Tours and Tickets
Half Guided Day Tour of Soweto And Apartheid Museum
4.5

Half Guided Day Tour of Soweto And Apartheid Museum

By Phillipians 4 Four
Recommended by 93% of travellers
93% of reviewers gave this product a bubble rating of 4 or higher.
About
from
R 1 050,00
per adult (price varies by group size)
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 15 per group
Duration: 4–5 hours
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English, French
More


  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • All Fees and Taxes
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Entry/Admission - Apartheid Museum
  • Entry/Admission - Mandela House
  • Entry/Admission - Hector Pieterson Memorial
What's not included
  • Drinks
  • Lunch
  • Entry/Admission - Vilakazi Street


Start:Multiple pickup locations offered.
    Pickup details
    • Hotels, Guest house,BNB and Residential
    Hotel pickup offered
    During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included hotels.
      Additional pickup options
      During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included pickup points.
      • Johannesburg, South Africa
      End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

        • Not wheelchair accessible
        • Infants must sit on laps
        If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 9076P7

        • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
        • Children must be accompanied by an adult
        • Dress code is casual
        • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
        • Most travellers can participate
        • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers

        • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

        Which attractions will I visit with Half Guided Day Tour of Soweto And Apartheid Museum?
        How much is Half Guided Day Tour of Soweto And Apartheid Museum?
        Half Guided Day Tour of Soweto And Apartheid Museum price starts from R 1 037,71. Discover and book Half Guided Day Tour of Soweto And Apartheid Museum on Tripadvisor
        What is the Half Guided Day Tour of Soweto And Apartheid Museum cancellation policy?
        Half Guided Day Tour of Soweto And Apartheid Museum cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Half Guided Day Tour of Soweto And Apartheid Museum on Tripadvisor
        Which company provides Half Guided Day Tour of Soweto And Apartheid Museum?
        Half Guided Day Tour of Soweto And Apartheid Museum is hosted by Phillipians 4 Four. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Phillipians 4 Four on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Half Guided Day Tour of Soweto And Apartheid Museum on Tripadvisor

        If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 9076P7

        Reserve your spot

        Similar experiences

        Itinerary
        • 1
        • 2
        • 3
        • 4
        • 5
        About the operator
        Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
        • Phillipians 4 Four
          1,093
          South Africa
        • Omnigear82
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Great full day outing
          Did a fantastic full day to Lesidi and Lion Park. Had Bobo as guide and the day went swimmingly well. The experience at both parks were similarly great. Bobo is a fantastic guide. Informative and engaged. I was fortunate to be the solo person overall in essence turning a small group tour into a private one. I am beyond pleased with how this day turned out. Would not hesitate to use this company in the future.
          Written 25 May 2024
        • Omnigear82
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Great Combo Tour Praetoria and Diamond Mine
          Had a fantastic day touring w Bobo to a combo tour. It went to the city of Praetoria and Cullinan diamond mine. He is a fantastic driver and guide and we were able to cover a lot during this day. Personable and friendly. Although these are meant to be small group tours it turned out I was the only one and find that they continued with this tour anyway. I am beyond greatful for this exclusive experience. I would not hesitate to use the company. Also Solly is great to work with and was able to book a last minute tour as I had an extra day. 10 stars out of 5.
          Written 24 May 2024
        • LankanTravellor
          0 contributions
          4.0 of 5 bubbles
          Very Interesting Day Out
          I was in Johannesburg and as always, I plan for a city tour when in a new city. I’ve been to Johannesburg before but I wanted to make sure that I didn’t stay inside the hotel. I booked the full day City Tour with a visit to the Museum. The start of the tour was a little inauspicious where the driver when to the wrong branch of my hotel but after I told him where, he came to the correct location. The tour bus was clean with water available at every seat (some bottles were empty) but since I was the last pick up, the tour started immediately. The driver was well informed and took us to the destinations through Johannesburg. He was also very kind enough to inform us the when visiting Mandela’s house in Soweto, we’ve to be careful about taking pictures and with whom. Obviously, there’s an entire industry built around fleecing the tourists so that information was appreciated. The visit to the Apartheid Museum was sensory overload. How one man can hate another due to their skin colour was mind boggling. I walked out of the Museum due to that but the tour was very well done. I have only complaint, which was the restaurant we were taken to, in Soweto. Obviously, these restaurants & tour operators work hand in glove but I felt cheated after spending R330 for a buffet lunch & drinks, which I didn’t enjoy. The menu at the restaurant was very beef specific and I don’t eat beef or pork. In fact, there was another customer in the bus who was the same. We should’ve been well served if we walked to KFC opposite the restaurant. I feel that the tour operators must inform their clients that unless you’re a beef eater, the buffet would be a waste. Forewarning is always good.
          Written 19 May 2024
        • 362millis
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Wonderful Surprise!
          Fantastic Experience. The hotel I stayed at recommended this trip and linked me up with Guide Zabb. The drive alone was great!
          Written 16 May 2024
        • irenes352
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Don’t miss out on this one!
          An excellent day out. Nathi our guide was knowledgeable and informative, giving us information about each of the stops before we arrived, as well as telling us details about the history of the areas we passed through. Really enjoyed all the sites we visited and the lunch in Soweto (own expense) was an amazing buffet of local cuisine. Highly recommend.
          Written 13 May 2024
        • nicolascQ7035QG
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          une de mes plus belles experiences de ma vie
          J'ai adoré :) c'était vraiment magnifique et grandiose : A very beautiful experience to do once in life, full of beauty of nature (in savannah ecosystem), and the driver - that i thank him a lot - has a strong knowledge to know where to drive and to find animals ( he already did that more than 1000 times ) In this same experience, i got the chance to see the "big 5" : lions, elephants, rhinoceros, african buffalo, lion and leopard ; and also antilops, hippopotamus, waterbuck cow, birds (ibis, cormorant, drongo, old world sparrow, large grey babbler, crimson-breasted shrike, cape starling, helmeted guineafowl ... ), cricket ; all that around african trees :)
          Written 11 May 2024
        • 439hazele
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Private guided tour joburg, apartheid museum, Soweto & constitutional hill.
          We had a wonderful day with Clement. Saw lots and learnt lots. He was so knowledgeable & friendly. Would highly recommend this trip. Thank you
          Written 10 May 2024
        • Ken T
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Great tour, Clement is an excellent guide.
          Great tour, Clement was an excellent guide, he is very knowledgeable and added personal stories throughout the tour. Would highly recommend this tour.
          Written 9 May 2024
        • Ian H
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Must Do
          The tour was one of the best things we did in south africa, informative, fun, driver was amazing and if we could have hired him again we would have, thoroughly enjoyable and worth every $ we paid
          Written 30 April 2024
        • T8815FTthomasw
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Phillipiansfour4 did a great job and accommodated our tight schedule
          Guide was very knowledgeable with much first hand experience as a person living in Sweto during the 1990’s. Excellent tour
          Written 29 April 2024
        • X6590NNelizabetho
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Lots of historical sites.. nice drive through the city, Mandela’s house, Soweto.. the apartheid museum.
          Nathi was extremely professional and knowledgeable. The tour was filled with lots of historical information about South Africa. Loved every person we came in contact with.
          Written 20 April 2024
        • Dancetoday
          0 contributions
          4.0 of 5 bubbles
          Warming experience
          Great service , the guides were passionate and informative. Our driver guide was very knowledgable and kind. At times felt a bit rushed, but over all a fantastic experience.
          Written 13 April 2024
        • 123123jre
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Comprehensive and informative
          The trip was very comprehensve and our guide was great! The restaurant was excellent, on the street where Mandella and Tutu both lived in Soweto. In fact, we decided to ask for our guide for a second tour to the Cultural Village the next day, which was also excellent.
          Written 12 April 2024
        • keithbB5067KG
          0 contributions
          4.0 of 5 bubbles
          Great Experience
          Very good excursion with lots of history knowledge absorbed. Only negative- visual and sight lines from van made it difficult to see some sites as you traveled during the trip. Clement was great 👍🏾
          Written 11 April 2024
        • Mrswms1
          0 contributions
          3.0 of 5 bubbles
          Read the fine print
          I booked the Soweto/Johannesburg and Apartheid Museum tour, primarily to visit the Apartheid Museum. I contacted the tour company the day before to confirm pick up time and location. Please see the message I received from the tour company 9pm the night before the tour. Hello Sandra , I hope you are well? My name is Solly, CEO of the company, to offer you a tour tomorrow. I hope you are aware that Apartheid Museum closed on Monday and Tuesday? But don't worry, we have a substitute Hi Solly, no I was not aware that the museaum would be closed. It was one of the primary reasons booked the tour. Please tell me what the substitute is. But it's written on our description on tripadvisor and viator, so it means that you didn't read before you booked ? As the CEO of the company, I think he could have been more sensitive in response. Additionally, his advisement was well after the window for a refund. For him to even mention it, suggests that I may not have been the only one to have missed the fine print. Visiting the Apartheid Museum is a part of the name of the tour. Yes, I assumed I would.
          Written 3 April 2024
        See all 1 review
        These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

        Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

        Popular mentions

        4.5
        4.5 of 5 bubbles45 reviews
        Excellent
        38
        Very good
        4
        Average
        2
        Poor
        0
        Terrible
        1

        Airlifter
        Doha, Qatar36 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Nov 2022
        I booked with Philippians 4 Four Tours a second time because of my satisfaction with their full-day Cradle of Humankind / Meropeng tour.

        With Clements as our guide, the tour was very informative and interesting. The stops were well timed and of sufficient duration to get some photo memories and read about events and history.

        Tip: carry some R20 and R50 notes for tipping the local guides at Mandela House and the Hector P. Memorial.
        Written 25 November 2022
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        Judith R
        S Barrington17 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        May 2022
        This was my second Phillipians4four tour in 2 days and using them for my Johannesburg day trips could not have been a better choice. I was picked up on time by the same guide as my previous trip. This tour was a more local one with a lot to talk about and my guide did just that. The tour of Soweto was enlightening and educational. Mandela's house and the Pieterson Memorial were especially profound. The Apartheid Museum is an outstanding place that shows a part of history that should never be forgotten. I had almost 2 hours there and could have used another 1 but this was a half day tour. My tour guide (I am sorry I have forgotten his name, my Africa trip was over a month long and this was on my 4th day) was excellent. Phillipians4four did an outstanding job for me and I was right to count on them.
        Written 27 June 2022
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Thanks judith, we really appreciate your feedback. Please come again
        Written 2 July 2022
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Laura-Maria H
        3 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Mar 2023
        This tour to the Apartheid Museum and to Soweto township is a must when in Johannesburg. A group of tourists cannot easily plan the Soweto part of the trip, so it is an excellent idea to book it and have a tour guide accompany you. Solly, our guide, was very punctual, he explained many different things about apartheid, Mandela, Desmond Tutu, Winnie Mandela etc. He is an accredited guide, a very reliable and organized person. He thought about all details (when to stop for pictures, when to stop for historical details, when to stop for lunch etc.). It would be such a pity to travel to Johannesburg without visiting Soweto and the Apartheid Museum! Thus tour is an excellent choice.
        Written 20 March 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        Tannis H
        Burnaby, Canada81 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Aug 2023
        With limited time, this is a wonderful way to learn more about SA history. We had Nathi as our driver and guide- he was charming, considerate and very passionate about being a tour guide. He had lots of information and insights to share with us - plus teaching us a few words in the local dialect. The half day tour was plenty long for me while getting over jet lag.
        Written 20 August 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        Mike W
        3 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Jul 2021 • Couples
        Unfortunately, the tour stops closed down while we were in town due to Covid lockdown levels. Our amazing tour operator, Solly, with Philippians 4 tour company was quick to contact us and rebook us on an amazing outing. We were so thankful to him for saving our trip and keeping us safe during our visit. He truly cares about the guest Experience.
        Written 9 July 2021
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        Marc V
        17 contributions
        1.0 of 5 bubbles
        Mar 2023
        Worst tour ever, sorry guys. Let me explain.
        The pick-up at the hotel was on time and we drove to the Apartheidmuseum. There the guide dropped us off and we had to skip the entrance where you were divided in whites and non-whites. Why I do not know. The museum itself was overwhelming, so much information, so...very interesting.
        After the museum we met our co-visitors and drove to Soweto. What a disappointment : the airco in the little van was so loud we hardly could understand what the guide said. On top of it he spoke very bad English and on a monotonous tone and much too loud. The information provided was practically of no use. The information he gave, however little it was, was repeated constantly.
        The walk between Nelson Mandela's house and Bisschop Tutu's house vanished in the clouds. No walking although Vikakazistreet was very nice and lively.
        I also asked if I somewhere could buy a bottle of water and he answered that he had bottles in the back of the car but that they would be warm. Okay. Any suggestions where I could buy a bottle then ? No reaction. Sweat it out.
        The only good point was that he dropped us at the hotel first of all.
        Such a waste of time.
        Written 17 March 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Hello Marc, we really appreciate your feedback and we really sorry that we didn't met your expectations. But unfortunately it looks like it was not our company who offered you this tour that day, is like you wrote review in a wrong company page because... 1. All our vehicles have good air conditioning 2. That date we have group of 10people so why only you complained or you woke up from wrong side of the bed that date? 3. Clement is one the best tourist guide in Johannesburg so am surprises how you said is repeated himself. 4. Apartheid museum is self guided tour and we do normally explained to all our clients when we arrive there before we allow you to go inside. 5. You talked about walking tour because this tour is a bus tour not walking tour , all this showed to me that you didn't use our company you just wrote your bad review to our page. Please check the company that you use and delete your review from our page.
        Written 23 March 2023
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Mikeey23
        69 contributions
        3.0 of 5 bubbles
        Nov 2023 • Couples
        We had a very disappointing experience. We researched on Friday and settled on a Monday half day tour. The guide texted 10 minutes before the start of the tour confirming that we knew that the Apartheit musuem was closed. This is despite the company confirming the tour the day before yet not mentioning this at the time of booking and the listing not being clear enough (putting it in title, mentioning it earlier etc). We did get a refund and booked elsewhere but left a bad taste
        Written 5 February 2024
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        jacqui M
        1 contribution
        3.0 of 5 bubbles
        The driver was excellent in terms of getting everyone around in a timely manner and making sure we knew what was what . A lot of history is given when Clement drove us round but it got quite repetitive … it also wasn’t very clear that we weren’t going into Hector Peterson museum which we really wanted to do so we were disappointed . I feel it should have been clearer that we would only be visiting the outside memorial
        Written 22 February 2024
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        YOU BOOKED FOR HALF DAY TOUR BUT YOU WANT US TO OFFER YOU FULL DAY TOUR. Hello Jacquie, thank you very much for your feedback, it is unfortunately our best didn't met your needs. You booked for half guided day tour of Soweto and Apartheid museum which is 4 to 5hours. Our itinerary says, Apartheid museum, Orlando west in Soweto, Vilakazi street in Soweto, Nelson Mandela house in Soweto and Hector Peterson memory place in Soweto. We offered you all what we listed on our page in viator and tripadvisor, after the tour you send a message and telling us what was not listed on our page and your were complaining about Hector Peterson museum. You booked for half day tour but you want us to offer you full day tour. We picked you up from your hotel 9:30am and we dropped you off back to your hotel around 3:30pm. We only offer Hector Peterson museum when you book for full day Soweto tour because is same information inside Apartheid museum and Hector Peterson museum.
        Written 22 February 2024
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Venture660134
        1 contribution
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Feb 2021
        This was a great orientation tour of Soweto and Johannesburg in general. The guide, Solly who also is the owner was very knowledgeable and passionate about the work he does - as it is important for persons who go to Johannesburg to understand and immerse. I will definitely be booking another tour with Solly when I return to the area.
        Written 8 March 2021
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        Lise D
        5 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Dec 2023 • Solo
        The guide who picked us up was very good. He gave many details on what life in the area was like for locals historically and now. He gave a lot of context, which made it easy to follow and engage with the tour. There was ample time at each destination. I was able to go through the Apartheid Museum in full. Transportation was comfortable, safe, and timely.
        Written 14 December 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        Showing results 1-10 of 39

        Half Guided Day Tour of Soweto And Apartheid Museum provided by Phillipians 4 Four

        All Johannesburg HotelsJohannesburg Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Johannesburg
        All things to do in Johannesburg
        Day Trips in Johannesburg
        RestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire