Tours and Tickets

Guided Snowshoe Walk on Tromsoya Island in Tromso provided by Tromso Outdoor

Guided Snowshoe Walk on Tromsoya Island in Tromso

Guided Snowshoe Walk on Tromsoya Island in Tromso
4.5
Book in advance
from
R 1 431,60
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
93% of travellers recommend this experience
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Receive expert instruction for a snowshoe walk on Tromsoya island
Duration:
2h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
15
Near public transportation
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
  • Duration:
    2h
  • Taking Covid-19 safety measures
  • Group size:
    15
  • Near public transportation
  • Ticket type:
    Mobile
  • Free cancellation
About
Walking across deep snow is difficult without the right equipment. This snowshoeing tour from Tromso provides you with snowshoes and instruction so that you can experience the sensation of gliding across a true winter wonderland. Your guide takes you to the most scenic spots and provides an energizing hot drink and traditional Norwegian snack. Pickup and drop-off from the center of Tromso is included.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Highlights
  • Snowshoes and hiking poles provided
  • Pickup and drop-off from the center of Tromso included
  • Snacks and hot drinks provided
What to expect
Start the morning with pickup from the center of Tromso. Board the minibus and travel inland to the snow-covered hills of Tromsoya island for your tour. After a brief tutorial, strap on your supplied snowshoes and follow your guide across the snow. Enjoy the sensation of gliding over, rather than sinking into, the deep snow. Traverse flat terrain and up gentle hills as you pad through the countryside surrounded by tranquil forest. Make a few stops along the way to admire the scenery and savor tasty Norwegian snacks, such as lefse (cake) and a hot blackcurrant drink. Your tour concludes at your original departure point.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Snowshoes and hiking poles provided
  • Pickup and drop-off from the center of Tromso included
  • Snacks and hot drinks provided
What to expect
Start the morning with pickup from the center of Tromso. Board the minibus and travel inland to the snow-covered hills of Tromsoya island for your tour. After a brief tutorial, strap on your supplied snowshoes and follow your guide across the snow. Enjoy the sensation of gliding over, rather than sinking into, the deep snow. Traverse flat terrain and up gentle hills as you pad through the countryside surrounded by tranquil forest. Make a few stops along the way to admire the scenery and savor tasty Norwegian snacks, such as lefse (cake) and a hot blackcurrant drink. Your tour concludes at your original departure point.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 41340P4
Important information
Inclusions
  • Transport to the start and back to Tromsø city centre
  • Snowshoes and hiking poles
  • Hot drink and local sweet snack lefse
  • Local guide
  • Pick up point in central location close to most of the city hotels.
Exclusions
  • Winter clothes - but can be rented separately at Tromsø Outdor Rental Center upon prior arrangement. Come in good time before the trip starts, you will find us on Sjøgata 14, open daily 9am-5pm. Hotel pick up and drop off is not available on this tour.
Duration
2h
Departure details
  • Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromsø, Sjøgata 7, 9259 Tromsø, Norway Departure Point: Radisson Blu Hotel Reception Address: Sjøgata 7,  9008 Tromsø Directions: In front of the Radisson Blu Hotel Reception, 10 minutes before departure (9.50) Dates: Daily 1st of November* to 31st of March
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • IMPORTANT: Please advise shoe size (european) in the special requirements field at check out. If you fail to provide this information your booking may be cancelled.
  • In case we have no snow in the area alternative activity or full refund of the tour costs will be offered.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers
Inclusions
  • Transport to the start and back to Tromsø city centre
  • Snowshoes and hiking poles
  • Hot drink and local sweet snack lefse
  • Local guide
  • Pick up point in central location close to most of the city hotels.
Exclusions
  • Winter clothes - but can be rented separately at Tromsø Outdor Rental Center upon prior arrangement. Come in good time before the trip starts, you will find us on Sjøgata 14, open daily 9am-5pm. Hotel pick up and drop off is not available on this tour.
Departure details
  • Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromsø, Sjøgata 7, 9259 Tromsø, Norway Departure Point: Radisson Blu Hotel Reception Address: Sjøgata 7,  9008 Tromsø Directions: In front of the Radisson Blu Hotel Reception, 10 minutes before departure (9.50) Dates: Daily 1st of November* to 31st of March
Duration
2h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • IMPORTANT: Please advise shoe size (european) in the special requirements field at check out. If you fail to provide this information your booking may be cancelled.
  • In case we have no snow in the area alternative activity or full refund of the tour costs will be offered.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
33 reviews
Excellent
26
Very good
5
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
1

Emma C
Aylesbury, UK22 contributions
Our guide was such a lovely man, was very patient and informative. We went on an amazing walk in beautiful surroundings, and he provided us with hot blackcurrant and a delicious snack. He even cut the walk short so my two teens could do some sledging with a sledge he provided! It was great fun, thank you!!
Written 23 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

SC-Cardiff
Cardiff, UK13 contributions
Dec 2019
We booked last minute at the Tromso Outdoor shop in town and the staff were very helpful in accommodating us and making sure we had the right boots and clothing without any “hard sell”. The experience was well organised and straightforward- we went 10 minutes by minibus to a country park on a hill in Tromsoya where we were fitted with snowshoes and poles and given some very quick tuition before setting off. Thesnow was crisp and we walked up and down some gentle slopes and through birch and spruce trees. our guide, Simon, was passionate about the area and we stopped every 15 minutes or so to listen to him talk informatively about the history of Tromso, the Sami people and their traditions and the local landscape and wildlife which was interesting. The snowshoeing was easy to master and the walk not too strenuous so very family friendly and a great, fun way to spend a couple of hours.
Written 3 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø Outdoor O
Hi,thank you very much for your kind feedback.We are really happy to hear that you liked our trip.We will let Simone know that you enjoyed his guiding skills.
Written 4 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jennyhuggett
Bury, UK23 contributions
Did this trip with my mum. The two others booked on the tour failed to turn up so it was just the two of us.. perfect! Ester was our guide and she was lovely giving us some great info on the way round. The snow shoe experience was not too difficult so suits a variety of abilities. Views in the area were just amazing! Perfect way to spend a few hours
Written 17 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø Outdoor O
Thank you for the lovely review! We will pass on this information to Ester too. Hope you had a fantastic time in our beloved city.
Written 20 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

helen23456
West Yorkshire, UK14 contributions
We did the snowshoe hike with Mathias last week, and it was definitely a highlight of our trip. They offer either a walk or a hike, and the hike is a 400m climb/hike up. Straight up out of the van. Some people with us struggled so I'd say you'd need a good level of fitness to do this. And make sure you book on the right trip and they are separate ones! But the views are amazing and as it's quite remote you feel you're doing something other people wouldn't experience. The snack provided is tiny so take your own.
Written 20 February 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello helen23456, thank you very much for the positive feedback about Snowhshoe hill hike on Kvaløya. I would like to say that we also strongly recommend to all our guests to look on all three snowshoe trips we have in our offer. Hike on Kvaløya brings us out of the town to the more remote and wilder areas, and certain level of fitness is required to hike for over 3 hours. For guests who are not active in their daily life we recommend joining Snowshoe trip on Tromsøya or the Evening snowshoe trip with campfire. During this tours we stay in Tromsø and almost everybody can take part in the snowshoe walk and enjoy it. Area is not so wild but really charming and our guides do their best to share their knowledge and local experience on all our tours. Thank you for poiting that out! Regards, Kasia
Written 12 June 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

drAborige
Sao Paulo, SP90 contributions
Dec 2019
Among all the trips this was the worst experience I had. I could put as a word for this: inattention.
I booked a tour in advance to make them a snowshoe on the 26th of December. I arrived at the hotel at night and went around town. Returning before bed accidentally seeing my message box at 11pm I see a message sent at 19pm canceling the tour by a number of people. The next day I went to the store that was opening and said it was canceled and asked to come back later that would help me. That is, I spent all day walking around the city and lost my day of sightseeing. I returned 3 times and explained my problem (which would be theirs) to 3 different people. They always asked me to come back later and maybe they would put me in the group the next day, until I was willing to go by bus or taxi (I pay) to find this group and do something. I was offered several options from other tours but nothing interested me. Finally, around 6pm I returned to the store and said it would be impossible for me to go with the group. I know you have apologized a thousand and hope you will be repaid. I know you will write excuses here. But I think, after traveling in 92 countries, an unforeseen would make me a priority, maybe moving to another company, not doing nothing because two days in a distant trip going all the time to the store to get information.
This was terrible, I left Tromso without doing any tour because I was twice in dependence on this horrible company that is not worried about you.
I will return to this city yes, but I never expect attention from this company. Stay tuned!!
Written 26 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø Outdoor O
Hello drAborige, thank you for your feedback.  Firstly I wish to say that we still hope you had some nice time in Tromsø. Secondly I would like to apologize that you have experienced Tromsø Outdoor service this way. We are a small private company and we strive to always offer the best service to our customers, but we also see that there is still room for improvement.   You expect excuses from our side, but I would like to explain the situation instead one more time. According to our terms, listed on your booking confirmation, we require minimum two guests to book the tour to run activity. It happens very seldom in main season, but it did happen that you booked an excursion on a day, when we did not have any other person interested in this tour. Therefore, unfortunately, we needed to cancel this particular trip. We do it evening in advance to not hold your day and give you possibility to make other plans in case we will not get any more bookings overnight.  Our procedure in this situation is to offer another trip which is available, spot on the same tour other day, rental of the equipment with very good advice on how to enjoy the outdoors on your own and if none of these is a possible change full refund of the tour costs. We have offered you all possible solutions we had, but unfortunately none of them suit your expectations. We are really sorry that we did not manage to find a good alternative for you instead of the cancelled tour and hope that when you come to Tromsø again you would bother to pay us a visit and give us a chance to compensate for your lost time and join us snowshoeing or cycling then. 
Written 29 December 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Poornima_Th
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India18 contributions
Feb 2018 • Couples
We had an amazing day with Mathias, who was really knowledgeable about the local flora and fauna. The hike up the hill ended with a beautiful view of the fjords, a warm drink and some delicious local cakes. Totally recommend it!
Written 23 February 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello Poornima_Th, thank you very much for your positive feedback. I forward it to Mathias,so you can make his day as well. Regards, Kasia
Written 12 June 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

alicemarkes
3 contributions
Feb 2019 • Couples
There were 7 on our tour for the 2 hour snow shoeing tour. Short drive to the middle of the island, get fitted out with snowshoes and off we went. It was gentle terrain up and down, through the trees. Mauri, our guide, was funny and informative keeping everyone in good spirits. It was good to see the island from a different experience/angle. Would highly recommend as an easy morning activity.
Written 4 February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

122manfredr
Hannover, Germany18 contributions
Feb 2018 • Couples
we made a great snowshoe walk with Matthias. He gave us a lot of informations about the nature and the sami people. The walk wasn't to difficult for beginners
Written 18 February 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you very much for joining snowshoe walk with Tromsø Outdoor and your review 122manfredr. Regards, Kasia
Written 12 June 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Danielle A
6 contributions
Nov 2019
My friend and I booked the 2 hour guided snowshoe tour on Tromsoya. Pick-up and drop-off was from one of the hotels in town which was convenient. They drove us to the park where we were fitted for snowshoes and poles. The guide we had was really friendly and provided us with some information about the surrounding nature which was great. Neither of us had been snowshoeing before but we found it to be pretty easy. We thought the 2 hour tour was the perfect amount of time to get a taste of the sport. Would recommend this tour company to anyone looking for some outdoor activities in Tromso!
Written 24 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø Outdoor O
Hi there, and thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your trip with Tromsø Outdoor and that you would recommend it to others! It was a pleasure to have you along with us. Until next time :D
Written 10 December 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

atfitz
University Place, WA17 contributions
Nov 2019
We arrived in Tromso on an evening flight and our first activity the next day was a snowshoe walk. Neither of us had ever snow shoed previously and we are both in reasonably good shape but we are not fitness junkies. Our guide, Sergio, gave instructions that were easy to follow regarding use of the snowshoes and the rest was a pretty simple matter of putting one foot in front of the other. The trek was a good pace, reasonable inclines and a distance that allowed us to stretch our legs without getting exhausted. The scenery was beautiful along the way and when we reached the rest spot, the vista was spectacular! This was the perfect way to introduce ourselves to Tromso. It did not hurt that the weather was outstanding. [Side note: your booking information will refer you to an outdoor rental store for boots and clothes if you need them [snowshoes are included in your booking]. We rented a pair of boots and the price was very affordable.]
Written 24 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø Outdoor O
Hey there, thank you for your detailed review, it is a pleasure to read that our guests had a good time on their tours. We like to make sure our tours are fitting for all levels of fitness, so this is also great to hear. We will let Sergio know too!
Written 10 December 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 14
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Tromso Outdoor
ViktoriaEL2022
ViktoriaEL2022
00
Just great!
The shop has a huge sortiment and the service is really good. They take there time and explain everything to you an
grahammichael2022
grahammichael2022
00
A great resource for travellers and locals alike
One-stop shop for everything we could've needed for our winter break (Feb 2022) We rented snowshoes for two days (v
Q2324LKpennyc
Q2324LKpennyc
00
Fun experience
Great instruction from Julius and friendly to talk to. Very patient ! At least got the basics and had fun
analumaiolli
analumaiolli
00
I highly recommend it
The tour went beyond our expectations! The guide - Marcel - was super kind, easygoing and polite to teach us. We ha
Dina Z
Dina Z
00
Very useful store for clothing rental
Polite and willing to assist! Even if there is a problem with the rented clothes they will take care to fix it imm
595jo_os
595jo_os
00
Great experience for renting cross-country skis
We had a great experience while renting cross-country skis at Tromsø Outdoor. After we explained that we were tota
guysela2
guysela2
00
Winter clothing rental
Winter clothing rental Your service was excellent. At the same time, I think the inner padding and heating of the g
Sbroo93
Sbroo93
00
Clothing rental
Great service! Helpful before, delivered early to hotel Great quality clothing kept us warm in -17 Flexible to swi
arvidds
arvidds
00
Bicykle rent
I needed a bike, to go arownd the town so i chosed realy simple city bike an it was just what i needed. But there w
457leaj
457leaj
00
Best experience in Tromsø!!!
We went to the store in order to do the guided E-Bike tour which they offer. As the season is coming to an end in A
richardb169
richardb169
00
Great bicycle trip
Great bicycle trip around Tromsø! Fun with a guide. Saw a lot of Tromsø in a short time. Higly recomended.
229ernestov
229ernestov
00
One of the highlights of our trip
This was our first time skiing and we had such a great time. Sasha, the instructor, was super nice to us. He taught
Nora2505
Nora2505
00
Very good advices
Very good advices to compare snow shoe and bike options and propose a snow shoe hike which was fitting to our group
376annabellec
376annabellec
00
Wonderful Start to the Day
Very different from the slopes! it was good to begin in the tracks to start. We then tried a little in the powder s
bellecelloe
bellecelloe
00
Lots of Fun!
The people at the shop were super helpful and had a lot of local knowledge and advice. We hired snow shoes for a d
Frequently Asked Questions about Guided Snowshoe Walk on Tromsoya Island in Tromso

Guided Snowshoe Walk on Tromsoya Island in Tromso will start at 10:00 AM. Discover and book Guided Snowshoe Walk on Tromsoya Island in Tromso on Tripadvisor

Guided Snowshoe Walk on Tromsoya Island in Tromso price starts from R 1 408,00. Discover and book Guided Snowshoe Walk on Tromsoya Island in Tromso on Tripadvisor

Guided Snowshoe Walk on Tromsoya Island in Tromso cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Guided Snowshoe Walk on Tromsoya Island in Tromso on Tripadvisor

Guided Snowshoe Walk on Tromsoya Island in Tromso is hosted by Tromso Outdoor. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Tromso Outdoor on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Guided Snowshoe Walk on Tromsoya Island in Tromso on Tripadvisor