Tours and Tickets
Full Day Safari Tour of Pilanesberg National Park, Open Jeep experience
5

Full Day Safari Tour of Pilanesberg National Park, Open Jeep experience

By Phillipians 4 Four
Recommended by 95% of travellers
95% of reviewers gave this product a bubble rating of 4 or higher.
About
from
R 2 750,00
per adult (price varies by group size)
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 26 per group
Duration: 11–12 hours
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Meets animal welfare guidelines
Live guide: English
More


  • All Fees and Taxes
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • A bottle of water
  • Lunch
What's not included
  • Breakfast


Start:Multiple pickup locations offered.
    Pickup details
    • Hotels,Guest house,BNB and Residential
    Hotel pickup offered
    During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included hotels.
      Additional pickup options
      During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included pickup points.
      • Johannesburg, South Africa
      End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

        • Not wheelchair accessible
        • Infants must sit on laps
        If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 9076P12

        • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
        • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
        • Most travellers can participate
        • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
        • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
        • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 26 travellers

        • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

        How much is Full Day Safari Tour of Pilanesberg National Park, Open Jeep experience?
        Full Day Safari Tour of Pilanesberg National Park, Open Jeep experience price starts from R 2 717,62. Discover and book Full Day Safari Tour of Pilanesberg National Park, Open Jeep experience on Tripadvisor
        What is the Full Day Safari Tour of Pilanesberg National Park, Open Jeep experience cancellation policy?
        Full Day Safari Tour of Pilanesberg National Park, Open Jeep experience cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Full Day Safari Tour of Pilanesberg National Park, Open Jeep experience on Tripadvisor
        Which company provides Full Day Safari Tour of Pilanesberg National Park, Open Jeep experience?
        Full Day Safari Tour of Pilanesberg National Park, Open Jeep experience is hosted by Phillipians 4 Four. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Phillipians 4 Four on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Full Day Safari Tour of Pilanesberg National Park, Open Jeep experience on Tripadvisor
        How much time do I need for Full Day Safari Tour of Pilanesberg National Park, Open Jeep experience?

        If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 9076P12

        Reserve your spot

        Similar experiences

        Itinerary
        • 1
          Most of the animals species of Southern Africa live in the Pilanesberg Game Reserve including Lions, Elephants, white and black Rhinos, Leopards, Buffaloes, Cheetahs, Giraffes, Zebra, Hippopotamus and many more. On this full guided day tour, you will have opportunity to see fantastic wildlife in their natural habitat in a guided open safari vehicle. You will also have Incredible photo opportunities in an open safari vehicle.
        About the operator
        Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
        • Phillipians 4 Four
          1,093
          South Africa
        • Omnigear82
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Wonderful Day Tour
          Today was a fantastic day trip out to an elephant and monkey sanctuary. This was a highly educational day where the guides went over facts about elephant life and anatomy. It was nice to see them as well. Same with the monkeys where I got to learn more things that I did not previously know about them. My guide is Bobo. This now represents my third day with him. To say he was great is an understatement. He is professional, engaged and will make you feel like you are travelling with a close friend or family rather than a guide. He is knowledgeable and we had much discussions about life in south africa which is an added bonus. I have been highly impressed with this company for many reasons. The process with Solly was seamless and as a whole This is a very professionally run company. It is my hope to use them again should I come by this way again. I would highly recommend using them to any who is in the area. Much thanks again Solly and especially Bobo who has made my stay on Joberg the best it can be. 10 stars out of 5. Easily.
          Written 26 May 2024
        • Omnigear82
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Great full day outing
          Did a fantastic full day to Lesidi and Lion Park. Had Bobo as guide and the day went swimmingly well. The experience at both parks were similarly great. Bobo is a fantastic guide. Informative and engaged. I was fortunate to be the solo person overall in essence turning a small group tour into a private one. I am beyond pleased with how this day turned out. Would not hesitate to use this company in the future.
          Written 25 May 2024
        • D3875UYheatherp
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Great insights into Johannesburg
          Great tour with a small group (there were six of us) that gave us much information as well as time to do our own thing, especially at the apartheid museum. We only spent two hours there…that is not enough time to see everything so be prepared with what you want to soak in and what you want to hurry through. Some of the reviews were for the full day tour. The half day tour does not include the buffet lunch some people complained about in at least one of the reviews
          Written 25 May 2024
        • Omnigear82
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Great Combo Tour Praetoria and Diamond Mine
          Had a fantastic day touring w Bobo to a combo tour. It went to the city of Praetoria and Cullinan diamond mine. He is a fantastic driver and guide and we were able to cover a lot during this day. Personable and friendly. Although these are meant to be small group tours it turned out I was the only one and find that they continued with this tour anyway. I am beyond greatful for this exclusive experience. I would not hesitate to use the company. Also Solly is great to work with and was able to book a last minute tour as I had an extra day. 10 stars out of 5.
          Written 24 May 2024
        • LankanTravellor
          0 contributions
          4.0 of 5 bubbles
          Very Interesting Day Out
          I was in Johannesburg and as always, I plan for a city tour when in a new city. I’ve been to Johannesburg before but I wanted to make sure that I didn’t stay inside the hotel. I booked the full day City Tour with a visit to the Museum. The start of the tour was a little inauspicious where the driver when to the wrong branch of my hotel but after I told him where, he came to the correct location. The tour bus was clean with water available at every seat (some bottles were empty) but since I was the last pick up, the tour started immediately. The driver was well informed and took us to the destinations through Johannesburg. He was also very kind enough to inform us the when visiting Mandela’s house in Soweto, we’ve to be careful about taking pictures and with whom. Obviously, there’s an entire industry built around fleecing the tourists so that information was appreciated. The visit to the Apartheid Museum was sensory overload. How one man can hate another due to their skin colour was mind boggling. I walked out of the Museum due to that but the tour was very well done. I have only complaint, which was the restaurant we were taken to, in Soweto. Obviously, these restaurants & tour operators work hand in glove but I felt cheated after spending R330 for a buffet lunch & drinks, which I didn’t enjoy. The menu at the restaurant was very beef specific and I don’t eat beef or pork. In fact, there was another customer in the bus who was the same. We should’ve been well served if we walked to KFC opposite the restaurant. I feel that the tour operators must inform their clients that unless you’re a beef eater, the buffet would be a waste. Forewarning is always good.
          Written 19 May 2024
        • 362millis
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Wonderful Surprise!
          Fantastic Experience. The hotel I stayed at recommended this trip and linked me up with Guide Zabb. The drive alone was great!
          Written 16 May 2024
        • irenes352
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Don’t miss out on this one!
          An excellent day out. Nathi our guide was knowledgeable and informative, giving us information about each of the stops before we arrived, as well as telling us details about the history of the areas we passed through. Really enjoyed all the sites we visited and the lunch in Soweto (own expense) was an amazing buffet of local cuisine. Highly recommend.
          Written 13 May 2024
        • 439hazele
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Private guided tour joburg, apartheid museum, Soweto & constitutional hill.
          We had a wonderful day with Clement. Saw lots and learnt lots. He was so knowledgeable & friendly. Would highly recommend this trip. Thank you
          Written 10 May 2024
        • Ken T
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Great tour, Clement is an excellent guide.
          Great tour, Clement was an excellent guide, he is very knowledgeable and added personal stories throughout the tour. Would highly recommend this tour.
          Written 9 May 2024
        • Ian H
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Must Do
          The tour was one of the best things we did in south africa, informative, fun, driver was amazing and if we could have hired him again we would have, thoroughly enjoyable and worth every $ we paid
          Written 30 April 2024
        • T8815FTthomasw
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Phillipiansfour4 did a great job and accommodated our tight schedule
          Guide was very knowledgeable with much first hand experience as a person living in Sweto during the 1990’s. Excellent tour
          Written 29 April 2024
        • T7798FTcrystalh
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Great experience
          Clement was very nice and knowledgeable. He not only provided great information with details and made sure we got a photo opportunities. We enjoy our time! The tour was as described as in the description.
          Written 26 April 2024
        • Brytton C
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Very informative tour
          Nathi was an excellent tour guide. He was very knowledgeable and funny. I definitely learned lot about the history of South Africa, especially about the history of Soweto. I would definitely recommend this tour.
          Written 24 April 2024
        • reeceh355
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Great tour!
          Nathi was a great tour guide and we learned so much about South African history during our half day tour with him. Highly recommend!
          Written 20 April 2024
        • X6590NNelizabetho
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Lots of historical sites.. nice drive through the city, Mandela’s house, Soweto.. the apartheid museum.
          Nathi was extremely professional and knowledgeable. The tour was filled with lots of historical information about South Africa. Loved every person we came in contact with.
          Written 20 April 2024
        See all 1 review
        These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

        Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

        Popular mentions

        5.0
        5.0 of 5 bubbles71 reviews
        Excellent
        66
        Very good
        2
        Average
        0
        Poor
        1
        Terrible
        2

        Col N
        6 contributions
        2.0 of 5 bubbles
        May 2023 • Couples
        We booked this tour in December 2022 because it was run by an operator with great feedback and offered a 4am start which enabled access to the park in time for the golden hour (30 minutes -+ sunrise). Getting to the park early was the prime goal and our request was confirmed by the owner for a 4am pickup from Sandton. The tour was paid for two days before the scheduled start with the confirmed pickup of 4am. At 9:42pm the night before the tour, Solly advised us the pickup time would be 6:30am. Upon questioning the reason for changing the pickup time, Solly explained that “Because we are getting close to winter time, so park open 9am”. It was now too late to make any alternative arrangements so we went anyway. At the park, the staff confirmed that the opening time is currently 6:00am. I messaged my disappointment regarding the conflicting opening times to Solly two days later who promptly phoned me to explain that I could have pulled out of the trip and received a full refund. The point is that a 4am start was offered, a 4am start was confirmed and paid for, and a 4am start was not delivered. These are the facts of this case and readers may draw their own conclusions about this operation. I’m sure that Solly will add his own spin to the events.
        Written 16 May 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Dear Mr. Colin, we really appreciate your feedback. Am really sorry that we didn't met your needs. A day before the date we explained to you that we are now in winter time which get dark earlier and because of that the park opening time for the park change and that was the reason that our page on tripadvisor or viator page said summer and winter. We called you and explained this to incase if you want to cancel and get your money back but you agreed to join 6:30am which we picked you up and we offered you unforgettable safari experience. My surprised is that you do more than 2 different experiences with us and each day we offered you our best. After 3days of your safari experience with us i received your whattsapp message which i try to called you and explained that Pilanesberg National Park opening time change during the time of winters but all what i can hear you is that you was threaten me that you will go and write bad review on our page or viator.com. Now i can see that all what you want to do is for you to destroy our company image on viator.com or TripAdvisor.com. Yes you booked for 4am but we can't change the nature and we can't change what park management want. You told our guide that this experience was unforgettable experience for you and you also told me that you saw alots of animals. You saw Africa big four out of five . Any way thank you. We'll continue to offer our best to all our clients
        Written 17 May 2023
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        James Z
        KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa2 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Mar 2021
        Great day with Solly at Pilanesburg natural reserve,we were picked up according to our agreement and we joined the Safari open jeep group at Sun City and we were able to see Africa big 5,Leopards,Lions,Rhinos,Elephants and Buffalo.
        we also saw many species, thanks Solly for meet the needs of my family. Highly recommended .
        Written 19 April 2021
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        Chelsie
        23 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Oct 2022 • Solo
        An amazing experience to see so many animals native to the African wild — and get very close from the safety of an open Safari jeep. Solly is an amazing guide (and owner) that picks you up from your hotel and makes the entire trip seamless! He also makes sure you are well taken care of by the rangers once you arrive at the park. Lunch mid-day was great and there are local hand crafters on site to purchase art and souvenirs to share with family and friends! I had one day of downtime to explore during a work trip and I’m so happy I chose this tour!
        Written 16 October 2022
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Thanks chelsie, we really appreciate your feedback. Please do come again
        Written 17 October 2022
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Luke
        England27 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Jan 2024 • Couples
        We cannot recommend this tour highly enough. We were looking for something to do whilst changing at Johannesburg airport, and decided the one-day safari would be a good choice. We are so glad we booked with this company.

        The night beforehand we were contacted on WhatsApp to explain where exactly to meet at our hotel and given a 10 minute pick-up window and the next morning the driver was there as organised. We then had a 2 1/2 hour drive to the National park, with a quick comfort stop on the way. This was an excellent way to see more of South Africa and crossed through several provinces. We changed vehicles at Pilanesberg and went with a professional guide who drove us across the extensive reserve and used his expertise to show us lots of beautiful animals, including elephants, leopards, rhinos, hippos, giraffes and many more. A choice of lunches and cold drinks is also included, which you select whilst at the restaurant, and we returned back to our hotel with our first driver around 6pm.

        All in all, an exceptionally organised tour which is great value for money, and a good opportunity to see more than the airport.
        Written 4 January 2024
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        sam
        1 contribution
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Oct 2020
        Visiting the Zoo with my families, so exciting, educational and fascinating, my kids especially really enjoy it, the arrange so wonderful and im looking forward to another wonderful excursion again, Thank you so much. i had a great time. keep up the good work.
        Written 24 November 2020
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        mariana
        Singapore, Singapore8 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        I did this tour on my own from Johannesburg and couldn’t have enjoyed more.

        I was apprehensive at first to travel alone with a male driver but Solly assured me of the safety and quality of the guide. Nathi was my driver to the National park and he was phenomenal: kind, informative, good fun!

        The safari itself was done with a tour company from the park and our guide was Sisi who was super cool and knowledgeable.

        On the way back from the full day, I asked if we could stop by Lesadi Cultural Village and Nathi worked out with Solly and managed to take me there. Again, super experience seeing the tribes and dances.

        Net, fabulous service! Would recommend it for sure. Hope to come back one day.
        Written 10 March 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Dear Mariana, we really appreciate your feedback and we are saying thank you very much, please come again
        Written 11 March 2023
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Takoria S
        3 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Aug 2022 • Solo
        Outside of the temperature being cooler than I would’ve liked, I really couldn’t have asked for more from the experience. Solly was an excellent host and driver. He was so patient, kind and informative. Once he got me safely to the reservation, I was able to see four of the Big Five during our ride. We spotted a lion and lioness within the first five minutes of our day and later saw a leopard take down an impala. We had lunch at the cafe while giraffe hung out in the background. It was a truly wonderful experience.
        Written 22 August 2022
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Thanks Roving,we really appreciate your feedback. Please come again.
        Written 23 August 2022
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Lisa M
        2 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Sept 2021
        You want to visit Pilanesberg and you have only one day in Johannesburg and you want to get Africa big five experience please you this company you will never regret it. We saw this company on internet and we decided to use the company, Solly arrived 6am and he drove us 2hrs:30mins to Pilanesberg where we joining another couple for safari. three hours tour we manage to see all what we wanted to see included most difficult animals to see( Leopards and Lions). Highly recommended
        Written 7 September 2021
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        Lane F
        1 contribution
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Oct 2021
        Solly was great and the main reason I would recommend others to book this tour! He picked me up on time and we headed out for a ~3 hour drive to Pilanesberg. The Safari itself was scheduled for 3 hours but lasted closer to 4. During this time we talked nearly the entire time about anything and everything Africa. I learned so much from Solly. The Safari was just as enjoyable, we saw 3 of the Big 5 (Elephant, Rhino, and Leopard). In addition to that, we saw probably a dozen other animals.
        Written 11 October 2021
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Thanks Lane we really appreciate it.
        Written 12 October 2021
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Brittney L
        2 contributions
        1.0 of 5 bubbles
        Nov 2022 • Business
        Unfortunately, the Safari was cancelled on me last minute. At 11:30 PM I was sent a WhatsApp message that I didn’t see until preparing to leave for the safari at 6:30 AM. The explanation for it was very unclear. So just a little warning to confirm you will be taken on a Safari and only cancelled on with enough time to book with another company. I know this review is making the company look bad, but I honestly just want to make sure it doesn’t happen to others in the future.

        Thankfully, I was offered a full refund. The company seemed friendly and most likely would’ve provided a great experience. Good luck and enjoy!
        Written 5 November 2022
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Hello Brittney, thank you very much for your review but truth of the matter is that single booking to Pilanesberg National Park safari experience is a shortage to the company and we contact you to change the date because we only have you on that day we asked you to change the date to second day which you refused and you said you will go to tripadvisor and review on our company and we told you that it will be a shortage for us to go with one person to Pilanesberg National Park and we canceled the booking and refunded your money back. It's very surprised when one person will be threatening one another for review and is very shocked for me particularly when i saw your review when we didn't robbed you or take your money without offer the service. We received your booking and we waited till around 11:30pm to see if we can still get more booking when we didn't get and we contacted you to change the date or get your refund but all what you can says was i will go to tripadvisor and review on your company. OUR COMPANY ARE HERE TO OFFER OUR BEST.
        Written 7 November 2022
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Showing results 1-10 of 64

        Full Day Safari Tour of Pilanesberg National Park, Open Jeep experience provided by Phillipians 4 Four

        All Johannesburg HotelsJohannesburg Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Johannesburg
        All things to do in Johannesburg
        Day Trips in Johannesburg
        RestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire