We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Likely To Sell Out
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$115,49
Date
2 travellers
Options
Overview
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Our Shark Vessel "Kainani" departs Haleiwa Small Boat Harbor on Oahu's North Shore daily. We motor out to International waters, 3 miles off shore to the shark grounds. For the next hour and a half we share the excitement and our knowledge of the sharks of the famous North Shore.

    Upon arrival to the shark grounds the first guests get in the cage. The water here is over 600 feet deep and crystal clear. The view is incredible. Just getting in is a bit of a thrill. Once in the cage, the big Poly Glass windows are nearly transparent, so when that 10 foot long Galapagos shark presses his nose against the glass, it looks like he is coming right on in. Not to worry though, he’s not getting in. In fact, press your nose against the glass, and you will be just one quarter of an inch away from the business end of one big shark!

    In addition to the Galapagos sharks, Sandbar sharks are our other common visitors. Both of these sharks are very curious, completely unafraid and come very close to the shark cage. Sometimes we see as many as 30!

    There is absolutely no diving experience required for this veritable shark diving fest.But just because everyone can do it, doesn’t mean the experienced diver will be bored. Far from it! From underwater pros to people who have never even been in the ocean, our adventure is for everyone!

    Many of the major networks such as Animal Planet, Discovery Channel, and National Geographic have all featured your local tour operator in their programming. We have a proud reputation to help educate people worldwide about sharks.

    Once the shark viewing has been completed, enjoy your boat ride back to Haleiwa. You may choose to self drive or will be taken home by transportation, based upon the tour option that you select at the time of checkout.
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Haleiwa Small Boat Harbor
    Duration
    2h
    Inclusions
    • Expert crew
    • Use of Snorkelling equipment
    • Local taxes
    Exclusions
    • Food and drinks
    • Gratuities
    • Towels, swimwear, suntan lotion
    • Hotel pickup and drop-off
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Minimum age 5yr old
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    Cancellation Policy
    If you cancel at least 3 days in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee. If you cancel within 2 days of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee.
    321Reviews13Q&A
    Traveller rating
    • 259
    • 37
    • 7
    • 4
    • 5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    Selected filters
    • Filter
    • English
    Popular mentions
    Our family was so excited about this diving experience and we were not disappointed. What an amazing experience and the captain made our trip better relating his knowledge about the sharks, whales and ocean.
    Read more
    If North Shore waves are to big everything is cancelled. This happen to us twice. I will say the notified us early on the first day. The second day we called before we left but the time we got close they called and canceled again. Since we were there we knew how bad the waves
    Read more
    Response from shark96712, General Manager at Shark Cage Diving In Oahu
    Responded 3 days ago
    we're sorry the weather was not in your favor, that not quite fair is it?? To make it right we'd like to offer you a 15% discount next time you're out here to come take our tour and receive the amazing experience that thousands of our 5 star guest have received. See you soon. Aloha!
    Read more
    This was definitely the highlight of our trip! The crew was great and the experience was unforgettable.
    Read more
    There is no way to describe the magic of this experience- never have I seen water this color blue, nor have I dreamed of getting this close to sharks. Chris and Thoma guided my family into this adventure with a lot of education and instructions. We felt safe and in good hands at
    Read more
    Weathered was bad so trip was canceled. When we arrived a sign was posted that the day we were going was canceled and the day before was too. We would have a appreciated a text or call telling us of canceling. When we contacted them for refund info they referred us to trip
    Read more
    Response from shark96712, General Manager at Shark Cage Diving In Oahu
    Responded 3 weeks ago
    636, thanks for your review. this is a perfect example of how booking with third parties is not the way to go. had you booked with us directly you would have received a text and an email immediately the call was made to cancel due to weather. However, being that we don't have any of your contact information you were left in the dark. Hopefully anyone reading this will take th elesson that booking directly is the best way to receive the 5 star customer service that all or our guests deserve. As far as refunding you, you get fund back from where you paid them, correct? That would be trip advisor in your case. If you had booked directly then none of this would have been an issue. We would greatly appreciate you writing a complaint to Trip advisor and requesting that they share contact information as to avoid all of these hassles you encountered. In any case we hope to see you again next time you are here. Tip of he day: Book directly get 5star service.
    Read more
    Previous
    About the operator
    By: Hawaii Shark Encounters
    1 852 reviews
    Certificate of Excellence
    18AndrewT
    Maryborough, Australia
    9743
    An Experience of a Lifetime
    I talked my wife into doing the Shark-Cage dive with me and she hasn’t stopped talking about how great it was! We
    Read more
    christinerL7453LC
    20
    Great Experience
    Our family was so excited about this diving experience and we were not disappointed. What an amazing experience
    Read more
    COWBOY10101
    Mountain Home, Idaho
    259
    Cancelled
    If North Shore waves are to big everything is cancelled. This happen to us twice. I will say the notified us early
    Read more
    288christinak
    163
    Amazing Experience!
    This was definitely the highlight of our trip! The crew was great and the experience was unforgettable.
    Read more
    1HarmD
    10
    Will Definitely Be Back!
    Went on the 7am tour a few days after Christmas. We went out to the spot where the shark dive takes place but were
    Read more
    Yoyo0327
    Boston, Massachusetts
    21
    Excellent experience and Lucky to see the Tiger Sharks
    We went to the tour on the last day of 2019 with my husband, 55 years old mom, and cousin. We all enjoyed it
    Read more
    alisahilliard
    Warrenton, Virginia
    10
    Great time
    My 12 year old daughter loved it!!! She still telling her friends about it. My daughter in-law loved it as well.
    Read more
    ALV1026
    Mount Pleasant, Michigan
    10
    Cancellation
    Our adventure was canceled due to winds. Flew 9000 mi to swim with sharks and they canceled, reimbursed me, but
    Read more
    krisrempe
    21
    Great experience!
    Knowledgeable crew who did a lot of teaching too! Very friendly, helpful, took pics of us. Overall a great
    Read more
    Amy C
    10
    Shark Cage Snorkeling
    We had a great time with Hawaii Shark Encounters. The operation is very efficient and we had a great time looking
    Read more
    JudithGER
    20
    Awesome first diving experience!
    Not only the friendly and interesting conversation before the dive, as I was so nervous before that but also the
    Read more
    Ohyea O
    Cleveland, Tennessee
    112
    #sharkcool
    If you can only do one thing while in Hawaii, this should be the tour! We did at least six different major vaca
    Read more
    Kirsten S
    145
    Shark dive
    Awesome adventure! We were lucky enough to see a tiger shark. It was super easy to get in and out of the “cage.”
    Read more
    smulcahy2020
    Edmonton, Canada
    10
    Great shark encounter!
    Great shark encounter! The Shark Team was organized, very friendly and knowledgeable. We were thrilled to have
    Read more
    253martac
    Los Angeles, California
    22
    Outstanding! Highly recommend
    There is no way to describe the magic of this experience- never have I seen water this color blue, nor have I
    Read more
    Key Details
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 3 days in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071
    Travellers Also Viewed
    Likely To Sell Out
    Oahu Shark Dive
    926 Reviews
    from US$103,53*
    Likely To Sell Out
    Pelagic Shark Dive Tour
    63 Reviews
    from US$150,00*
    Likely To Sell Out
    Swim with Sharks (cage-free)
    23 Reviews
    from US$150,00*
    Likely To Sell Out
    Oahu Snorkel Cruise: Swim with...
    213 Reviews
    from US$129,00*
    Frequently bought together
    Kualoa Ranch Jurassic Valley Zipline...
    110 Reviews
    from US$177,96*
    Likely To Sell Out
    Turtle Canyon Snorkel Cruise by...
    518 Reviews
    from US$101,59*
    Likely To Sell Out
    Oahu Snorkel Cruise: Swim with...
    213 Reviews
    from US$129,00*
    Paradise Cove Luau
    1 055 Reviews
    from US$112,35*
    Breathtaking 8 hour circle island...
    34 Reviews
    from US$58,00*
    Likely To Sell Out
    Oahu Shark Dive
    926 Reviews
    from US$103,53*
    Likely To Sell Out
    Pelagic Shark Dive Tour
    63 Reviews
    from US$150,00*
    Likely To Sell Out
    Swim with Sharks (cage-free)
    23 Reviews
    from US$150,00*