Tours and Tickets

Shark Cage Diving and Viewing from Hermanus provided by Marine Dynamics

Shark Cage Diving and Viewing from Hermanus

Shark Cage Diving and Viewing from Hermanus
4
Book in advance
from
R 3 050,00
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Duration:
6h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Hotel pickup offered
Group size:
40
Wheelchair accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
  • Duration:
    6h
  • Taking Covid-19 safety measures
  • Hotel pickup offered
  • Group size:
    40
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Ticket type:
    Mobile
About
Know before you go
  • Duration: 6h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 6h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 5659P9
Important information
Inclusions
  • All diving gear and towels supplied
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Light refreshments
  • Professional guide
  • Breakfast
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
Duration
6h
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • Pick-up from hotels, guesthouse, backpackers, vacation rentals and any other points within Hermanus.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • It is recommended that you wear a swim-suit underneath your clothes
  • Please note: Sharks are wild animals and their presence cannot be guaranteed. Every experience that guests have w, is educational from start to finish. The local supplier works with wild life and nature and sightings are never guaranteed. If a shark has been sighted from the boat, they will consider that a successful trip. If there is no shark activity while on a shark cage diving tour with the supplier, then a voucher will be offered. This voucher is not transferable – your name and passport number will be recorded on the voucher. The transfer fee is non-refundable.
  • You must contact the local service provider to confirm your exact pickup time
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travellers
Inclusions
  • All diving gear and towels supplied
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Light refreshments
  • Professional guide
  • Breakfast
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • Pick-up from hotels, guesthouse, backpackers, vacation rentals and any other points within Hermanus.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
6h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • It is recommended that you wear a swim-suit underneath your clothes
  • Please note: Sharks are wild animals and their presence cannot be guaranteed. Every experience that guests have w, is educational from start to finish. The local supplier works with wild life and nature and sightings are never guaranteed. If a shark has been sighted from the boat, they will consider that a successful trip. If there is no shark activity while on a shark cage diving tour with the supplier, then a voucher will be offered. This voucher is not transferable – your name and passport number will be recorded on the voucher. The transfer fee is non-refundable.
  • You must contact the local service provider to confirm your exact pickup time
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
29 reviews
Excellent
19
Very good
3
Average
2
Poor
3
Terrible
2

Jacob F
3 contributions
This was an incredible experience. The staff was great and truly made it evident that they wanted everyone to have the best trip possible. We personally had the opportunity to see many bronze whaler sharks from the cage as well as from on the boat. We also saw a seal and a stingray. What we truly found impressive about this company is that they truly seemed to care - from checking in before the trip, the delicious breakfast, the assistance with sizing of wet suits, a hand getting on the boat, the instructions when in the cage to best see the sharks, to the towels and warm snacks after the trip, it was all above and beyond.
Written 27 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob, thank you for the feedback and the 5-star review! Thank you for complimenting our staff as they strive to deliver a 5-star experience every trip. It is so nice to hear that you were able to enjoy the bronze whaler sharks and other wildlife while out at sea. Our team thanks you for the kind words from the work that we do during the check-in process, the food that we serve before your trip, the time we take with the wetsuits, the crew ensuring you have the opportunity to see the sharks the best you can, down to the towels and hot chocolate we hand out at the end of your dive. Thank you Jacob for your support and we will be sure to pass these compliments along.
Written 1 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Rob G
Bellville, South Africa1 298 contributions
Dec 2020
Very informative and friendly experience. Another one ticked off the bucket list. Marine Dynamics are very professional and have a made for purpose boat that can handle the windy rough seas very well. The marine biologist gave us a lot of information and was available to answer questions on board during the dive as well. The equipment available was in very good condition. Great experience. No great whites appeared but we did get to see a few bronze whalers.
Written 8 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your detailed review! Bronze whaler sharks (Carcharhinus brachyurus) otherwise known as the copper shark because of their distinctive colouration is the new star at the shark cage diving boats in Gansbaai. This species is found in temperate waters and usually seen in groups. Bronze whalers can grow up to 3.3m in length during its 25 to 30-year lifespan. Their copper/gold colour is distinctive, and this species is very active around the boats leaving nature lovers and divers enthralled
Written 15 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kurt W
Brooklyn, NY33 contributions
Mar 2022
Amazing experience to see the sharks swim up to you in the cage. We had 3 or 4 sharks swimming at our cage. Unfortunately, it was a bit difficult to see underwater as the water was a bit murky, not to mention COLD. But the guides were great and the wet suits they give do a fairly decent job of keeping you warm. It was a really exciting experience all around
Written 28 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review! It is great to hear that shark cage diving with us was an amazing experience. Marine Dynamics will go the extra mile to ensure our clients have the opportunity to be close to the sharks. We have over 150 wet suits that are CLEAN and DRY for each guest on the trip to ensure clients have the necessary gear to dive into the water without a scuba certification. Thank you for complimenting our guides as well and we will be sure to send the kind words back to them. We love to hear your experience with us was an exciting one!
Written 28 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

William O
10 contributions
If there haven’t been any Great White sightings in Gansbaai in over a year then it’s unreasonable to continue to advertise as such. People come a long way for a high percentage chance they’ll see these magnificent creatures but when the chance is zero percent, that information should be shared on your website and not announced the morning of the trip.

The hospitality was excellent and Alina was a super guide and that’s what gets my two stars.
Written 18 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi William, Thank you for complementing our guide Alina, we will make sure that this is communicated to her. Our communication has been transparent throughout the years, specifically so since 2017 when we had to update the homepage on our website to the following statement, “Marine Dynamics enjoys sightings of great whites, copper sharks (bronze whalers), and even the occasional stingray at our vessel. Great White shark behaviour has been less predictable since the orca predation in 2017”. On the website, we include a tab that directs you to the shark cage diving daily blog. This blog is an accurate documentation of what our biologists see each day while out on the boat. We also share our latest sightings on various social media channels. The Great White shark will always be the main attraction, but it is explained to our clients that this is nature that we work with and that wildlife sightings cannot be guaranteed. The terms and conditions on our website specifically mention this. The statement that the last Great White shark sighting in the Dyer Island ecosystem was a year ago is incorrect. They can still move through this area and not be seen around the vessels. The Bronze whaler sharks have been an amazing shark species to dive with and our guests have been enthralled by their behaviour. Their comments on our daily blogs and in the visitors’ book are a testament to this.
Written 27 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

MJ7389
2 contributions
This is rather late as we used these guys in 2016 but have only got around to the reviews from that trip!!!

We had a great time BUT I’m not sure I’d go back and am surprised they still promote the trip the same way they did back when I was there.

We hired the boat exclusively so it was only the two of us. This worked great as the weather was so rough no other boats went out that day and everyone got turned away. As we were the only two on our boat they asked if we wanted to go out (they said there was no way they would take a regular group out as too many would get seasick) we had no concerns about that so went and the trip out over the huge waves was almost as exciting as the sharks!

We were pretty sensible and had a very tiny breakfast so did not feel any seasickness at all. Anybody stuffing their face before going out on the boat has only themselves to blame!

As it was just the two of us we had as long as we wanted in the cage and the water was very cold so my wife only spent an hour in it and then watched from the side. I was in the cage for a good couple of hours non-stop. A very different experience from what most people seem to get on a regular trip where are you are shuffled in and out of the cage for relatively short periods of time.

The visibility was poor but we knew to expect that and the sharks were bought in close enough to see-especially when playing back the go pro footage I shot from the cage.

We saw multiple great whites and they were very close to the cage-smashing into it on a couple of occasions. Again, as I was in the cage the entire time I got to experience all of these interactions. Very, very cool.

Afterwards we enjoyed the short ride back to shore.

In summary we enjoyed it an awful lot but we are very glad that we booked it exclusively and we’re not convinced we would have enjoyed it anywhere near as much as part of a large group (despite the obvious cost saving) also, we stayed the night before so there was no early trip down from Cape Town. I would highly advise that as it makes the day far more relaxed.

The last point I would make is that you need to really do your research and look at their daily blog. I studied it going back every single day for weeks and weeks so knew that sightings of white sharks were very likely when we were there (and were not disappointed) I have kept up reading their blog and I am really surprised when I see them advertising based very heavily around white shark interactions still. It seems the likelihood of actually seeing a white shark are VERY slim (and given the short duration you get in the cage on a regular trip, the chance of seeing one from the cage is lottery ticket slim). Glad we went when we did as it is not something we would consider worthwhile to see bronze whalers and seals which seems to be the current likelihood despite the advertising.
Written 17 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review, a lot of time has passed since 2016. A lot has changed around our sightings of our great white and bronze whalers, we have seen a whole ecosystem shift. We are very glad you were able to see our white sharks pre orca predation which caused a flight response in 2017. It is always nice to have the boat to yourself but there is a great demand for this activity. We agree it is good to stay closer to Gansbaai, as the Cape Whale Coast is an incredible place to explore and perfect for the nature lover. Our daily blogs and social media are a great resource to keep up to date but our white sharks are continuously surprising us.
Written 21 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Elna du Plessis
2 contributions
Mar 2021
We enjoyed the whole experience! From the warm welcome, the lovely snacks, the friendly staff and the boat ride! We interacted with 6 Copper sharks for most if the time we were on the water and all of us had plenty of time in the cage. It was amazing! Marine Dynamics gets 5 stars from our group of 5! The gear fitted us well and was clean and dry when recieved. The Skipper and crew were knowledgeable and happy to chat. We felt safe and well looked after. Thank you all.
To everyone......you MUST do it, you CAN do it.
Written 11 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for sharing your amazing experience!
Written 15 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

_africaansley
Hermanus, South Africa5 contributions
Jan 2022 • Couples
Completely worth every minute. Aletta, Janine and Suzi made our day. Safe, well educated and fun filled exciting tour. From the minute you arrive they spoil you with their world class hospitality. Staff are amazing, going out of their way to make sure you are comfortable. The sharks swim right past your nose but it is completely safe. They got something good
.going over there.
Written 17 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
It was such a pleasure having you and your wife on board our shark cage diving adventure Ansley. Thank you for your wonderful review and thank you for your continued support.
Written 18 January 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mike S
St. Albans, UK336 contributions
Mar 2020
Love this company and their philosophy. They really care for the environment and give you the best experience in shark cage diving. The staff are all wonderful and the boat idea and specially made. They supply wet suits, which are essential in the cold water if you want to stay down and look for any length of time. An utter joy to see these beasts in their home environment. Great hot chocolate and tea afterwards to warm you up as well.
Written 27 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Dan D
2 contributions
For anyone planning to use this company be aware that they have a 7 day cancellation policy. My son was sick due to malaria tablets and couldn’t go on the boat. They wouldn’t refund me. Be aware
Written 6 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Dan If yours is the booking where 4 of the 5 went on the trip, we were advised that the fifth person did not want to go, and not made aware of any malaria tablet issue. Please be advised that our terms and conditions are on our website, as well our booking confirmation receipt and reads as below, and of course we judge all situations on merit. We pride ourselves on being an ethical company in all respects. We manage our business as per any hotel or airline booking. Should you have any further enquiries on the matter, you can mail us on sharks@marinedynamicstravel.com Kind regards, Team MD CANCELLATION POLICY We encourage advance bookings based on demand. Our cancellation policy is as below: No shows and cancellation within 7 days of departure – 100% cancellation fee *This fee will be debited on the day of the trip if the above applies. A full refund will be considered on merit, by management, in the event of illness, hospitalisation, accident or death, upon receipt of proof thereof. A full refund will be granted should the activity be cancelled in the interest of safety, prior to the trip.
Written 7 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Johnny
2 contributions
Mar 2022 • Family
We went shark cage diving with marine dynamics. Its fantastic to be in the water with the sharks nearby. However, i found the experience underwhelming compared to expectation. Firstly, it appears now that great white sightings are very rare and the more common copper sharks are much less impressive. Secondly, some staff are not particularly dedicated when it comes to bait meaning certain areas of the cage can get far less visibility of the sharks than others. Overall, worth doing but certainly not as good as i had hoped.
Written 2 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
It is nice to hear that you had a good time with the bronze whaler sharks. Our team is sorry to hear that this fell below your expectations as we explain on our website, social media, and in conversations with our reservations team that the Great White shark has been less predictable since the orca predation in 2017. The Great White shark is considered a vulnerable species and by choosing us for your shark cage diving adventure you are contributing to the conservation efforts for the sharks. We encourage tourists and tour operators to work with responsible shark cage diving operators and we live by our slogan of “YOUR CHOICE MAKES A DIFFERENCE.” If you’d like to read more about how the Dyer Island Conservation efforts you can go to our website
Written 27 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 26
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Marine Dynamics
JG_137
JG_137
00
No sharks…
Lovely staff, felt well looked after. Didn’t see any sharks though… There is a blog you can check for sightings but
Traveler00416002230
Traveler00416002230
00
Misleading, Overpriced
The description of this tour is misleading. We booked this thinking it was a 4 hour tour but that is inaccurate. Be
TravellingWithZan
TravellingWithZan
00
Exciting experience with Bronze Whaler sharks!
I joined the volunteer programme go four weeks- and it was an enriching and exciting experience! The staff body wer
philippedC4982YH
philippedC4982YH
00
Very very bad
When I booked it was due to start at 07 00 and finish early afternoon. Then the operator changed the time and could
996mariafernandal
996mariafernandal
00
No white sharks in Gansbai anymore!
It is unfair they sell the experience and you pay a “great white shark sighting” and they tell you on that same mor
Florence6789
Florence6789
00
Can't say enough good things!
What an incredible eco-tourism experience that I hope will make more people appreciate and want to protect sharks!
Jo S
Jo S
00
Five Star Experience
What a totally amazing experience we recently enjoyed on the Marine Big 5 trip from Kleinbaai. From the minute we a
DavidHuwyler97
DavidHuwyler97
00
Careful false advertisement
!!!Careful. There are no great white sharks anymore since june 2021. Only coppersharks. The tour itself is poorly o
Jacki T
Jacki T
00
A must-do experience
We took this trip on 13 Feb and it was, in a word, AWESOME! Coffee and breakfast on arrival, followed by an informa
staceytV6703PW
staceytV6703PW
00
Honeymoon- trip of a lifetime!
We booked this trip as part of our honeymoon in South Africa. We were picked up in Cape Town by a driver and taken
Peyton B
Peyton B
00
Fun shark diving experience !
We loved our shark cage diving experience with Marine Dynamics! If you are coming from Cape Town be aware that it’s
Ian S
Ian S
00
100% Recommend
We booked through a third-party (Apex) who sent up to Marine Dynamics for our cage diving tour. I'd recommend goin
699murraye
699murraye
00
Highlight of the trip
Highlight of my trip to Cape Town. It is a long drive from Cape Town but worth it and using their own transport mea
274shreyag
274shreyag
00
Experience not to be forgotten…
What an amazing experience and such a “caring crew” from the time of booking to helping us with transport to and fr
janlS249GZ
janlS249GZ
00
Amazing!
It was an awesome experience! They crew was very friendly and very knowledgeable about the ocean. Fantastic!
Frequently Asked Questions about Shark Cage Diving and Viewing from Hermanus

Shark Cage Diving and Viewing from Hermanus price starts from R 3 131,31. Discover and book Shark Cage Diving and Viewing from Hermanus on Tripadvisor

Shark Cage Diving and Viewing from Hermanus cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Shark Cage Diving and Viewing from Hermanus on Tripadvisor

Shark Cage Diving and Viewing from Hermanus is hosted by Marine Dynamics. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Marine Dynamics on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Shark Cage Diving and Viewing from Hermanus on Tripadvisor