Victoria Falls Tours
Dinner Cruise on the Zambezi River
5

Dinner Cruise on the Zambezi River

By Pure Africa
Recommended by 93% of travellers
93% of reviewers gave this product a bubble rating of 4 or higher.
About
This Zambezi River sunset cruise combines a sunset safari with a romantic dinner on the water. Views of animals wading in the river at sunset pair with fresh Zambezi-style cuisine and unlimited drinks—perfect for winding down and beginning your evening in luxury. A limited number of tables makes for more intimate dinner parties and better viewing opportunities from the open-sided boat.
from
R 1 736,31
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-85, max of 50 per group
Duration: 3h
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More

Highlights
  • Zambezi River sunset cruise and wildlife safari
  • Catch sight of wildlife like elephants, hippos, and more
  • Gourmet-quality dinner of local dishes and unlimited drinks 
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off from Victoria Falls included

  • Beverages
  • Bottled water
  • Four Course Dinner on the River
  • Complimentary Transfers to/from Hotel/Lodge in Victoria Falls Zimbabwe Only.
  • Unlimited drinks (open bar)
What's not included
  • USD 10 per person national park fees payable direct at check in.
  • Transfers from Livingstone Hotels/Lodges from Zambian Side

Your evening begins with pickup from your Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe hotel. After a short drive, arrive at the boat put-in to begin your Zimbabwe Falls dinner cruise. Choose your seat at one of a limited number of tables. Candles and flowers set the scene for gourmet Zambezi-style cuisine, freshly prepared by an onboard chef. Enjoy sunset views from the open-sided boat while you dine, and keep your camera close by to capture the incredible views. This tour doubles as a Zambezi River safari with opportunities to sight animals like hippos, elephants, and crocodiles. Once the sun fully sets, your tour concludes with hotel drop-off.

Start:Multiple pickup locations offered.
    Pickup details
    • Complimentary pick up is only offered for guests staying in Victoria Falls Town’s Lodges/Hotels Zimbabwe within 5km radius. We do not pick guests staying in Livingstone Hotels Zambia.
    Hotel pickup offered
    During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included hotels.
      End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

        • Wheelchair accessible
        • Service animals allowed
        If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 13819P2

        • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
        • NOTE regarding accessibility: While it is possible to get onto the boat in a wheelchair, please note that the toilet on the boat does not allow enough space for a wheelchair.
        • Most travellers can participate
        • Hotel pickup and drop-off is included from Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe based hotels/lodges only
        • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
        • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
        • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travellers

        • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

        If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 13819P2

        Reserve your spot

        Similar experiences

        Itinerary
        • Pass by
          Victoria Falls
          Zambezi National Park
        About the operator
        Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
        • Pure Africa
          717
          Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
          Joined in June 2013
        • Rileyjr
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Sunset River Cruise Was The Best
          We booked our sunset cruise through Shearwater Adventures. They picked us up at the hotel and took us to the boat. They had complementary soft drinks and a tasty snack. We saw hippos and crocodiles - they were amazing! The sunset topped it all off! So glad we went.
          Written 16 July 2024
        • ClaireG003
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Recommend highly - so good, I went back again the next night! Extremely professional 5* service.
          Great experience out on the water. Staff couldn’t do enough for you. Great quality food and unlimited drinks. Boat was quiet so as not to disturb the animals and as a result we saw loads. The sunset was just jaw dropping. Highly recommend.
          Written 15 July 2024
        • SnarlysTravels
          0 contributions
          4.0 of 5 bubbles
          Zambezi Sunset Cruise Signature Deck
          We had a great experience aboard the Pure Africa sunset cruise on the Signature Deck. The Signature Deck itself was beautifully arranged, offering a perfect blend of comfort and luxury. The atmosphere was relaxed yet elegant, with plenty of space for everyone to enjoy uninterrupted views of the Zambezi River. The highlight was witnessing the sunset and the perfect photo opportunities. There was a selection of delicious snacks, although the service for drinks was a little slow. Overall, the Pure Africa sunset cruise on the Signature Deck is a great was to enjoy the beautiful sunset over the Zambezi.
          Written 8 July 2024
        • Jmtgsm
          0 contributions
          1.0 of 5 bubbles
          Bad experience
          They offer a great selection of african dishes but fixed menu was: .- Appetizers: Cream of vegetables or salad. .- Mains: Rib eye, fish or pasta. We choose rib eye (filet of less than 150 gr. of weight) .- Dessert: small piece of cake. Price doesn´t include drinks and is very expensive for the zone. As it was night no views at all. I also booked transportation from, and to my hotel. Driver picked up us 45 five minutes later than agreed. Up to now no apologies. Not recommended
          Written 20 June 2024
        • 965KarenR
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Well worth a visit
          Very good excursion. Promptly collected from our hotel (Ilala Lodge) for the short drive to the Zambezi. Knowledge and talkative Captain and assistant on our small (max 16) vessel. Drinks and nibbles provided throughout. We cruised to river to search for wildlife - one elephant, many hippos and Nile crocodiles, plenty of birds. Information about these was given constantly. The sunset was beautiful. If you are fortunate enough to visit Victoria Falls then I highly recommend this to you.
          Written 18 June 2024
        • Jerrisgone
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Elegant and lovely
          What an elegant way to end our trip through the Botswana bush. Our pontoon boat was lovely, as were our Captain, server, and chef. It was just two girlfriends and everything was so elegant and lovely cruising the river for two hours having lunch. Highly recommended!
          Written 4 June 2024
        • Prashant B
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Great sunset cruise experience
          Well organized cruise.. got good sunset views. Very good food too. Friendly staff. Got a chance to see Hippos , elephants, crocodiles during the cruise.
          Written 25 May 2024
        • 988neile
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Sunset and wildlife
          Relaxing trip with great food and drinks whilst watching the wildlife on and around the river as the sun sets. The crew are attentive and helpful and the boat itself is comfortable and well maintained. There was a lovely serenade from the staff at the end.
          Written 20 May 2024
        • Choe-MJ
          0 contributions
          4.0 of 5 bubbles
          Delicious meal just not enough.
          Pure Africa 4 course meal was really nice and delicious but the portions were a bit small. I booked directly with a tour company and I paid $95 dollars each including park fees. The staff was wonderful and drinks were included but small portions especially the main course was disappointing. I had the fish and they gave me one filet of thin fish with a small side. The sunset on the Zambezi River was nice and we saw some hippos bathing in water. I hope pure Africa makes some adjustments based on this review
          Written 5 May 2024
        • Lvn4vacation
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          What a wonderful experience!
          We have been traveling through Africa on a budget but splurged on the Signature Deck for the Zambezi Sunset Cruise and the dinner afterwards. Fortunately we had walked about ten miles that day so we were prepared to eat! And eat we did. First of all, the Pure Africa boat was so much nicer and more comfortable than any other out there on the water. In addition to the deck chairs and tables under the sun, there were couches and stuffed chairs in the shade. Everyone had a little section that afforded comfort and privacy. We saw lots of hippos and zebra and gazelles at the end. The appetizers and drinks were great as well as the staff on the boat! Then, we sat under the stars and enjoyed a wonderful potjie dinner. The flavors were amazing and the food was plentiful! It was a multi course meal with soup and dessert. We loved it all and would definitely recommend!
          Written 25 April 2024
        • Happy1955Traveller
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          A must do!
          Fabulous evening, a must do! Great food, free flowing drink and really friendly staff. Very relaxing with stunning views and atmosphere.
          Written 26 March 2024
        • Loretta C
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          The beautiful Zambezi river
          We thoroughly enjoyed the Zambezi river sunset cruise. The views were beautiful, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The boat was lovely and canapés of a high standard. Dinner was on land on the river front. Our 3 course dinner was delicious and the staff were lovely. We would highly recommend this activity to anyone interested in doing a river cruise with dinner.
          Written 22 March 2024
        • D4556DCnataliec
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          So worth it!!
          Absolutely amazing. Had the best time; the drinks and food were up to par and the views were immaculate. Would go over and over again.
          Written 4 March 2024
        • I9549WPraym
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Incredible
          I loved the staff performance in making us have the best time during the cruise they really went above and beyond for us all !! . Do it !
          Written 2 January 2024
        • eugenemE8505SV
          0 contributions
          5.0 of 5 bubbles
          Brilliant experience.
          The cruise was brilliant, staff and food served exceeded my expectations. Definitely recommend this cruise on your Victoria Falls holiday.
          Written 26 December 2023
        See all 717 reviews
        These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

        Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

        Popular mentions

        5.0
        5.0 of 5 bubbles239 reviews
        Excellent
        207
        Very good
        17
        Average
        9
        Poor
        5
        Terrible
        1

        Portpad Traveller
        Melbourne, Australia158 contributions
        2.0 of 5 bubbles
        Apr 2024 • Couples
        Our agent recommended a dinner cruise on Zambezi Reflections, so we accepted their advice. We wish we hadn’t.

        For US$240 we had a very short cruise along the river until sunset whilst seeing a small number of hippos and one small croc. We then enjoyed watching the beautiful sunset.

        For the next 2.5 hrs though, we cruised for what seemed like only a short distance before sitting in the same place near the dock for a very long time. We could not tell for sure because it was pitch black and there was nothing to see. It was boring as batsh…….

        It was quite cold on the open deck with the breeze, once the sun set. We hadn’t realised this would be the case, so we had not brought warm clothing, and we just had to put up with it.

        The food was fine but the service was extremely slow. People near us had finished their main meals by the time we received ours.

        There was a repetitive group singalong by the staff at the end of the night was showed off some amazing voices.

        It really was a waste of time and (a lot of) money for what we experienced.

        A better option may have been to do just a river cruise during daylight hours.
        Written 4 June 2024
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Thank you so much for the valued feedback. Our sincere apologies that we could not meet your expectations on this experience. It seems your agent did not disclose full details about this experience. We are also not sure why you paid $240 as it seems you may have been overcharged as well. Our Dinner Cruise depart slightly later than a Sunset Cruise as such you have about an hour in daylight until sunset to enable us to cater for the Dinner which will finish at 8pm. We understand if this wasn't ideal and the weather was also not on our side as we are currently in winter, and it can be chilly in the river. Please accept our apologies for this and if you do not mind sharing with us your agent details on resvf@pure.africa as this will help us to educate them about our products and in turn help them to book appropriate experiences.
        Written 18 June 2024
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Compass819723
        69 contributions
        3.0 of 5 bubbles
        Jul 2022 • Friends
        The staff were amazing. Lyn our waitress was attentive and sweet. And our captain and bartender were fantastic. Definitely room for improvement but this needs to come from the owner's side. Chipped glasses that us as guests had to drink out of, cracked plates and bowls. These dinner cruises are not cheap to attend and as this was supposed to be considered a premium cruise, we weren't impressed! The cheapest brands of wines, gins and vodkas are made available, no option of different tonics or fruit additions... Just the standard! Canapés were minimal. Food was delicious but again credit to the fantastic staff who keep this cruise going. Overall a good experience but owner needs to invest a little more to give clients the 'premium' cruise that is advertised
        Written 27 July 2022
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Dear Compass819723 Thank you for the valued feedback. We're glad to hear that you were well taken care of by our team on the boat, enjoyed the food and the cruise overall. We're sorry to hear though, that not all your expectations were met. We have since done a full quality check on all our crockery and glassware as opposed to waiting for our scheduled inspection. We have identified a few pieces with chipped corners and removed them from the stock. In addition, due to the pick-up in tourism numbers we have decided to carry out the scheduled inspections more often from now on to avoid any such situations in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. When it comes to the drinks, it is true that we carry a slightly smaller range of drinks on the Dinner Cruises than on our Sunset Cruises as there is more of a focus on the food than drinks on this experience. However, we will relook at our drinks offering on the Dinner Cruises to evaluate whether the range should be extended. We would like to point out though, that we do not carry our premium range of drinks on the Dinner Cruise and don't advertise as such. It would not be feasible to do so. For guests who enjoy premium drinks, we usually recommend booking The Eatery Dinner & Signature Sunset Cruise as our premium range is available throughout. Although, we can of course understand your disappointment if you came with the expectation to be served premium beverages. If that was the case, then the experience must have been wrongly sold to you and it would be very valuable for us to know who sold it to you so that we can retrain them to ensure that what is sold is in line with what we advertise and deliver. On the wines, we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy them. We serve our own range of Pure Africa house wines from South Africa that our owners select regularly. To date, we have only received compliments from guests, but we accept that tastes differ and that it is potentially not to everyone's liking. We do carry a selection of other wines on the boats that can be purchased. We hope that this response is helpful to you and we'd like to thank you again for taking the time to share the feedback.
        Written 3 August 2022
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Saar G
        Tel Aviv, Israel110 contributions
        4.0 of 5 bubbles
        Father and son trip, but for couples it was very romantic. Pick up, cruise, and drop off were exactly as expected and very efficient. The crew was lovely and very friendly. It was an all inclusive so except for a tip to the staff, there were no surprise costs. The food was very tasty, although portions were a bit on the small side. Open bar and seating was on two levels. We did come across elephants, many hippos, a family of giraffes and lots of birds and the animals of course were the highlight. Unfortunately we had a cloudy day which took away some potential for the sunset views and starry night views so definitely recommend on a cloud free night if possible.
        I only have two suggestions for improvement:
        1. Coffee/tea could be served with the dessert
        2. I would have liked a bit more explanation from the captain in the first 30 minutes about what we were seeing, a bit of history of the river and area.

        Highly recommended.
        Written 2 November 2022
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Thank you so much for the valued detailed review. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us. We will definitely take into consideration the much-valued recommendations.
        Written 30 January 2023
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Maglo
        Copenhagen, Denmark58 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Highly recommendable tour! The food was good and the service was excellent. You get a 4 course dinner with all inclusive wine an drinks. They pick you up at your hotel. On the way down the river we saw lots of hipos, crocs, elefants and monkeys plus cudos. We also saw buffalos on our way back with the driver. This is very a cheap Safari and on the top of that the crew sang african songs before we left the ship.
        Written 13 January 2024
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        We are glad you an excellent time with us Mage. Thank you so much for the great review and recommendation.
        Written 15 January 2024
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        SweetestOrange
        Farivew, Texas61 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Feb 2023
        Since many people just see the beginning of the review, I will start by advising all USA travelers to bring with them many dollar bills and five-dollar bills for tipping. The currency used in Zimbabwe is US dollars. My only regret with this dinner cruise that I had not brought much change. I was not thinking of tipping but his crew certainly deserved tips! At the end, a basket was passed around and it was apparent that the staff was really counting on the tips and I felt so badly that I had not thought of this. This cruise was really pleasant! The staff was friendly and attentive. Several times the captain came downstairs to explain things and he was very good about pointing out the wildlife. The food was gourmet! I was amazed that such a meal could be prepared in the very tiny kitchen at the front of the boat. I highly recommend this dinner cruise.
        Written 12 February 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        SailDragonfly
        Upholland, UK11 contributions
        3.0 of 5 bubbles
        Feb 2020
        Everyone was very friendly and obviously trying hard to do all the right things. The drinks were readily available and the descriptions of the animals and stories were thorough and nice. However, the food was sub-par for the price. We stayed a long way from any wildlife so we had little or no opportunity to appreciate any of them.

        They put nice romantic candles on the table, but there was a lot of chitter chatter by the cooks and staff at the back of the boat the entire time. It was loud and distracting. They were obviously having a good time, which I'm happy for them. But it was not appropriate for the atmosphere we were expecting.
        Written 11 February 2020
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

        Felix G
        2 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Jun 2022
        Best cruise, excellent staff and the Food OMG it was out of this world. The entertainment was refreshing the drinks and the crew were very respectful. I do not hesitate to recommend anyone who would want to use them well done Zambezi reflection
        Written 28 December 2022
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Thank you for the amazing review and recommendation Felix. we are glad you enjoyed your time with us on the river.
        Written 31 January 2023
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Maureen E
        Mechanicsville, VA7 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Jul 2023
        The Pure Africa dinner cruise was worth every penny! It started with unlimited drinks, an amazing 4 course dinner and wonderful service. This ended our trip in Africa and it was the perfect way to spend it on the river. The captain took the time to find the hippos and stopped to make sure everyone could see them! If you want the exclamation point to your trip, take this dinner cruise!
        Written 28 July 2023
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Thank you so much for the beautiful review and recommendation Mbepsu, we are glad to have given you a perfect ending to your Africa Trip.
        Written 4 August 2023
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Susan Mildenhall
        7 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        May 2022
        Lovely boat, great food, and great wine. All the staff were attentive and couldn't do more to look after us. We took some great photos of wildlife - hippos were amazing - and the sunset was spectacular. Thanks for a wonderful evening. Susan
        Written 6 June 2022
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Thank you Susan for the great review and we are so glad you enjoyed your entire experience with us.
        Written 7 June 2022
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Gary P
        Royston, UK58 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Mar 2024 • Friends
        This is a real must for everyone. What’s not to enjoy about a sunset dinner along one of the greatest rivers in the world.

        Transport included to a very comfortable boat where you are greeted with cocktails on the upper deck, along with nibbles and more drinks.

        The meal is served on the lower deck and is excellently prepared by the onboard chef. Good quality food with choices. All this as you meander along the Zambezi with the sun setting and the wildlife all around.

        A great evening with excellent service.
        Written 14 March 2024
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Thank you for the great and detailed review Gary. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us.
        Written 15 April 2024
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

        Showing results 1-10 of 210

        Dinner Cruise on the Zambezi River provided by Pure Africa

        All Victoria Falls HotelsVictoria Falls Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Victoria Falls
        All things to do in Victoria Falls
        Day Trips in Victoria FallsZoos & Aquariums in Victoria Falls
        RestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire