We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
La Fortuna de San Carlos
Post
Inbox
Search
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Full-Day Rio Celeste Tour From La Fortuna

Save
Share
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$85,00
Date
2 travellers
Overview
Itinerary
+
You'll start at
Calle 468
Or, you can also get picked up
See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Rio Celeste
    Stop: 4 hours - Admission included
    You'll then engage in a 4-hour hike that is a bit tough for some but the end result is definitely worth it. After your 4-hour hike you'll get to the Rio Celeste (Blue River). The blue color you'll see is the result of a chemical reaction between two merging rivers containing different volcanic minerals. It's a very rare phenomenon which creates a fairy-tale-like beauty. You'll get to see a waterfall, a lookout point that's great for taking pictures and you'll also get to see the place where the river changes colors.
    Read more
You'll return to the starting point
Highlights
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Calle 468, Provincia de Alajuela, La Fortuna, Costa Rica

    Traveler pickup is offered
    Pick up is included in La Fortuna area please contact us for have a exact pick up time
    Departure Time
    8:00 AM
    Duration
    8h
    Return Details
    Returns to original departure point
    Inclusions
    • Lunch in local restaurant
    • Professional guide
    • Pickup and drop-off from hotels in La Fortuna area
    • Entry/Admission - Rio Celeste
    Exclusions
    • Dinner
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • Vegetarian option is available
    • 4-hour medium-tough hike is involved
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    24Reviews7Q&A
    Traveller rating
    • 8
    • 1
    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    Selected filters
    • Filter
    • English
    Popular mentions
    +1
    Red Lava did a horrible job of organizing this day hike. Pickup was supposed to be at 7:10. After I called them at 7:30 they advised pickup was now going to be at 8:20. We were then picked up in an employees personal car and then met up with another passenger who said she’d been
    Read more
    Response from RedLavaTsc, Owner at Full-Day Rio Celeste Tour From La Fortuna
    Responded 21 Feb 2019
    The pick up was going to be later then originally mentioned and we called the hotel the night before so they could let you know. It appears they didn´t pass the massage. As you know there was a truck blocking the road not far from your hotel. The driver had to hike up to and then walk with you to the car. This caused additional delay. We don´t charge extra (like most companies do) for pick ups at the remote hotel you where staying at. To make it somewhat cost effective we send a car while our minibus does the pick up in the other hotels. Although we try our hardest to make the logistics smooth there are times things don't work out as planned. We regret that this caused a bad start of your trip. The thing that worries me most is the behavior of the guide. There was no need for him to rush the hike and I apologize that he made you feel like a burden. This guide came highly recommended to us and got a great response the first couple of weeks. At a certain moment we noticed a decline in work quality and we got several complaints. We no longer work with him because after a first correctional conversation he did not improve. I expect you recognize from personal/professional experience that people can start out very good and show a different face when the honeymoon weeks are over. ps. I will look into the lunch/water situation. There should always be plenty free water,
    Read more
    Just had this tour on Dec 10, 2018. Rio Celeste was one of the most amazing things I have ever seen. It was raining a little bit, but I could still see the light blue color water. Our tour guide, Marcos, was awesome! He is very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. They
    Read more
    +1
    Booked online & unfortunately they were over an hour late to collect me with no communication which caused a lot of stress. My hotel called them after 15mins, to be promised they would be there in 10 mins - but it took an hour. My hotel receptionist said that this was common
    Read more
    Response from RedLavaTsc, Owner at Full-Day Rio Celeste Tour From La Fortuna
    Responded 02 Dec 2018
    Hi Sunnylady, Again sorry for the late pickup. As I explained in the personal email I send you it was a mistake I made*. When we corresponded it was at night for me and the next day I didn´t process correctly what we agreed on. Besides the obvious apology I also asked if the effort we made: a private car, driver and guide, was to your satisfaction and if you felt that we had made up enough for the discomfort. Since I got no response I am now kind of surprised that you prefer this way of expressing yourself over the option of direct interaction. The fact that your hotel talks badly over us is not surprising. The hotel offers (over-priced) tours as well and we are in competition. When a person does not book with them they have no problem in smearing that company. I hear stuff about that hotel as well but I try to show the decency to let them handle it themselves. Glad you did like the activity and luckily it is easy for any reader to see that the tours we operate bring a lot of enjoyment to many people. *Just a short reflection. In this 24hour economy and interaction via whats-app, email, live-chat ect. one extends his availability to almost 100% (especially in tourism where you communicate with people in different time zones). I have to secure that things I agree on far outside standard office hours get the same quality follow up as the ones I handle during office hours. It´s 2018 reality of which I hope only this mistake is the result.
    Read more
    Great tour and tour guide, Jonathan was super friendly and very knowledgeable of plans and animals. If you can you should ask to have him as your guide. He is the best!
    Read more
    +1
    We booked two excursions through Red Lava: the 6hr Arenal Volcano Hike and the Rio Celeste Hike. My friend and I were fortunate enough to be the only two people on both tours, likely due to it being the end of summer and not many tourists were traveling in the city. Our guide
    Read more
    Previous
    12
    About the operator
    By: Red Lava Tourist Service Center
    806 reviews
    Certificate of Excellence
    kcrawford64
    Annapolis, Maryland
    30
    WOW.
    I was a part of a large group that did a full day tour with Eric and Santiago; it was absolutely amazing! They
    Read more
    tbstjn
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    31
    Excellent is an understatement- Eric is the best guide ever!
    I strongly recommend this tour! Eric, who is the guide, makes the tour really fun and you learn a lot with his
    Read more
    Lisa L
    Franklin, Minnesota
    5410
    Excellent variety of activities and our guide, Max, was awesome!
    Our tour started with a trip to the waterfall. We went up the mountain via a cart and then started our waterfall
    Read more
    LucasSteer
    60
    Fun and valuable way to spend a day in La Fortuna/Arenal
    The day started a little bit late - we waited at the offices for roughly 15-20 minutes first thing in the morning.
    Read more
    Azzertheman
    10
    Nice guys but average sites
    Competent guides creating a nice vibe. However the sites were very average. The hot springs felt more like a
    Read more
    AnkeR18
    20
    Fun Times!!!
    We had such a great time. The hikes were awesome and the guides stopped, showing and explaining us the little
    Read more
    carlyc926
    Denver, Colorado
    10
    Incredible experience! Red Lava is the best!
    We had an amazing time on this tour. Our pick-up was right on-time and the staff was super professional and
    Read more
    T5412WYcraigb
    30
    Great Experience
    I had a great time on this hike. The tour guide was very nice and knowledgeable. He showed us a lot of different
    Read more
    X2953LMjonb
    Baltimore, Maryland
    30
    Incredible Day
    This tour had 4 parts; the waterfall, the volcano & nature hike, the native experience and thermal springs. We
    Read more
    CathieO559
    Worcestershire, United Kingdom
    8864
    Helpful people offering excellent tours
    There are many tour operators based in La Fortuna. We chose Red Lava because the company was recommended in our
    Read more
    lumbertubsjhb
    10
    Great guides/Amazing trips
    We booked three separate activities through Red Lava and each was excellently organised with charming and helpful
    Read more
    Sean C
    Illinois
    6028
    Vigorous hike but completely worth it!
    Our family of 5 (kids were 8, 12, and 14) did the full-day tour at the end of December 2019. First, the first
    Read more
    lisaY7685SJ
    Westfield, New Jersey
    50
    Great introduction to top attractions!
    A wonderful day spent with a small group. We were picked up from our hotel at Volcano Gold outside La Fortuna.
    Read more
    BackPacker811737
    10
    Excellent way to spend the day!
    I had a really good experience with this company and our guide. I had wanted a solid day of volcano exploration
    Read more
    Blbdvm
    20
    Arsenal Tour
    Max did a great job. Coffee break was very nice with homemade bread and simple cup of delicious coffee. Hot
    Read more
    Key Details
    • Duration: 8h
    • Mobile Ticket Accepted
    • Instant confirmation
    • Languages Offered: English, Spanish
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Reserve Now & Pay Later
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071