Tours and Tickets

Assisi and Cortona Day Trip from Florence provided by Ciao Florence Tours and Travels

Assisi and Cortona Day Trip from Florence

Assisi and Cortona Day Trip from Florence
4
Book in advance
from
R 1 582,76
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Duration:
11h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
20
Stroller accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
About
Know before you go
  • Duration: 11h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English, Spanish
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 11h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 6367ATOUR10
Important information
Inclusions
  • Journey by fully fitted GT Coach
  • Expert multilingual escort
  • Assisi tour with professional guide
  • Stop for panoramic pictures at Passignano sul Trasimeno
  • Entrance fee to St Francis'Basilica
  • Entrance fee to Santa Chiara Church
  • Entrance fee to Santa Maria degli Angeli Church
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
Duration
11h
Departure details
  • Piazzale Montelungo, Firenze FI, Italy TOURS & NEWS KIOSK AT PIAZZALE MONTELUNGO BUS TERMINAL Located at 5-10 minutes walking distance from Santa Maria Novella Train Station. Look for our staff wearing a FUCHSIA CIAOFLORENCE JACKET and holding a CIAOFLORENCE CLIPBOARD!
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Entrance into churches requires a strict dress code. We cannot be held responsible for entry denied due to improper dress. Please make sure your shoulders and knees are covered
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • English and Spanish are always guaranteed. In order to confirm the excursion in Italian, German, Portuguese or French a minimum of 4 pax is required
  • Most travellers can participate
  • Covid-19 Mesures: A safe distance of one meter between clients will be maintained whenever possible. All our vehicles will be deep-cleaned and disinfected before and after each service. The use of masks is mandatory; clients must bring their own mask. Alcohol gel will be available on all our vehicles. Temperature will be checked for staff and visitors. Disinfected radio units will be provided, and headphones will be single-use. Showing your voucher on your phone will be enough; it is not necessary to print it out.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers
Inclusions
  • Journey by fully fitted GT Coach
  • Expert multilingual escort
  • Assisi tour with professional guide
  • Stop for panoramic pictures at Passignano sul Trasimeno
  • Entrance fee to St Francis'Basilica
  • Entrance fee to Santa Chiara Church
  • Entrance fee to Santa Maria degli Angeli Church
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
Departure details
  • Piazzale Montelungo, Firenze FI, Italy TOURS & NEWS KIOSK AT PIAZZALE MONTELUNGO BUS TERMINAL Located at 5-10 minutes walking distance from Santa Maria Novella Train Station. Look for our staff wearing a FUCHSIA CIAOFLORENCE JACKET and holding a CIAOFLORENCE CLIPBOARD!
Duration
11h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Entrance into churches requires a strict dress code. We cannot be held responsible for entry denied due to improper dress. Please make sure your shoulders and knees are covered
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • English and Spanish are always guaranteed. In order to confirm the excursion in Italian, German, Portuguese or French a minimum of 4 pax is required
  • Most travellers can participate
  • Covid-19 Mesures: A safe distance of one meter between clients will be maintained whenever possible. All our vehicles will be deep-cleaned and disinfected before and after each service. The use of masks is mandatory; clients must bring their own mask. Alcohol gel will be available on all our vehicles. Temperature will be checked for staff and visitors. Disinfected radio units will be provided, and headphones will be single-use. Showing your voucher on your phone will be enough; it is not necessary to print it out.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: 18 Oct 2021
A note from Assisi and Cortona Day Trip from Florence
- A safe distance of one meter between clients will be maintained whenever possible. - The use of masks is mandatory. Clients must bring their own mask. - Showing your voucher on your phone will be enough; it is not necessary to print anything.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Piazzale Montelungo
    Piazzale Montelungo, Firenze FI, Italy
    TOURS & NEWS KIOSK AT PIAZZALE MONTELUNGO BUS TERMINAL Located at 5-10 minutes walking distance from Santa Maria Novella Train Station. Look for our staff wearing a FUCHSIA CIAOFLORENCE JACKET and holding a CIAOFLORENCE CLIPBOARD!
    See address & details
  • 1
    Florence
    Stop: 2 hours
    See details
  • 2
    Cortona
    Stop: 2 hours
    See details
  • 3
    Assisi
    Stop: 2 hours
    See details
  • 4
    Assisi
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • 5
    Basilica di Santa Chiara
    Stop: 20 minutes
    See details
  • 6
    Basilica Papale e Sacro Convento di San Francesco d'Assisi
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
  • 7
    Santa Maria degli Angeli
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
  • 8
    Passignano Sul Trasimeno
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
  • 9
    Florence
    Stop: 2 hours
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

4.0
32 reviews
Excellent
19
Very good
7
Average
2
Poor
2
Terrible
2

Sundowner76
Sydney, Australia19 contributions
We had limited time to see certain things in Northern Italy so we took the opportunity for the day trip to Assisi via Cortona. Brilliant ....we saw a lot and Sandra the guide in Assisi was fantastic.
Written 16 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Annalisa U
12 contributions
Couples
Beautiful day spent visiting Assisi and Crotons. Excellent tour guide, Constantino and bus driver, Gabriele.
Written 5 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Alexandrite
Canada39 contributions
It took us some time to locate our meeting place for this tour but once we did we were off on our adventure.Our first stop was Cortona a medieval town dating back to the Etruscans.There is a museum filled with Etruscan artefacts from the area but we did not have time to see it.We followed our guide up a steep hill to the town square where we were on our own to explore. Our guide Elena was excellent and from the time we started the tour in Florence explained the history of Florence and the areas we were visiting. The views of the valley are just beautiful and a must for taking pictures! This area is very green and lush! The San Francesco church is very interesting and was built by a successor of St. Francis in 1245.The church is designed in a Franciscan pattern. The movie Under the Tuscan Sun was filmed here.Very pretty town! Our next stop was Lake Trasimeno which is the largest lake in the region of Umbria. Was a short stop for picture taking.Shallow lake and pretty towns and islands around it.Finally our last stop which was our longest was Assisi, the birthplace of St.Francis.We changed guides here and Elizabeta guided us through the churches and town of Assisi. She was a very good guide stopping along the way to explain all the sights.The 1st church we saw was the Basilica of Saint Clare! St. Clare was a follower of St. Francis.She is buried in the 13th century church crypt.Our group then walked to the Basilica of St. Francis which was started after he died. It was completed in 1253 and is divided into the upper church and lower church.Incredible frescoes throughout both.The stained glass is the original in the upper church. The crypt of St. Francis is in the lower sanctuary.Assisi is a very spiritual and peaceful place with amazing scenery. Lots of Olive Groves!We found this place to be the highlight of the tour. We were here the longest and we had time to explore on our own and have some lunch.As we departed from this place we stopped at the bottom of the hill to see yet another important church Santa Maria degli Angeli.Built in the 16th century it is famous for a stone structure considered the home of St Francis.He died here and it is a sacred place of worship.
We found this tour in general a very good introduction to these amazing towns and was well worth it!

Written 2 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

MishyQMelbourne
Melbourne49 contributions
Solo
I was very excited about this tour however felt very let down by the time we returned, 2 hours later than expected. First stop was Cortona and we were pretty much left to do our own thing for 40 minutes. No wine tastings, no nothing. Lovely place to wander but would have been nice to have been shown a few things. By the time we arrived in Assisi we were told we would go to lunch first then a guided tour of the 2 main churches. When we arrived at the restaurant we were informed we only had 40 minutes and of course our order wasn't taken for another 15 minutes so we had to rush through lunch. If you have physical limitations then this tour may not be for you as the walking between the 2 churches was quite a slug. I think there is too much crammed in to this tour and it would be better having one trip to Cortona where you can spend more time, have wine tastings etc which unfortunately we did not and just take your time but trying to visit both places I felt we were really rushed.
Written 2 May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Felix M
2 contributions
We called CiaoFlorence, the tour operator, because we were running about 15 min late since taxis were hard to find due to fashion week. They told us that they would hold the bus for us. We got there 3 minutes late and found that the bus had left and they had sold our seats. I sent them an e-mail requesting refund and they did not respond. When we wrote to Viator, which was the vendor that booked us, we were told that the tour operator informed them that we were late and that there were seats available and they are not in habit of reselling seats, so they would not issue a refund. Their story was hogwash. When we were told that our bus had already left and the seats had been sold, that same tour representative at the site asked if we were interested in another tour and if so, we could wait and if there were no-shows, they would sell us seat. That flies against what Viator was apparently told. To make matters worse, the following day we had a tour of the Amalfi Coast with CiaoFlorence and they were over an hour late to pick us up. They took us to lunch at a place that took forever to serve us and as a result we were only able to visit the city of Amalfi for about 20 minutes instead of the hour or so they were supposed to give us.
I have traveled quite a bit and had never encountered a situation as this. I am also disappointed at Viator for using that company and then being able to help us. They took their side of the story rather than ours although we have used Viator for many years.. I will rethink using them in the future.
Written 2 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Felix We are deeply sorry to read this and we would like to clarify that we always guarantee a waiting time of ten minutes for the latecomers, never less. Plus, the meeting point is, always and for all tours, twenty minutes before the departure time because we need to check people in for being able to leave at the scheduled time. This means that you were 35 minutes late and not three. For these reasons what you say in the first point is false, sorry. We do not resell seats when we are waiting for some late clients and we haven't in your case either, you were just very late and at some point the tour had to leave in respect of all the other customers and of the schedule. In regards to the following day: traffic and crowded sitautions are common in Italy during the high touristic season and if you travel in this period you need to be prepared. As you may imagine, these are aspects that a tour company cannot control. Take care Regards Ciaoflorence Staff Kind Regards Ciaoflorence Staff
Written 5 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

124john486
Perth14 contributions
Friends
Spent the day with Christian The best Guide and driver with ever had spoke fantastic English Great local knowledge would recommend him 100%
Written 28 May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Hv_Bag_Will_Travel
43 contributions
What makes a trip great other than the place itself is having a terrific guide. In our case, we were glad to have Constantino as our guide, who shows great professionalism and has valuable inside knowledge to share.
As for the 2 places visited, my favorite is Assisi. Standing inside the churches, including the one at St. Clare, and immersing oneself in the tranquility within, and viewing the frescoes, it feels as if one is transported back in time. Wish I could share pictures of the inside and frescoes; but photography is prohibited. Hence, I can only say that one has to see it in-person to have the frescoes to be etched in your mind.
Written 23 April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear customer A big thank you for your lovely review and nice words for Costantino! That tour is absolutely great, true! Best Regards Ciaoflorence Staff
Written 25 April 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

clare_nz_11
Adelaide, Australia138 contributions
Couples
We booked this tour from Florence last minute for about 90 EUR/person online. We found this company from a brochure left in our Airbnb. The tour was offered two days a week and met next to the SMN railway station outside Bar Reale. Several tours were congregating at the same time and our tour had about 30 people on it that day - mostly English speakers with less than 10 Spanish speakers.

We left the bus stop behind the station at about 8:30AM and were back in Florence at about 9PM due to a traffic accident on the highway. The traffic jams we saw that day made me appreciate what a breeze railway transport can be in places like Italy.

It is a long day so best to avoid booking onward travel on the day of the tour. We bought snacks and paninis for lunch as we knew that grabbing food might be a challenge in between the sight seeing. Assisi also didn't have any really decent food options after the walking tour. No need to worry too much about drinks though because these were easy enough to pick up from the shops at the various stops and the driver sold water for 1 EUR/bottle.

The tour guide was excellent, explained all the sites, clearly communicated the meeting points and times and kept everyone generally in line. My hat goes off to the people who work as guides for these companies - it would be hard work to wrangle all the tourists.

We enjoyed all the stops but found the day a bit long generally - perhaps the lake stop could be eliminated. It took me two days to fully recover from the day but I don't do this type of travel often and I wasn't adjusted to the warmer weather.

Cortona was a nice town to walk around. Be aware it is hilly but you can walk as much or as little as you wish in the free time there. Under the Tuscan Sun fans can bring their book to read on the spot overlooking the town square, perfect. We only had a coffee and pastry at a small cafe on the main strip here and bought water from the supermarket.

Lake Trasimeno looked to be a typical summer holiday tourist destination for Italian families. There wasn't much to see here but we enjoyed having a quiet drink at the kiosk and hanging out with the owner's dog.

Assisi was interesting and a sight to see from a distance. The walking tour in Assisi could be a bit tiring on a hot day, depending on your fitness.

We briefly stopped at Papal Basilica of Saint Mary of the Angels in Assisi on the way home. Make sure you exit via the rose garden on the side to see the lovely garden and statues.

Due to an accident on the motorway (very thoughtfully identified by another passenger) the tour bus diverted to a side road where we passed the factory outlets of some famous European brands like Prada and Hugo Boss. We didn't stop here because it was closed and getting late.
Written 3 October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Emily
5 contributions
Really enjoyed this trip. Renata, our guide, was wonderful. Cortona was interesting but really, the highlight for me 100% was Assisi - a beautiful city, and a tour with a local tour guide was informative and very thorough. Learned SO much.
Written 1 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear customer We thank you very much for your lovely feedback! It is so important for us and and a big help for the other travelers who are planning their trip! Best Regards Ciaoflorence Staff
Written 3 November 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Wilmie V
3 contributions
Our tour guide was Julia. She was amazing. Very considerate to the older people in our group. Very energetic. I'd recommend this tour and I hope Julia will be your guide too!
Written 17 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear customer Thanks a lot for the very nice words spent! Giulia is also very thankful :) We all wish you all the best and hope to meet you again! Kind Regards Ciaoflorence Staff
Written 19 August 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 29
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Ciao Florence Tours and Travels
Anjo A
Anjo A
00
Gorgeous place
Renata was very helpful and very patient with everyone in our group! Very beautiful place and i definitely recommen
Anjo A
Anjo A
00
Must do if you're in Florence!
Gabriel was very informative and outgoing. He was very passionate about the places we went to and he was very detai
Norbert H
Norbert H
00
Perfect day trip
Elisabetta was a very friendly and experienced local tour guide. The whole day was well organized and every program
dylangJ46UB
dylangJ46UB
00
Not much of a wine tour
If you’re looking for mainly a wine tour experience this is not it. The guides were absolutely amazing, knowledgea
Douglas R
Douglas R
00
Best way to see all 3 in a single day
Constantino was a great guide- very knowledgeable about each site and also funny and entertaining. Was a great way
Sam H
Sam H
00
Great service - Placido
Day trip to Cortona and Arezzo with from Florence with a brilliant driver called Placido Pereira on Wednesday 10th
Like2wander
Like2wander
00
A Quest
This was one of the worst tours I have ever taken. First, you will be prepared to walk about 8 miles, most of it up
148arac
148arac
00
Good tour to hit multiple spots in a day from Florence
We enjoyed the tour and would recommend it to our friends and family; however it could've been better organized in
Inspiration186458
Inspiration186458
00
Nice towns and transports. Not so great pasta.
The towns were beautiful and the transportation was comfortable but no charging stations at our seats. The winery
harryhY532OC
harryhY532OC
00
Wow - amazing Tuscany
Lots of activity in a full day. Pisa was short and aside from the tower and church, not a lot there. Siena was amaz
StretchyStace
StretchyStace
00
Great value for the amount of travel including, but wine tasting a bore.
The tour guides Constantin, Vicenza and bus driver Raoul were top notch. Constantin spoke 5 languages and was very
sharonhW9126OA
sharonhW9126OA
00
Private tour of Chianti region with wine tastings
Christian was our guide today, we could not have been happier with the tour. He was so knowledgeable about the regi
mdp313
mdp313
00
Beautiful day with lovely tour guide
We absolutely loved Andrea’s personality-she was fabulous and we really appreciated all the info. Could’ve even he
Kcurran613
Kcurran613
00
Private Tuscany Tour
Christian was fantastic. We were able to customize our tour stops to suit our interests, which we really appreciate
giorgosg690
giorgosg690
00
An amazing tour on the beautiful Toscana.
Value for money trip, on the most visited areas of toscane. Florence is a beutiful city wgich combinates the old ar
Frequently Asked Questions about Assisi and Cortona Day Trip from Florence

Assisi and Cortona Day Trip from Florence will start at 8:00 AM. Discover and book Assisi and Cortona Day Trip from Florence on Tripadvisor


Assisi and Cortona Day Trip from Florence price starts from R 1 637,15. Discover and book Assisi and Cortona Day Trip from Florence on Tripadvisor

Assisi and Cortona Day Trip from Florence cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Assisi and Cortona Day Trip from Florence on Tripadvisor