Tours and Tickets

Guided Horse Trekking from Rotorua provided by Adventure Playground

Reserve Now & Pay Later

Guided Horse Trekking from Rotorua

Save
Share
Support this operator:Times are tough for the travel community right now. To show your support, consider leaving a review or posting photos of tours and experiences you have taken. Your support will go a long way in helping tour operators worldwide get back on their feet down the road
View all photos (45)
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$44,55
Date
2 adults
Options
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Overview
New Zealand is known for its incredible scenery, and this guided horse trekking tour is a great way to cover lots of ground, and discover remote sights that would be hard to reach on foot. Travel along winding trails, through native bush, and over farmland to expose amazing views of Mount Ngongotaha, and Lake Rotorua. Enjoy photo stops along the way, and hear fascinating commentary from a guide.
Highlights
  • Discover New Zealand’s countryside at a faster pace than a walking tour
  • Access amazing photo opportunities of Mount Ngongotaha, and Lake Rotorua
  • This guided horse trekking adventure is perfect for beginners
  • Flexible tour with the option to add on hotel pickup and drop-off
Important Information
Departure Point
451 Ngongotaha Road, Ngongotaha, Rotorua 3072, New Zealand
Duration
1h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Guide
  • Horse safari
  • Safety gear
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 6 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
82Reviews
7Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 74
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
Jamie Todd wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
Awesome experience. Highly recommended. Accommodated my family from the time we walked in to when we left.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Adventure2710, Front Office Manager at Guided Horse Trekking from Rotorua
Responded 01 Jun 2020
Thanks for your review and so glad to hear you were well looked after during your visit recently. We really appreciate you coming to Rotorua and including us in your activities. Thanks from the Team at Adventure Playground
Read more
Shaun wrote a review Mar 2020
Hamilton, New Zealand1 contribution
We were visiting Rotorua for the weekend and decided to go horse trekking. And we absolutely loved it!! Taylor was a fantastic guide who was friendly and easy to talk to! The horses were really easy to ride (I have never been on a horse before) and were gentle. The view along
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Adventure2710, Front Office Manager at Guided Horse Trekking from Rotorua
Responded 01 Jun 2020
Hi Thank you so much for coming to Rotorua and taking part in our horse trek ! So glad you enjoyed your ride and thank you for the 100% recommend ! Hope you stay safe and well and come and see us again sometime. Thank you from the Team at Adventure Playground
Read more
Jackie wrote a review Mar 2020
5 contributions
Big shot out to my horse evie, and our guide charine (sorry if I got that wrong) super knowledgeable about horses, and passionate about her job which made the experience! Also thanks to Elijah for taking up to the clay birds even though I was really really bad at aiming, good
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Adventure2710, Guest Relations Manager at Guided Horse Trekking from Rotorua
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Hey love your feedback ! Thank you so much. We will pass on your comments to both your guides after both your horse trek and your clay shooting. Hope you had a safe journey home and come and visit us again one day soon ! Thanks from the Team at Adventure Playground
Read more
Vegee wrote a review Feb 2020
5 contributions
Joined horse Trekking and Clay Shoot in group of 4 this morning. Unexpected fun. Thank you for our guide Sharena & Richard, and my horse "Buggy", he is 25-y-o. Im right handed but couldn't shoot with left eye closing, Richard helped me to close with bandage, it was really funny!
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Adventure2710, Manager at Guided Horse Trekking from Rotorua
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Hi Thanks for coming to see us for your horse / shoot combo ! Glad you had such a great time. Thank you from the Team at Adventure Playground
Read more
Tania M wrote a review Jan 2020
6 contributions
Awesome morning on the 1hr trek on Gambler and Molly. Beautiful views, comfy western saddles and a leisurely walk. Just what the doctor ordered.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Adventure2710, Manager at Guided Horse Trekking from Rotorua
Responded 05 Feb 2020
How lovely to hear your doctor organised such a therapeutic treat ! Thanks for your review and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Thanks from all the Team at Adventure Playground
Read more
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Adventure Playground
wellyburgh
00
Great fun!
Really good introduction to shooting clays at a purpose built facility. Ihaia our instructor was enthusiastic and p
Read more
Nztraveler93
00
100% do it again!!
I did this yesterday with my 5 year old. It was absolutely amazing. Zac our driver was so lovely and kind with my v
Read more
Shanki6793
00
Clayshooting
It was an amazing an experience to do the clayshooting it was first time me and my friend did it Instructor wa
Read more
753kerry
00
Great first time gun experience
All 3 of us were holding a gun for the very first time! Great experience. Thanks guys. Will certainly consider it a
Read more
nicodnz
00
Glad I did the full hour
Such a lot of fun. The buggy is great fun to drive. Amazing views and scenery. The guide was really good and I left
Read more
jamiebrear
00
Great fun filled day
A great day started with the buggy self drive. Some spectacular views over Rotorua and an amazing forest drive. W
Read more
EmmaS5741
00
What a blast
So much fun would definitely recommend first time ever shooting and loved it staff were super lovely and chatty ma
Read more
eteuatis2018
00
A W E S O M E 🔥
Being our first experience at shooting it was the best. After travelling back to Auckland thats all we spoke about.
Read more
Goodgirl143
00
Clay shooting
Today date 02/06/2020 . I went rotorua with my partner and we decided to do some adventure and went to adventurepla
Read more
donnawhittle91
00
Clay Bird Shooting
We had a fantastic time shooting, Waldo was super knowledgeable and friendly and took care of us really well even t
Read more
liaclarke
00
best ride EVER!!!!! Must do
Ihaia was our guide and was epic! No one better for this job. He did some amazing photos at the best locations we w
Read more
NMcSavage
00
Had a blast
Everyone is really nice and helpful, overall a fantastic experience. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for s
Read more
OnA-AucklandNZ
00
Great guides
We got lucky and had no other guests on our buggy tour, so we had 2 great guides and didnt have to share them. Cool
Read more
Y7700NEjimb
00
Great day out
Had a great day out with our guide Steve. Highly recommend anyone coming to Rotorua to head out here and have a bl
Read more
pyrochef95
00
Adrenaline rush with Amazing views
Found this place on Google, rocked up and with very friendly service was set and booked in for our adventure. Went
Read more
Key Details
  • Lake Rotorua, Adventure Playground
  • Duration: 1h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071

Frequently bought together

Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance
from $86.88*
Popular: Booked by 7 168 travellers!
Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland
from $21.72*
Popular: Booked by 3 345 travellers!
Hobbiton™ Movie Set 2-Hour Walking Tour from Shires Rest
from $59.48*
Popular: Booked by 5 232 travellers!
Nocturnal adventure Glow-worm tour
from $46.34*
Popular: Booked by 234 travellers!
Frequently Asked Questions about Guided Horse Trekking from Rotorua