EuropeIcelandCapital RegionReykjavikThings to do in ReykjavikTours and Tickets

Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík - with unbiased reviews

Reserve Now & Pay Later

Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík

Save
Share
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$89,00
Date
2 adults
Options
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Overview
Escape the city lights of Reykjavik and embrace the colorful natural light show over the ocean on this northern lights cruise through Faxaflói Bay. The tour is made fun and comfortable with warm overalls, hot drinks, and education details from your guide. Additionally, the boat provides a panoramic viewing platform you can’t get on land-based tours.
Itinerary
+
You'll start at
Ægisgarður 5
Ægisgarður 5, 101 Reykjavík, IcelandMeet us at the red and white ticket office at the harbour to collect your boarding ticket(s).
See address & details
  • 1
    Elding Whale Watching
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
    Enjoy a 2 hr. cruise in the Southern-part of Faxaflói bay in search for the northern lights.
    Read more
You'll end at
Ægisgarður 5
Ægisgarður 5, 101 Reykjavík, IcelandMeet us at the red and white ticket office at the harbour to collect your boarding ticket(s).
See address & details
Highlights
  • Search for the northern lights on a night cruise in Faxaflói Bay
  • Learn about the natural phenomenon from your guide and a pre-trip multimedia show
  • Overalls and warm drinks keep you from getting cold
  • If you don’t catch the northern lights you can take another cruise free-of-charge
Important Information
Departure Point
Ægisgarður 5, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
Duration
2–3 hours
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Excellent guidance
  • Warm floatable overalls
  • Multimedia show
  • Wi-Fi on board
  • Entry/Admission - Elding Whale Watching
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Northern lights are a natural phenomenon and very unpredictable, so remember to bring patience and optimism with you.
  • If the northern lights are not seen on your tour you will be given a complimentary ticket, which is valid for two years.
  • Weather is a bit factor for the Northern Lights Cruises and we may have to cancel the tour.
  • We recommend wearing good sturdy footwear and warm clothing including; thermals, hat, scarf and gloves.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 150 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
107Reviews
3Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 76
  • 16
  • 6
  • 2
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
MrsNash wrote a review 13 Feb
8 contributions
This was our first night in Reykjavik and we had looked at the weather forecast beforehand and were not hopeful of seeing the lights - they are a natural phenomenon so no guarantee of seeing them Our guide was fantastic, she gave in depth tips on camera settings and
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Response from EldingAdventureAtSea, Manager at Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík
Responded yesterday
Dear MrsNash1208, Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience with future travellers. We highly appreciate your kind comments and glad you had a great experience with our incredibly enthusiastic and professional team. Welcome back anytime! All the best, The Elding team
Read more
SMurco wrote a review 12 Feb
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Informative guides, went on 2 trips (first trip snowy and unsuccessful) and both times we were welcomed on board. I appreciated the guidance given on what settings to use on the camera and the use of the overalls to save us from the cold; I advise you to put them on before you
Read more
Response from EldingAdventureAtSea, Manager at Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík
Responded 4 days ago
Dear SMurco, Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review our tour and for sharing your experience with future travellers. We're glad you had the chance to return and try a second time using your complimentary ticket to hunt down the northern lights! All the best, The Elding team
Read more
Steved2407 wrote a review 12 Feb
67 contributions20 helpful votes
Taking a ship out into Reykjavik bay takes away background light giving the best chance of seeing the lights (if they show!). Takes around 2 hours, 9pm - 11pm and you definately need to wrap up warm, the company do provide extra overalls. Ship is basic but does have a cafe area
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Response from EldingAdventureAtSea, Manager at Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Steved2407, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Glad you enjoyed the tour and pictures taken by your guide! All the best, The Elding team
Read more
StephenBason wrote a review 10 Feb
1 contribution
Great experience, great tour guide who chatting about losts of interesting things whilst we waited for the light to appear. Very cold, SLR camera recommended for best photos.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Response from EldingAdventureAtSea, Manager at Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík
Responded 5 days ago
Dear StephenBason, Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review our tour and services. We're glad you had an enjoyable experience watching the northern lights with our lovely crew! All the best, The Elding team
Read more
alirostron284 wrote a review 07 Feb
15 contributions13 helpful votes
We were unlucky with the weather - despite good conditions the lights only showed after it had clouded over again. But the crew were very informative about the lights and also offered lots of useful advice about taking good pictures and helped people with camera settings. They
Read more
Response from EldingAdventureAtSea, Manager at Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík
Responded 1 week ago
Dear alirostron284, Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review our tour and services. We're glad you had a great time on board and were able to see the northern lights despite difficult conditions. What you experienced was precisely the nature factor of the tour and we're glad you understand that aspect and still managed to enjoy yourself! Hope you liked the photos taken by our crew! All the best, The Elding team
Read more
About the operator
By: Elding Whale Watching
Michael Y
Morden, United Kingdom
81
Lovely trip, although not entirely vegan friendly
I really enjoyed this boat trip. We were very lucky to catch a few glimpses of a Minke Whale and Harbour
Read more
MrsNash
50
Northern lights cruise
This was our first night in Reykjavik and we had looked at the weather forecast beforehand and were not hopeful of
Read more
MrsNash
50
Whale watching cruise
This was a really enjoyable afternoon. I loved the fact that the sea was quite choppy, they offered free sea
Read more
Hanners
613
Good experience, not for those who suffer from sea sickness
Nice experience, out for nearly 5 hours at sea. Well organised and a real nice day. All the staff involved were
Read more
SMurco
Abingdon, United Kingdom
21
Good trip
Informative guides, went on 2 trips (first trip snowy and unsuccessful) and both times we were welcomed on board.
Read more
Steved2407
Stockport, United Kingdom
6120
Good way to see the Northern Lights
Taking a ship out into Reykjavik bay takes away background light giving the best chance of seeing the lights (if
Read more
StephenBason
10
Northern Lights Iceland
Great experience, great tour guide who chatting about losts of interesting things whilst we waited for the light
Read more
Adam Y
Bristol, United Kingdom
347
No whales but a good trip
The trip was worth it despite not seeing any whales and the rough seas. I love the ethos of the company and the
Read more
Patricia
10
Great experience
Unfortunately the whales were swimming somewhere else and we didn't see them, although elding did everythong to
Read more
alirostron284
Manchester, United Kingdom
1413
Few lights but still a great experience
We were unlucky with the weather - despite good conditions the lights only showed after it had clouded over again.
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 2–3 hours
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+1 855 275 5071
Tripadvisor
© 2020 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.
* TripAdvisor LLC is not a booking agent and does not charge any service fees to users of our site... more
TripAdvisor LLC is not responsible for content on external web sites. Taxes, fees not included for deals content.
CURRENCY/REGION
US$USD
South Africa