Brussels Tours
Bruges and Ghent - Belgium's Fairytale Cities - from Brussels
4.5

Bruges and Ghent - Belgium's Fairytale Cities - from Brussels

By Brussels City Tours
About
Don’t waste your precious vacation time organizing transportation and itineraries; let a guide do the hard work on this day trip to Bruges and Ghent from Brussels. It’s perfect for travelers with limited time, offering a great introduction to these two UNESCO-listed medieval cities. Learn the history of each place from your guide and relish the cultural highlights.
from
R 971,29
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 200 per group
Duration: 10h 30m
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English, French, Spanish
More

Highlights
  • Take a full-day tour of Bruges and Ghent from Brussels 
  • Let someone else handle transportation and the itinerary 
  • Commentary brings the history of the two UNESCO-listed cities to life 
  • Take a guided walking tour of Bruges and Ghent highlights 
  • Upgrade to include a cruise on Bruges' idyllic waterways

  • Professional multilingual guide
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Radios and earphones
  • Organization of boat trip (at extra cost)
What's not included
  • Hotel pick up & drop-off
  • Food and drinks

Your day trip begins with pickup in central Brussels, from which you embark on a journey through the Belgian countryside to Ghent, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. On arrival in Ghent, visit St. Bavo's Cathedral (Sint-Baafskathedraal), home to the world-famous 'Mystic Lamb' painting, and take a guided walking tour of Ghent’s churches and castles, including Gravensteen Castle (Castle of the Counts). The next stop is Bruges, another UNESCO-listed medieval city, where you break for lunch (own expense) at Minnewater (Lake of Love). Tick off Markt Square, Belfry (Belfort), the Basilica of the Holy Blood, plus many more on a walking tour accompanied by historical commentary. Upgrade to take a canal cruise on Bruges’ idyllic waterways before returning to your vehicle for the journey back to Brussels.  

Start:
  • Bd de Berlaimont 18, 1000 Bruxelles, Belgium
    Look for our staff and the Keolis coach outside the National Bank of Belgium.
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Pushchair accessible
    • Near public transportation
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 2200DEB02

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
    • Access to the Mystic Lamb at St Bavo's Cathedral is not possible on Sundays
    • Comfortable walking shoes are recommended
    • Our guides are pleased to guide the tours in English, Spanish and/or French depending on the language need of our guests on the tour
    • Please note that we cannot accomodate latecomers
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 200 travellers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    The tour operator has provided the following answers to customers’ questions.
    What time do we stop for lunch on the Belgium's Fairytale Cities Tour?
    Lunch is usually between 12:00pm - 2:00pm. The time is subject to change.
    Answered Jun 2023
    Can I change the date of my excursion?
    Yes, we can change your trip to another date of your choice, depending on our availability.
    Answered Jun 2024
    Will you wait for me in case I’m late for the meeting point?
    We can wait for 5 minutes if you let us know in advance about your delay (please call +32 2 513 77 44 in that case).
    Answered Jun 2024
    Can I book the canal tour in Bruges in advance?
    The canal tour in Bruges can only be booked with your guide, on the day of your trip.
    Answered Jun 2024

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 2200DEB02

    Reserve your spot

    Similar experiences

    Itinerary
    • Bd de Berlaimont 18, 1000 Bruxelles, Belgium
      Look for our staff and the Keolis coach outside the National Bank of Belgium.
    • Pass by
      Het Belfort van Gent
      Graslei and Korenlei
    • 1
      Pass by
      Gravensteen
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
    • 6
    • 7
    • 8
    • 9
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Brussels City Tours
      1,961
      Brussels, Belgium
      Joined in September 2011
    • Simsimma76
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Wild Rover is the best
      Caroline C guide was fun. Love her sense of humor. She has lots of knowledge about the sites and places to eat. Even though it rained the entire time, we still had a good time. Loved the sheep farm experience and cuddling those baby lambs was a highlight. Raj the bus driver was cool too.
      Written 12 July 2024
    • margarethbruno
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Don't miss this
      Great tour and extremely knowledgeable guide. It would probably have been impossible to do this tour on one's own, let alone receive the interest information from the guide. I'm sorry I forgot his name - the tour was Sunday, June 23 and he was excellent.
      Written 30 June 2024
    • 231jamest
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great tour
      The guide Derrick was excellant and he did a wonderful job explaining all the sites. I was very glad I took this tour. Remember its a long day did not get back to Bruge til 9 pm but it was well worth it.
      Written 27 June 2024
    • 3miket
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Amazing tour, covered so much WWI history in the 10 hours
      A very moving and comprehensive tour. We saw the main sight of WWI Flanders with an expert commentary. Appreciated the emphasis in the Canadian, Australian, British and New Zealand soldiers who did so much for that area
      Written 26 June 2024
    • michaeltN5657VL
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great trip, super knowledgeable guide!!
      Great guide, super informative and knew her history. Made for a long day, about 12-1/2 hours, temps were in the upper 80’s (32 C), but so worth it. Amazing photos, would do it all over.
      Written 25 June 2024
    • 3miket
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      A really great tour
      Well planned, comprehensive tour. We were overwhelmed by the sites we saw. We appreciated the emphasis on the Canadian, Australian and New Zealander contributions to the war. Highly recommend this trip
      Written 24 June 2024
    • Jianwei L
      0 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Not worth it
      It was not as good as hyped. Not attractive place. The little country has little to see. The Dinant was a much better place to visit.
      Written 18 June 2024
    • U6974XOaaronj
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Good
      We had plenty of time in both cities to look at the attractions. Got some fun info on the way. Bus was nice and comfortable.
      Written 13 June 2024
    • DanaSchi
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Good option for a quick Amsterdam visit
      I loved the cheese and clogs farm, the farmer was so entertaining and we got to taste and buy some cheese, learn how the clogs are made. We had 4 hours in Amsterdam to explore on our own, the map with main attraction points was very helpful. I didn’t like that the group was very big and buss way too crowded, couldn’t find seats together although we arrived 10 minutes earlier.
      Written 11 June 2024
    • DanaSchi
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      The prefect day trip from Brussels
      Everything was well organized. We first stopped in Dinant, a small beautiful town where the saxophone was invented and then Luxembourg where we had a few good hours to explore. The guide was incredibly knowledgeable and we learned so many things during the trip, I loved the fact that we were given an option to take a walking tour or visit on our own in Luxembourg.
      Written 11 June 2024
    • mtrahan3402
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Would go again…
      Trip was great but be prepared for a 3.5 hour bus trip back! Luxembourg was truly amazing and a wonderful country (city) to see!
      Written 8 June 2024
    • N7387XYkylem
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great trip!
      The trip was brilliant! The bus journey is around 3 hours from Brussels to Luxembourg with a quick service station stop en route. My tour guide was amazing and was very knowledgable and taught us many things about the war and the history of the country. There are a few buildings to see in Luxembourg and there are also lots of shops including high end fashion shops to visit during your free time on the tour. The visit to Dinant on the return home is quick but it is lovely with more interesting facts.
      Written 4 June 2024
    • sarettae2017
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great tour.
      Great tour with Miguel. He was very informative, friendly and kind. The tour was planned perfectly. A good amount of time at each location.
      Written 2 June 2024
    • Roam58378090246
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Beautiful day in Bruges/Ghent
      Took this tour and the Luxembourg/dinant tour, both times with Albert, and he has been so wonderful! Very knowledgeable and patient with the group!
      Written 2 June 2024
    • KirstieM659
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Packed itinerary - highly recommend.
      This was an unbelievably packed itinerary. Not only that but our guide moved things around to allow us to see other memorials to fit in with our nationalities. He was extremely knowledgeable and fascinating to listen to. I would recommend you take plenty water and some snacks as it is a very long day and you don’t want to get hangry!
      Written 29 May 2024
    See all 1,961 reviews
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    4.5
    4.5 of 5 bubbles915 reviews
    Excellent
    625
    Very good
    173
    Average
    62
    Poor
    23
    Terrible
    32

    Mitchell B
    2 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Mar 2020 • Couples
    We used viatour to book many tours throughout Europe and all were great so we were excited to embark on this tour. Unfortunately of the many tours we took, this was the worst one and was horrible. The tour guide was unengaging and didn’t seem to care about us or the trip. What made us most upset was he dropped us off in front of a tourist trap and encouraged us to eat only there and said it had the best prices and he didn’t give us enough time to eat anywhere else. The restaurant was way too expensive and they even charged us a euro for ketchup. The tour guide obviously got a kick back from this restaurant as they had his food and the drivers food ready when they arrived and did not charge them. This was overall a bad trip that I do not recommend. Save your money and don’t book with this company.
    Written 11 March 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear customer, We apologize deeply for your unpleasant excursion. Please know that your situation was an exception. As you can see on other reviews, we are known for taking ownership and caring deeply about our customers. We can’t fix the past but you have my personal commitment to improve the way our staff serves every customer. Please do not hesitate to contact us at info@brussels-city-tours.be to give another chance and we will give you a discount. Best regards, Brussels City Tours Team
    Written 6 April 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Lisa
    4 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Feb 2020 • Family
    My father and I have been to this tour with Andra/ Andrea. The tour guide was really professional and informative. She could handle a group of 50 people easily and still deliver pleasant information. Also, I would like to point out that the Asian lady on the front desk was very decent and helpful with us.

    I highly recommend this tour!
    Written 24 February 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear customer, This review made our day!!! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. Please share your lovely photos on our Facebook Page and feel free to tag us on instagram. We hope to see here again and please bring all your friends and family. Kind regards, Brussels City Tours Team
    Written 1 March 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    chris h
    San Francisco, CA224 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jun 2022
    While I have not wanted to go on large group trips, I did go on this one. I found the organization was well managed in both time and traveler assistance. We arrived at the appointed time, as did four other tours. One would expect this to be the beginning of a nightmare. It wasn't, and was handled very well. The trip included English, and Spanish speakers and our guide Stephen was quite able to speak to both with detail. Enough can't be stated about Stephan's skill and ability to communicate as well keeping track of 40 of us. Specifically, the tour is long and tiresome, however at the end of the day well worth the cost and effort. Some thoughts. Ghent was our favorite and some more free time there would have been nice. Burges was enjoyable as well. A bit overwhelming due to the number of other tourist. Arriving at Burges for the lunch break. I forget the name of the restaurant, but it was encouraged by Stephan and we found it a good recommendation was able to provide quick service with good food, I would give them a good review, but forgot the name. The bottom line here is the tour is good. I wish we would have been able to get a little bit more into it, but a lot to see in what is really a short time. Well done.
    Written 29 June 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Ashley D
    17 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jul 2022 • Solo
    Stefaan was an amazing guide. He was extremely knowledgeable on all the areas we visited and could go into more detail when asked about other things not on the tour. He also has a great sense of humor that kept us laughing.

    Both Ghent and Bruges are beautiful cities with rich, interesting histories. There is a lot of walking (about 7mi./11km) on uneven stone streets so wear comfortable walking shoes.

    I highly recommend this tour and Stefaan!

    Additionally the morning of the tour I was running late and the woman at the main office (I didn’t catch her name) called the bus to stop them from leaving and literally ran the 2.5 blocks to the bus with me to make sure I got on.

    Such a kind group of people in this company!
    Written 26 July 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Emily V
    2 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    It was awesome all around. Our guide Andrea was very knowledgeable and shared a lon of information without being overwhelming. Despite the national holiday and the festival taking place, she kept the group organized and able to enjoy the day. Had we traveled on our own to these two towns, we would not be able to see and learn this much. The rates were inexpensive compared to other trips, and it was worth every penny. A day well-spent, with a very comfortable ride to and from Brussels.
    Written 22 July 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear Emily, Thank you for your fantastic feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you had an awesome experience on the tour. Andrea, our guide, is delighted to know that her knowledge and information-sharing added value to your day. It's great to hear that despite the national holiday and festival, Andrea kept the group organized and ensured you could fully enjoy the day. We're glad that you found the tour to be informative and enriching, providing you with a unique opportunity to see and learn so much about the two towns. We're also pleased to know that you found the rates to be reasonable and the experience worth every penny. Thank you for choosing our tour, and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again for more enjoyable experiences in the future. Best regards, Team Brussels City Tours
    Written 27 July 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    thetrotter07
    England22 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Solo travel to various WW1 & WW2 using various modes of transport, mainly train, tram and bus.
    Started in Ghent for three days and from there walked round the city visiting ancient sites like the castle at Gravensteen. Easily accessible from Ghent, via rail are the WW1 sites of Langemark, ypres and the Menin Gate, give yourself a day to take everything in. Also the Waterloo memorial. The memorial itself is amazing but the museum has little or no artefacts from the battle, still worth the entrance fee. Bruges is a delightful historic town with loads of things to see and do.
    Ostend has numerous sites to see and from there you can go along the shore to numerous WW2 sites including the Fort De Dune and the Atlantik Wall. A must is a tram ride to Dunkirk. Once you hit the French border, bus rides are free. Follow me on instagram @pome.blog
    Written 10 April 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Christina L
    Cambridge, UK6 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    May 2024 • Couples
    This was a solid tour. You travel by bus to Ghent, get some history on the bus, get a walking tour of the city, which includes the Cathedral where Charles V was baptized, a key Reformation history figure, and then get about 35 minutes on your own. We wished we had more time to actually visit the castle there. Then you travel an hour to Bruges, do some guided tour, have an hour for lunch, and then more guided tour. You then get maybe 30 minutes on your own and then can go on an extra cost (15 Euro boat tour) or can adventure on your own for longer. We chose to adventure on our own and did a beer tasting at Yesterday's World. Nico, the guide, was great and working really hard, because he was doing the tour in English and Spanish. I was impressed by how hard he was working to cover everything twice in two languages! I understood all of one and much of the other, so this was a surprising learning review for me. However, the tour would be far superior if they just had had to serve one language. It would have let the guided tour part clip along faster and actually get to enjoy more spaces or more free time. We felt really rushed at lunch, as the place we went took long enough we had to gulp down our food and it was so delicious was would have preferred to savor it (Delice, right next to Vivaldi that they recommended for speed but Delice had the rabbit in cherry sauce and beef Flemish stew we had been wanting to try). Most of our tour was also desperate for a bathroom upon arrival in Ghent (morning caffeine and all) and people had to ask several times before we got to where there was a public restroom. So at least at this first stop there really needs to be an immediate or sooner bathroom option. We were told the bathrooms on bus were for emergencies only.
    Written 20 May 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Chris
    Charlotte, NC1 contribution
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    The tour itself was fine and the guide was excellent, but it was not the tour that I paid for. The tour I booked was supposed to be a small group of no more than 20 and in English. The tour I was put on had 50 people and was given in French, English, Spanish, and Italian. This made for an exhausting experience of having to listen to four explanations. I feel that I missed out on information because the guide had to repeat everything four times. We were supposed to see the painting of the mystic lamb, but we were told we needed tickets and did not have time. It was supposed to be part of the tour.
    Written 7 October 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Cameron H
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jan 2020 • Couples
    We had a fantastic time whilst visiting Brussels we decided to go on day trip to Ghent & Bruges with city tours. Our tour guide Veronica was excellent, very knowledgeable and delivered the tour in two languages, both of which not her native, very impressive. The tour ran very smoothly and was our highlight of our trip to Brussels. Thank you City Tours & Veronica. I would highly recommend this trip 👍
    Written 2 January 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear customer, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with Brussels City Tours. Our goal is 100% customer satisfaction and it sounds like we achieved that goal with you. We want every experience to be “five stars”! Glad to hear you love our tour with Veronica and the team will be thrilled to hear your feedback! Kind regards, Brussels City Tours Team
    Written 11 February 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Zac B
    Los Angeles, CA5 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Mar 2024 • Couples
    *** Worst excursion ever booked / We left halfway through ***

    1) They changed the entire itenerary the including the city order knowing we were going to get off the tour at the end of the 2nd city in Bruges. This was important because we had a reservation that afternoon in Bruges.

    2) We didn't enter a single building, everything was a pass-by, unlike the listing and photos

    3) 90% of the tour was in Spanish. He wasn't even fluent in Spanish

    4) The tour guide was quiet most of the way. He spoke about 10% of the time about things such as textiles. He seemed tired/bored. No enthusiasm. Not a word about the real history if the city.

    5) The only interesting part was the Bruges canal tour which cost 30 euros.

    We ended the excursion halfway through at 12:45pm. We asked for a 50% refund, but the guide lied to the website and said we were informed of the itenerary change before we left. We had proof otherwise.
    Written 5 March 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Dear customer, We are truly sorry to hear about your experience. Our itineraries can vary depending on several factors including guide discretion, although this should never result in a significant departure from what has been advertised. We aim to ensure all our guests receive a comprehensive and enjoyable tour, and we regret that we missed the mark during your trip. Regarding the language and content of the tour, we will review this feedback closely with our team to prevent such issues in the future. We take your comments seriously and will address them appropriately. Best regards, Brussels City Tours
    Written 29 April 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Showing results 1-10 of 752

    Bruges and Ghent - Belgium's Fairytale Cities - from Brussels provided by Brussels City Tours

    All Brussels HotelsBrussels Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Brussels
    All things to do in Brussels
    Day Trips in Brussels
    RestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire