We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Haleakala Pre-Dawn Guided Bicycle Tour

Save
Share
Likely To Sell Out
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$155,00
Date
2 travellers
Overview
Itinerary
+
You'll start at
Maui Mountain Cruisers
381 Baldwin Ave C, Paia, HI 96779, USA
See address & details
  • 1
    Maui Mountain Cruisers
    Stop: 5 hours -
    Bike down Haleakala all downhill with amazing views....and photo stops along the way. Fleece jacket and glove are provided!
    Read more
You'll return to the starting point
Highlights
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Maui Mountain Cruisers, 381 Baldwin Ave C, Paia, HI 96779, USA
    Departure Time
    4:00 AM
    Duration
    5h
    Return Details
    Returns to original departure point
    Inclusions
    • Beverages
    • Bottled water
    • Snacks (with a no-host meal stop)
    • Local guide
    • Use of Sportswear windbreaker jacket
    • Use of helmet and chrome cruiser bike
    • Pre-Qualification Guidelines for Bike ride
    • Snacks
    Exclusions
    • Gratuities
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • Minimum age is 12 years old
    • Maximum weight approx. 280lbs.
    • Minimum height 4′ 10″
    • Due to high elevation no pregnant women are allowed on this tour, either as a biker or a van rider
    • Near public transportation
    • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    17Reviews4Q&A
    Traveller rating
    • 2
    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    • 1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    Selected filters
    • Filter
    • English
    Popular mentions
    Everything they said was a lie. We were suppose to see the sunrise and the driver told us once we were already at the top that the sun is behind us and we wouldn’t be able to see it. They also didn’t mention that we couldn’t go all the way to the top of the mountain because they
    Read more
    Response from MauiMountainCruisers, General Manager at Haleakala Pre-Dawn Guided Bicycle Tour
    Responded 4 weeks ago
    Aloha, I'm sorry you felt that way. We don't go to the top and we do not advertise that we do. There's been many changes on Haleakala due to overcrowding and now they limit how many people can go into the park for sunrise and cost about $100 more per person. I was up there with you all working another group and all I could here was your complaints and I'm sorry. The rest of the bicyclist were having a great time. The Jackets were clean because they are cleaned frequently. The gloves you were handed out were new. The bikes don't have gears because it's all downhill! AND it's not a white knuckle bike ride. We DO NOT encourage anyone to speed down the mountain as you don't want to get hurt on your Maui vacation. Mahalo
    Read more
    We signed up for the sunrise bike tour, we were told this would be through another (well reputable) company and that this specific tour would be guided the whole way and would tale us to amazing viewing for sunrise. We later discovered we were booked through a different
    Read more
    Overall, this was a fun excursion I would recommend. I'm in my 30s and the biking down was not nearly as scary as I anticipated it might be. The guide leads the group in front with the bus following in the back so you have the entire lane. There are sharp turns and you are
    Read more
    This was great the view and everything real fun downhill. I’m 13 I went with my family super safe and fun overall
    Read more
    We thoroughly enjoyed this adventure despite getting up early. We opted to drive over ourselves to the starting location versus getting picked up. Plenty of parking behind. They were extremely friendly and fun. Great time. No extreme exercise besides using your hands to ride the
    Read more
    Previous
    12
    About the operator
    By: Maui Mountain Cruisers
    301 reviews
    UtahCookieMan
    10
    Fun time on a rainy day
    We rode this with a large group of friends and here are a few things that were good and bad: 1. The time was
    Read more
    jasonrJ8801UD
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    40
    Fun not Fantastic
    Great driver/guide up. Very knowledgeable. Highly recommend NOT having a guide down. The 26 miles goes fast.
    Read more
    Kathy P
    10
    This place is a hot mess.
    From their website: Maui Mountain Cruisers is now A highlight for most visitors to Maui—if not all of Hawaii—is
    Read more
    Tour812044
    10
    Absolutely terrible.
    Everything they said was a lie. We were suppose to see the sunrise and the driver told us once we were already at
    Read more
    runningwalk
    Woodside, California
    186
    Glad to have done it
    First, safety was the top priority. Didn't take away from the fun but was much appreciated. Second, it can be cold
    Read more
    dansB6835LY
    20
    Great time!
    I reviewed Maui Sunrider’s web site and what they said about waiting until a bit later was great advice. We
    Read more
    fleiner421
    Portland, Oregon
    415
    You get what you pay for - lack of safety and park rules have changed
    Our group was 9 and arrived on time to the meet up location. We were there before the owner arrived. This meant we
    Read more
    Resort10844616072
    10
    Horrendous and frightening, no response
    I can't say this more directly- Avoid Maui Mountain Cruisers at all cost. There's not enough space to type all
    Read more
    A_Manda_Mcc92
    14
    Total Scam
    This tour was a disappointment and a complete joke. It’s advertised as driving up the mountain and biking down
    Read more
    DayTrip53694337049
    20
    Find another bike company
    If you’re looking for a sunrise tour, SKIP THIS COMPANY. They had one objective; get us to the top to see the
    Read more
    Compass26512779129
    San Diego, California
    10
    Good fun
    Nice ride and great time . Kevin was are guide and The ol veteran of the mountain, John drove us up. Good ride for
    Read more
    chelsey s
    222
    Not what we were told
    We signed up for the sunrise bike tour, we were told this would be through another (well reputable) company and
    Read more
    Coastal28810992743
    10
    An Experience
    First our trip got cancelled due to not enough people for the chosen date. The next day the driver slept in and we
    Read more
    Jodi J
    30
    Family bike down volcano
    Our family had a great experience with Kevin our guide. I have 3 teenagers and we enjoyed his personality and
    Read more
    Dick C
    21
    Misleading and extremely disappointing
    I've been to Maui 10 times in The past 25 years and this was my most disappointing experience. I spent close to
    Read more
    Key Details
    • Duration: 5h
    • Mobile Ticket Accepted
    • Instant confirmation
    Why Book on Tripadvisor?
    • Reserve Now & Pay Later
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071
    Travellers Also Viewed
    Special Offer
    Haleakala Pre-Dawn Self Paced Bicycle...
    15 Reviews
    from US$71,95*
    US$79,95
    Predawn-Morning Haleakala Bike Tour...
    10 Reviews
    from US$120,00*
    Haleakala Summit Best Self-Guided...
    29 Reviews
    from US$180,00*
    Maui Haleakala Sunrise Bike Tour with...
    98 Reviews
    from US$248,96*
    Frequently bought together
    Likely To Sell Out
    Molokini Snorkeling Adventure Aboard...
    214 Reviews
    from US$126,92*
    Likely To Sell Out
    Road to Hana Day Trip
    140 Reviews
    from US$139,99*
    Likely To Sell Out
    Te Au Moana Luau Ticket
    62 Reviews
    from US$129,17*
    Likely To Sell Out
    Haleakala Sunrise Tour with Breakfast...
    181 Reviews
    from US$185,88*
    Special Offer
    Haleakala Pre-Dawn Self Paced Bicycle...
    15 Reviews
    from US$71,95*
    US$79,95
    Likely To Sell Out
    Haleakala Express Bike Tour
    3 Reviews
    from US$79,95*
    Special Offer
    Haleakala Mid-day Bicycle Tour
    1 Review
    from US$102,00*
    US$120,00