddle Board or Kayak Eco Dolphin...
    67 Reviews
    from US$75,00*
    Special Offer
    Manatee, Dolphin and Mangrove Tunnels...
    9 Reviews
    from US$42,50*
    US$50,00
    Group Lesson
    3 Reviews
    from US$50,00*
    Private Lesson (2 hour)
    8 Reviews
    from US$100,00*
    Group Lesson (2 hours)
    3 Reviews
    from US$80,00*
    Semi Private Lesson
    1 Review
    from US$60,00*