Funchal Tours
Madeira : Sunset in Pico do Arieiro (Dinner and Drinks optional)
4

Madeira : Sunset in Pico do Arieiro (Dinner and Drinks optional)

By Charismatic Mountain
About
Admire the sunset from Madeira's third-highest peak on a private or shared tour from Funchal to Pico do Arieiro. enjoy a variety of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks while watching the sunset. Following pickup at your accommodation, we head towards Pico do Arieiro at an altitude of 1,818 meters where you can enjoy the sun setting in one of the island's most beautiful settings. See shades of orange, pink, and red from above the clouds. After the sunset we towards a lovely spot near the mountains, an old mill, refurbished to accomodate people where you can enjoy your Dinner and drinks. The Authentic Madeira Local experience Before settling into your ideal viewing spot, enjoy the lovely scenery of Pico do Arieiro and then enjoy the sunset. Buffet Style Dinner with Homemade and Local Food and Traditional drinks. The Dinner Menu is dynamic and changes frequently for quality purposes, we cater to vegan, gluten free or vegetarian diets as well if requested beforehand
from
R 1 122,32
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 13-99, max of 8 per group
Duration: 3–4 hours
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: German, Portuguese, English, French, Spanish
More


  • Beer, Wine ( red, green ( special wine provided by us) , white) , non alcoholic beverages as well
  • Available Tuesday - Saturday ( Sunday/Monday the tour is cheaper but no dinner included)
  • Buffet-style food (the menu varies but it includes vegetarian options)
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Guide/Driver Included
  • Pickup and Drop off from Accomodation/Hotel (C.Lobos (center) Funchal, Santa Cruz, Machico(center) )
  • Entry/Admission - Madeira
What's not included
  • Sundays and Mondays the sunset tour option is cheaper but has no dinner included
  • Pickup and Drop off from Hotel (Calheta, Ponta do Sol, R.Brava, S. Vicente, Santana, Porto Moniz) )


Start:Traveller pickup offered.
    Pickup details
    • Please bring warm clothes or at least an extra coat just in case of cold in Pico do Arieiro Please advise us on any dietary restrictions when booking so we can adequately prepare. Guide will ask for your name and specify the tour Pickups outside our Pickup area might be subject to extra fees to accomodate extra expenses with transport and guides such as extra hours among others. RIbeira Brava : 45 Euros for pickup and drop-off per booking (1-8 people) in RIbeira Brava / 30 Euros for pickup in ribeira brava and drop-off in Funchal Ponta do Sol : 60 Euros for pickup and drop-off per booking (1-8 people) in Ponta do Sol / 40 Euros for pickup in Ponta do Sol and drop-off in Funchal Santana/São Vicente 100 Euros for pickup and drop-off per booking (1-8 people) in Santana or São Vicente / 70 Euros for pickup in Santana or São Vicente and drop-off in Funchal Calheta (center) : 80 Euros for pickup and drop-off per booking (1-8 people)in Calheta/ 50 Euros for pickup in Calheta and drop-off in Funchal
    End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

      • Not wheelchair accessible
      • Pushchair accessible
      • Service animals allowed
      • Infant seats available
      If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 340292P5

      • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
      • Most travellers can participate
      • Pickups in Calheta : 80 Euros for pickup and drop-off per booking (1-8 people)/ 50 Euros for pickup in Calheta and drop-off in Funchal
      • Pickups in Ponta do Sol : 50 Euros for pickup and drop-off per booking (1-8 people)/ 35 Euros for pickup in Ponta do Sol and drop-off in Funchal
      • Pickups in Ribeira Brava :40 Euros for pickup and drop-off per booking (1-8 people)/ 30 Euros for pickup in Ribeira Brava and drop-off in Funchal
      • Sundays and Mondays the Sunset Tour has a lower cost but has no food or drinks included, as the kitchen staff has the afternoon off
      • On Sundays and Mondays, we ONLY provide the product option of Sunset Transport (No Dinner). This option is Transportation ONLY without any food or drinks included.
      • From Tuesdays to Saturdays, we offer the option of Sunset Guided Tour to Pico do Arieiro with Drinks and Food included.
      • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travellers

      • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

      If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 340292P5

      Reserve your spot

      Similar experiences

      Itinerary
      • 1
      • 2
      • 3
      About the operator
      Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
      • Charismatic Mountain
        72
        Funchal, Portugal
        Joined in March 2022
      • M8390VQolgam
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Private Sunrise Views
        We had done previously a sunrise tour to pico do Arieiro and decided to try a different sunrise and this was so beautiful. No crowds it were just me , my husband and my daughters and a couple of young german people watching the sunrise. It was quite incredible and so cold but we were provided blankets. I would definitely recommend if you want a much less crowded sunrise
        Written 4 July 2024
      • Nicola918
        0 contributions
        3.0 of 5 bubbles
        Disgraceful driving, worse vehicle that ruined the day.
        Well, disappointing and would not recommend for the following reasons. All reviews stated friendly knowledgeable guides, English speaking, nice vehicles. Well, vehicle was an Old Ford transit which had a broken handle and not fit for purpose. Driver was polite but his driving left a lot to be desired, driving too close to inexperienced drivers on the road on high winding roads where he then kept having to break suddenly, beeping a pedestrian who was already using a crossing for no reason. Then looking and reading notes off a piece of paper whilst on these roads. Disgrace, unsafe and do not use. The above was also stated by the French couple on our horrible transport .. really feel ripped off due to what you pay..
        Written 16 June 2024
      • ivonab116
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great tour for small groups
        The tour was really wonderful! We left Funchal around 8:45 and returned at 18.15. It was a day full of activities, we had many stops along the way and there was enough time to see them all, visit, take pictures, have a snack. Francisco was a wonderful guide, he told us a lot of stories about the places we were visiting and was flexible with the timing if we wanted to stay in one place a bit more than in another.
        Written 14 June 2024
      • 381rebecab
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Seen a lot of the island in one day
        Francisco was a good guide, very knowledgeable and friendly. Gave us plenty of time at each stop. Tea and cake were lovely. It’s surprising that you drive around the whole island in one day with stops. Good tour if you only have a few days and want to see a lot of the island highlights.
        Written 23 May 2024
      • S3217TCkatherinee
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Beautiful sunset, great breakfast
        Sunset was beautiful. Blankets were provided which was very helpful as it was cold! Lovely breakfast in an old mill. Very cosy and authentic.
        Written 23 April 2024
      • MaggerZ
        0 contributions
        4.0 of 5 bubbles
        The BEST island tour available
        Ok this is the most expensive Madeira island trip...but it is probably the most comprehensive and in a small group (ours was 6) very personal. You get to see the whole island bar the mountainous interior but all the coastal highlights are included. And given the fact that you cover the whole island it never feels rushed...plenty of time in all the stops. Now for the advertised 'snacks'...we expected crisps and stuff like that, maybe a couple of beers....oh no sir we got tea and coffee with cakes and biscuits, toasted ham and cheese sandwiches, water, beer, juice and more beer...absolutely fabulous.
        Written 1 April 2024
      • Carrina1203
        0 contributions
        4.0 of 5 bubbles
        Amazing sunrise in fantastic location
        Fantastic to be collected at 5.30 and taken to the top of the mountain and be directed to the right spot for the amazing sunrise. It was spectacular, well worth the early start. This was the highlight. The breakfast provided was good but we felt that the location could have been more scenic. And the walk was pleasant but felt it could have been longer and more interesting given the Levada walks to choose from. We were just left feeling we wanted a little more from the morning
        Written 17 March 2024
      • M8390VQolgam
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Magical Forest and Sunset
        Wanted to visit the mystical forest of Fanal and this company was the only one with a sunset tour there and that gives you more time to explore. We had 2 hours to explore and had food and drinks included which was great. The forest is fantastic. It truly is a magical place!
        Written 7 March 2024
      • M8390VQolgam
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great Sunrise at the top of the mountains and breakfast
        We were in a small group of 6 people and the guide was great. Saw the sunrise at pico do arieiro but it was very cold. We were provided blankets. The other guests were very nice and we had breakfast in an old cottage which was quite warm. Recommend 100%
        Written 7 March 2024
      • cliveseabrook
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Madeira island tour
        Would definitely recommend this trip. A great way to see the dramatic scenery and the beautiful quaint villages. Jorge our guide was excellent. Very relaxed , no time restrictions, very easy going and great commentary . He also recommended a great restaurant for lunch. Loved the fresh coffee , homemade cakes , Madeira wine and beers. So pleased we opted for a small group tour. There were 6 of us and all got on very well. It’s a long day but worth it.
        Written 25 February 2024
      • Lisa P
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Long day but good for ocean views
        Jorge was great. He picked my party up from and returned my party to my hotel promptly. It was a good trip to see only around the coast and shore lines of the island. Not much walking involved. It was a long tour (8:30 hours) but worth it if you are short on time and interested in seeing different views of the ocean. I noticed we stopped at many of the same places as the large tour busses, but my trip with Jorge was only with 4 passengers. With such a small number, my group was much quicker at moving to the next spot than the large tour busses.
        Written 23 February 2024
      • gerrycE1189OL
        0 contributions
        4.0 of 5 bubbles
        Sunrise Tour in Madiera
        Great experience however although guide was OK he wasn’t a guide as we would expect. He didn’t tell us any history so was really just a driver. Also the breakfast was very poor and was located in no more than a shack with NO toilet facilities. Driver had to take us to a supermarket so we could use the toilets. The food at breakfast was presented in storage boxes an the hot sandwiches (which was the only option) were prepared on machine that only makes toastier. Tea was served in plastic cups. As I have said the experience was good but let down by the breakfast especially for the price we were paying per head.
        Written 6 February 2024
      • elsb558
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Excellent island tour
        Loved the Island tour. Nuno was an excellent guide. Unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate so it was too cloudy for the sunrise. Charismatic Mountain were very good and rebooked the sunrise part for a couple of days later.
        Written 19 December 2023
      • docoprofessor
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great trip Nuno!
        Nuno was a great guide. We had a good small group excursion, stopped at beautiful little towns, and had good conversation along the way. For the duration of the trip and the amount of the island that you get to explore, this is a great deal. Enjoy!
        Written 3 December 2023
      • toddlo
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Best way to see the island
        This is a great way to see the island. Our tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. He explained each area as we passed through it. I highly recommend this experience.
        Written 29 November 2023
      See all 72 reviews
      These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

      Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


      4.0
      4.0 of 5 bubbles14 reviews
      Excellent
      10
      Very good
      1
      Average
      1
      Poor
      0
      Terrible
      2

      These reviews have been automatically translated from their original language.
      This service may contain translations provided by Google. Google disclaims all warranties, express or implied, with respect to translations, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, and freedom from forgery.

      Sharon M
      1 contribution
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Sept 2023 • Couples
      Avoid this company at all cost ! Completely misleading. We paid 120 Euros for the sunset tour and star gazing which should have included canapés, cheese board, charcuterie, music, drinks watching the sunset and star gazing and an alternative view point if necessary What we got was some bread, fries
      some home made beef chunks, a vegan lasagna (allegedly for the ladies) and some chicken wings which arrived later and a beer each. No sunset was too foggy with no option of going to an alternative viewpoint as stated on brochure and no star gazing:. No communication that weather may be bad nothing. This was meant to be a wedding anniversary memory. Memorable for all the wrong reasons. Please don’t get ripped off like we did . Refused to offer us any form of refund …. If I could give zero stars I would
      Written 9 September 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      The weather cannot always be the best and per company policy i am sure a sunrise or sunset tour was offered to you. If you chose not to take it , it was your decision. I am not going to apologize for the weather as it is out of our control. Review bombing is not the solution, when you could have communicated with us. I believe you have booked through a hotel so it wasnt even on the app so I do not know what was said to you in the hotel reception and we are not liable for what the receptionist promised. But one thing i can tell you for sure, we offered a free sunrise or sunset as it is company policy. A rip off would have been not picking you up and keeping your money. Blaming us for the weather is ridiculous and childish behavior, especially when an alternate tour was offered as we do to ALL our clients when the weather doesnt help and might i add we are the only company that does this, other companies don't offer a second tour.
      Written 23 November 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Lindsay
      12 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Oct 2023 • Friends
      Worth it for the views but the "buffet style dinner" was a huge disappointment. We stopped at a gravelly apron at the side of the road and the "buffet" was 2 hot plates with chicken and potatoes and 3 plastic bins with garlic bread, salad, and pineapple. Sat on ground because not enough space at the 2 picnic tables without feeling like you were sitting on a stranger's lap. Skip this tour and pay for a tour without food and eat at one of the zillion amazing restaurants on the island. Oh and FYI, the bathrooms at the Pico do Ariero information centre are closed after hours so you will not have access to a washroom for the entire 4+ hours of the tour.
      Written 7 October 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you for the feedback. It is always good to receive feedback from clients the positives and the negatives. We normally have a stop at a place with a washroom before but maybe on the day of your tour the spot was closed. The pico do arieiro washroom situation unfortunately is something we cannot do much about as it is government owned and we have complained many times to the tourism office about this. As far as booking a tour without food, the food is merely something to make sure our clients don't go hungry, but as per your feedback we will try to find a solution to this lack of seats problem, perhaps there is a bigger picnic place nearby. But please be advised this is supposed to replicate a typical experience in Madeira which we normally refer to as patuscada in portuguese, therefore it is indeed outdoor eating in nature. So this was never meant to be comparable to a seated indoors restaurant and it would defeat the whole purpose of the tour. As far as booking other tours for this I am afraid to say if you want to go on a tuesday or some random day of the week we are basically the only company as of this moment going to pico do arieiro for sunrise and sunset everyday and always providing our guests with food and drinks. But as mentioned before we take into account all of our clients feedback. If you prefer to pay the same with no food and no possibility to repeat it is absolutely fine and your choice, but I believe we are still the best choice for sunrise and sunset tours. Thank you
      Written 8 October 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Matthew C
      2 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Sept 2023 • Couples
      Avoid this company at all cost ! Completely misleading. We paid 120 Euros for the sunset tour and star gazing. The brochure from the hotel included viewing the stars with a telescope which was completely ignored. I do see that the telescope is not on the trip advisor site. The food should have included canapés cheese board and charcuterie, but we got some soggy chips, home made beef chunks, a vegan lasagna (allegedly for the ladies) and some greasy chicken wings which arrived late. At the peak there was no view and no sunset as it was way too cloudy. There was no explanation and no option of going to an alternative viewpoint as stated on brochure and definitely no star gazing. This was meant to be a wedding anniversary memory. Memorable for all the wrong reasons.
      Written 8 September 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Same reply as it is just a copy of a previous review made under a different google account. The weather cannot always be the best and per company policy i am sure a sunrise or sunset tour was offered to you. If you chose not to take it , it was your decision. I am not going to apologize for the weather as it is out of our control. Review bombing is not the solution, when you could have communicated with us. I believe you have booked through a hotel so it wasnt even on the app so I do not know what was said to you in the hotel reception and we are not liable for what the receptionist promised. But one thing i can tell you for sure, we offered a free sunrise or sunset as it is company policy. A rip off would have been not picking you up and keeping your money. Blaming us for the weather is ridiculous and childish behavior, especially when an alternate tour was offered as we do to ALL our clients when the weather doesnt help and might i add we are the only company that does this, other companies don't offer a second tour.
      Written 23 November 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Maria K
      4 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Aug 2023 • Friends
      It’s a really nice evening trip to see amazing sunset. Guides are friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!
      Written 24 August 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you so much for your review :) I hope you try our Fanal Sunset tour next time :D
      Written 23 November 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Michal6
      New Jersey11 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Jul 2024 • Family
      We were 6 in our family who went up the mountain to see the sunset. It was spectacular- everyone was amazed by the views. We did not eat the dinner and we came all the way from Calheta and it was a trip not to be missed.
      Written 1 July 2024
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Lily Y
      3 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      This tour was wonderful, we had some locally prepared food and drinks. They were delicious. We were lucky the sun finally came out later in the day and the sunset was very gorgeous. The photos came out very well. Our driver Joao was wonderful and very friendly. I also met many wonderful fellow travellers and had a great time with everyone. I would recommend this tour to others!!
      Written 10 October 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you so much for the review. João is indeed a very fun and friendly person and a great guide. Glad to hear you enjoyed the sunset
      Written 23 November 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Anna M
      3 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Aug 2023
      We enjoyed this tour very much. Spectacular sunset, delicious food and friendly guides. Best experience in Madeira.
      Written 12 September 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you very much for your review :) Hope you repeat it next time with our new improvements
      Written 23 November 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Helen N
      Letchworth Garden City, UK4 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      These guys were fantastic hosts and so helpful during the booking process. Amazing food, great drinks, perfect music, breathtaking views! They certainly lived up to their promises!
      Written 2 July 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you so much for your review :) I hope you join us again next year :)
      Written 23 November 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Anna M
      3 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Feb 2023
      Beautiful sunset at 1800 metres of altitude. The views were breathtaking. We had drinks and food and it was surprising and very welcome. Will definitely do it again when I come back.
      Written 2 March 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Thank you so much for your review! And next time we will have even more features on our sunset and will keep improving the experience as we always aim to :)
      Written 7 March 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      frau_bergfrau
      Muenster, Germany15 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      A really great experience. Unfortunately we were unlucky the first time, but we were allowed to go again and had a fantastic view. On the way back you stop at a small, rustic hut (don't be fooled by the first impression). The food was local and very tasty. There was sangria, beer and wine. I would do the tour again anytime.
      Thank you very much, it was incredible!
      Google
      Written 23 May 2024
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Madeira : Sunset in Pico do Arieiro (Dinner and Drinks optional) provided by Charismatic Mountain

      All Funchal HotelsFunchal Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Funchal
      All things to do in Funchal
      Day Trips in Funchal
      RestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire