Tours and Tickets

Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide provided by WorldTours

Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide

Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide
4
Book in advance
from
R 995,38
per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
About
See Pompeii the easy and affordable way on a half-day tour from Naples that fits in all the UNESCO-listed site’s highlights without taking up a full day of your vacation. Avoid the hassle of train timetables with hotel or port pickup, and explore the well-preserved ruins of baths, frescoes, homes, and an ancient forum. Commentary from an archaeologist guide adds fascinating context that you wouldn't get touring on your own.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 4h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English, Italian, French, Spanish
Highlights
  • Tour the ancient city of Pompeii with an expert archaeologist guide
  • Learn about the site's history and devastation by the eruption of Mt. Vesuvius
  • Half-day group tour fits easily into most schedules and budgets
  • Includes door-to-door transfers from Naples hotels or the cruise port for convenience
Know before you go
  • Duration: 4h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English, Italian, French, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Tour the ancient city of Pompeii with an expert archaeologist guide
  • Learn about the site's history and devastation by the eruption of Mt. Vesuvius
  • Half-day group tour fits easily into most schedules and budgets
  • Includes door-to-door transfers from Naples hotels or the cruise port for convenience
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 18971P2
Call +1 855 275 5071
Important information
Inclusions
  • Licensed live guide (with minimum 6 pax otherwise audioguide will be provided)
  • Pickup from several meeting points in Naples
  • Round-trip shared transfer
  • Bottled water
  • Pompeii entrance fee
  • Pickup available from Naples Cruise Terminal
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
Duration
4h
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • 24 hours after the booking you will receive an email with the pickup time and the meeting instructions
  • Ports:
  • Molo Beverello, Porto di Napoli
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • At time of booking, Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
  • Transport is wheelchair accessible; however, be prepared for uneven surfaces at the sites visited which may be difficult for those with walking disabilities or using a wheelchair
  • During the low season from November to to March, the live guide inside Pompeii will be replaced by an official interactive audioguide for groups of less than six.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travellers
Inclusions
  • Licensed live guide (with minimum 6 pax otherwise audioguide will be provided)
  • Pickup from several meeting points in Naples
  • Round-trip shared transfer
  • Bottled water
  • Pompeii entrance fee
  • Pickup available from Naples Cruise Terminal
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
  • Gratuities
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • 24 hours after the booking you will receive an email with the pickup time and the meeting instructions
  • Ports:
  • Molo Beverello, Porto di Napoli
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
4h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • At time of booking, Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
  • Transport is wheelchair accessible; however, be prepared for uneven surfaces at the sites visited which may be difficult for those with walking disabilities or using a wheelchair
  • During the low season from November to to March, the live guide inside Pompeii will be replaced by an official interactive audioguide for groups of less than six.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: 01 Sep 2021
A note from Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide
Vaccination required for museums, pubblic transportation, archeological parks, restaurants. EU DIGITAL COVID CERTIFICATION or NEGATIVE COVID TEST CERTIFICATION of the last 48 hours.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Face masks provided for travellers
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
Itinerary
  • You'll get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • Pass by
    Pompeii Archaeological Park
    Forum
    Stabian Baths (Terme Stabiane)
    Tempio di Giove Capitolino
    Macellum
  • You'll return to the starting point

4.0
19 reviews
Excellent
12
Very good
0
Average
2
Poor
1
Terrible
4

J4339UUmollys
3 contributions
Great tour
Jun 2021 • Friends
Great trip to Pompeii ! Was super easy and they picked us up from near our Airbnb, our driver Domenico was so nice and gave us lots of great recommendations for things to do and places to eat. Tour around Pompeii was great but was slightly ruined by an inappropriate message from the guide afterwards. However still a great trip :)
Written 24 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Cosmin
Salgareda, Italy4 contributions
If you come to Naples, this is a MUST
Incredible day in the Pompei ruins, guided by Jasmine, she is nice, expert and available, showing us evey dettail of the city. We had an amaizing morning in the ancient city, living each dettail just like they did 2000 years ago.
Remigio, out driver, is very fast, nice and allways on time, and he tooked us to Vezuvio and back home.
Our vote is 11/10, highly recomended.
Written 6 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Chloé
1 contribution
Great experience in Pompéi
Jul 2020 • Friends
Massimo was an excellent driver. Nice and very informative, thanks to him we had a very good day in Naples!
Written 7 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

AlexM120984
1 contribution
Don’t go on this tour if you want to be kept waiting and not delivering on what you’re being sold.
Jul 2019 • Solo
According to the website upon booking we would’ve had ear pieces to hear the guide. This did not happen. There was no communication on the bus and the tour operator did not point out any sites on the bus. Another guest asked about ear pieces and the guide said “the group size is small so we don’t need them”- we had 21 people in the tour. Other tour groups with even 8 or 9 people had ear pieces for hearing. It was very hard to hear the guide and we had to stop instead of having flow to hear what she was saying. There was one aspect of the tour we could not complete due to ‘timing’ and a ‘long que’ and needing to make it back.

What was worse, we left the Pompei site at 11:30am and then kept waiting till 12:10pm at the exit as our tour guide needed to ‘sort some things out’ and we were waiting on other people to join the tour group. No communication and we could have stayed in the museum to enjoy more time and see what we missed out on.

When we arrived st Mount Vesuvius we were told to go for 1hour and 45 minutes and be back at 3:45pm. We were told we would meet our guide near the top for our ‘archeological tour’. Once we hiked for 30 minutes there was no proper guide. Instead a guide that was for all the tourists to utilise was there but the next tour was not going for another 20 minutes. So we decided to self tour. Had we waited, we would’ve missed the time to be back and not had the opportunity to see the full site.

Very disappointing a number of things was promised, and that we were kept waiting for such a long period of time.

I was looking at other tours WorldTours did in Europe but will not use them and highly recommend doing your research, after doing the tour and seeing other tour operators it is certain there are many others that stick to what they say and deliver a better service
Written 14 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

dbart65
Fairfield, NJ5 contributions
Stress-Free (almost) Start to Vacation
Thanks to Tony Belardo and the team of drivers who helped us from the airport to Pompei to Amalfi and Rome with perfect timing and professionalism. We were a group of eight arriving at different times, dealing with changing flights and struggling with lost luggage, but Tony was a source of calm - his knowledge and understanding were greatly appreciated! Though we still don’t have our luggage, we have great memories of our trip.
Written 14 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

katrina154
Cardiff, UK1 contribution
Excellent tour
Great tour guide Francesca, very patient, polite and an encyclopaedia of information. Would highly recommend this tour company and Francesca.
Written 28 October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Bren T
2 contributions
Pompeii tour with WorldTours
Aug 2018 • Couples
Whatever you do, do NOT go on this tour. It is an absolute waste of money! First off, they were late picking us up, then they had us waiting in the souvenir shop/restaurant area for about 30 minutes before we got into Pompeii. The tour guide they provided could barely speak English, he repeated the same things over and over regarding how the roads were higher in the middle so that animal poop could be washed away by the rain. I understand that it is an interesting piece of knowledge but to repeat it several times in different areas of Pompeii was redundant. The guide himself powered through the tour, walking extremely quickly not giving us any time to take pictures or to enjoy the scenery. In fact we had an elderly couple from Australia who couldn't keep up and we lost them like 3 times! Several of us had to remind the guide that they were part of the tour and that he had to slow down. We didn't even see any of the frescos, and we only saw a single statue which was located at the entrance/exit of Pompeii!!!

Our "tour guide" was useless! We should have just wandered the ruins on our own!! Then after the tour we exited Pompeii but they made us wait for an hour in the same souvenir shop/restaurant place because they had to call the bus!! We specifically asked if we could spend more time in the ruins but they told us that the bus was parked and that we couldn't wait due to the high volume of tourist!! Couldn't wait???? Then why did they make us wait for an hour in the souvenir shop/ restaurant area??? If we had known we would have spent the time wandering the ruins!!! On top of that after the hour that we waited "for the bus" our guide took us to a "bonus" tour to try some lemon alcohol and some random shell carving demonstration. Aka it was to another souvenir shop to get us to buy some stupid trinket!!! Note this was NOT during the hour we were waiting but AFTER!!!!!! MEANING we probably spent 90 minutes in the souvenir shop after the tour. Add that to the 30 minutes we waited prior to entering we spent 2 hours in the souvenir shop!!!!!!!!! We could have wandered the ruins during that time!!!!! We spent more time in the stupid souvenir shop then we did in the actual ruins!!!!!! This was the worst tour I have ever been too!!!!! Do your self a favour find another tour group!!! Or take the red Napoli excursion bus (15 euro) to Pompeii!!! We had to pay our own entrance to Pompeii so it was the same thing!!!! In fact it would have been better because we could have wandered at our own pace and seen everything ourselves!!!

Let me repeat this tour was USELESS!!!!!! Do not waste your money on this tour. They must get some sort of kickbacks from the shops, why else would they make us spend so much time in the souvenir shop!! We spent more time in the stupid shops then we did in the ruins! The guide lied to us!! This "tour" ruined our trip (excuse the pun)!!! Do NOT spend the money. I'm so angry I'm posting this on every tourist site I can find, Expedia, Google, Viator, lonely planet, the worldtours website itself, every site I can find!!! This is how angry I am!! I willingly spent an hour when I returned to Canada I am finding and posting this review on every site I could find!!!!
Written 29 August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Bren, My name is Mafalda and I work in the WT staff. I am writing to reply to your review, saying first of all that we were very sorry that you did not appreciate the ruins of Pompeii and that you did not like our tour, one of the best sellers along with that of the Amalfi Coast. The first thing that catches my eye when I'm reading the review is not only that you did not like the tour but that something important happened that annoyed you. - Regarding the delays if there were any, they certainly do not depend on the company but on our customers, they are on holiday! Is a group tour and we go to take all the customers in the hotels and if someone leaves late, we wait for him but obviously we will be late for the next pick up. - Our guides are all qualified and qualified by the Italian Government, it is unthinkable that a guide does not speak English but what I can think is that perhaps there were many people in the excavations and then maybe you could not listen well to the guide but it would have been enough to get closer to understand better the history of Pompeii. - talking about the elderly couple who lost themselves in the excavations I can say Welcome to Pompeii, it is very famous to get lost in the ruins and you are always looking for someone or because they are elderly or because they are adventurers, but I repeat, it's a group tour and at that moment we are like a family, if someone gets lost the guide looks for him and the rest of the group has some time to take pictures. - Is the guide useless? I assure you that the guide in the excavations of Pompeii is not useless. I will repeat it to infinity, Pompeii is a whole city 64 to 67 ha. (170 acres) (660,000 square meters), wandering the ruins alone without an itinerary is not advisable, with a guide you can see the main things, the most important, the most significant. - After leaving the excavations we always give free time, customers are asking for it (you can imagine that time is money for a company would be better to return and end the tour) But our guests want to buy souvenirs, books, and especially go to the bathroom or take a bottle of water, eat something. Meanwhile, the guide calls the bus to get it in front of the ruins, because the parking areas you see in front of the excavations are not parking areas, are only for pick up and dropp off, means that we can only leave customers and go to resume them. Would you imagine a parking area right outside the ruins? This year the site had 3.4 million visitors, August 450,000 per day, you can not have buses and cars out of the ruins for this the bus must be called to come and pick you up. But this point is only for the benefit of our agency because many other agencies make their customers walk under the sun to reach the parking areas, we give free time and we come to pick you up under the excavations not a meter more. And with this I reconnect to the other point - free time can be spent as you wish but we also show you one of the historical shops of the site where you can make some free tasting of limoncello and liqueurs, enter and go out easy. Even the demonstration of the carving of the cameo and the processing of coral what she called stupid trinkets is one of the oldest working traditions of our region known all over the world and absolutely in line with the Pompeian culture. The live demonstration of these carvings is something really precious to see but is not forced to observe it at all. They are ideas (limoncello or coral) for the free time you have after visiting the ruins, nothing more. - you can choose to arrive in Pompeii with a private tour, with a taxi (they are quite expensive) or as you suggest you can take the red bus but clearly would not have the guide included (120.00 euros institutional fee for the guide only), would not have the skip the line to enter the excavations (she mentions having paid the ticket for entry, which is normal in my opinion) but the guide did give the ticket upon arrival in the excavations, you did not have to put in row and I remember 450,000 visitors a day, maybe get in line for an hour or more and wait to buy the ticket, that would have been a waste of time. I am still sorry that you did not take full advantage of the Pompeii site. We are always available for further clarification.
Written 30 August 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

drj08
here3 contributions
Not what we expected
Aug 2018 • Couples
The bus was almost 30 minutes late to our departure site. Once we arrived, we waited for 30-40 minutes for two minors to get their tickets. Our guide, Lara, was very knowledgeable and pleasant. However, the trip was very short and we did not feel that we saw everything we would like to have seen. Maybe next time. 😊
Written 17 August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, thanks for your review, I do not know why you said the bus was late because we are always on time maybe you had to wait other guests that they going out of the hotels but this is somethig different because in a tour group you suppose to wait a little bit the others. Also when a guide buy tickets for children has always the skip the line so is really strange wait for 30-40 minutes. Anyway I hope you enjoyed Pompei with our guide Laura. Worldtours staff.
Written 11 November 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Barry A
Oakville, Canada14 contributions
Convenient Tour - Not a Great Tour Guide
Jul 2018 • Family
This was a decent tour, we booked it for when we were in port off a cruise. The 2 hour time was great for a family of 4 in the crazy heat. It would have been tough to stay much longer. The tour guide was not great and not very good at organizing. It was late starting and he seemed to have a bit of trouble keeping the group together in the breaks. That said, we did get enough out of the tour to have a good understanding of Pompeii, it served our purpose and meet our timelines nicely. It was WAY cheaper than an organized tour from our cruise. If i did it over again, I may look at getting a private tour guide to take us for just 2 hours to the highlights. But for a family with teens, this was a good amount of time to spend in Pompeii and be amazed at all the great sights there.
Written 11 August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi, I would you like to thank you for your review. Our group tour in the ruins is about two hours because is a good amount of time to see the highlights (especially during the really hot days in summer): Houses, gymnasium, theatres, termopolium etc. With a private guide you can ask something more but always you need to check if there are long queque in the place that you want to see. Anyways thank you and maybe who knows you can back and see more. Worldtours Staff
Written 11 November 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sarah C
Melbourne, Australia3 contributions
Terrible company and a disappointing experience
Do not book with this company! We booked a 3-4 hour tour of Pompeii from Naples and were rushed through in an hour. The driver had to pick up the guide from the port of Naples, where we waited half an hour in the hot, old minivan for her to arrive. She didn’t introduce herself and made several phone calls during the drive to Pompeii. The driver sped and swerved all over the road, also using his phone during the trip. The guide rushed us through the site in just on an hour. She did point out some interesting sites, although we did not see the house of the tragic poet and the brothel as stated in the itinerary. We were told at the beginning of the tour that we would see the “famous” plaster bodies and the Pompeii dog, but the guide lied and said these areas were closed (we checked with Pompeii staff and they were not). We were only in Naples for two days, specifically to go to Pompeii, and will never get the chance to go again. The company deletes bad reviews on Facebook and isn’t interested in any of our complaints. Please don’t book anything with World Tours of Italy, you would be better off making your own way to Pompeii and wandering around yourself!
Written 2 July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Sarah, I am sorry that our Pompeii tour was different from what you were expected. We have the group tour in the excavations with an excellent guide that knows well the itineraries to follow especially if something changes during the day at the last moment. Pompeii is a site in continuous evolution but our customers have nothing to fear because all our guides are aware of what happens in the excavations minute by minute, much more than the official site or what you can find in Google, this is the reason why our guests rely on the care of local guides. I will give you two examples specifically and I am sure that you can understand what I am talking about, is not fair you said our guide lied because we do our best to make your visit enjoyable and please you can check on Google if I am lying right now: 1 Currently the excavations host the Naples Theater International Festival, this means that some houses are closed at the time to give the opportunity to the artists to rehearse the shows. 2 Famous and / or important personalities come to visit the excavations, Mattew McConaughey this week (can you imagine delirium) so the security closes some accesses to the streets, and we could watch without doing anything instead our guides promptly change itinerary without making you lose precious minutes of the visit. Also we are really interested in your complains because thanks to them we make our service better and reading your complain, I could suggest to you a private tour next time if you don't like to wait for other people. We use to call our group tour "Family" because for one day you are all togheter with a guide and as family we suppose to wait if someone goes to the rest rooms or if someone get lost in the ruins. I will be at your disposal if you have any further requests for clarification.
Written 5 July 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 15
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: WorldTours
07Milan
07Milan
00
My driver Mirek and I spent the whole day on a trip to Amalfi and Mount Vesuvius. A very nice person with knowledge of
My driver Mirrko and We ,spent the whole day on a trip to Amalfi and Mount Vesuvius. A very nice person with knowl
Happiness580218
Happiness580218
00
Pompeii and Amalfi Coast day trip to remember
Tour of Pompeii was thorough and informative and was so impressive with our English speaking tour guide from Sorren
StijnVJulieM
StijnVJulieM
00
Amazing tour around Naples
We thoroughly enjoyed this tour around Naples with our lovely guide Marco! We were in a small group where he had to
dirkadriaensens
dirkadriaensens
00
Great experience with guide Gianni and driver Pasquale
Fantastic trip, thanks to the professional guide Gianni and the excellent driver Pasquale. I recommend this experie
Kmoyn
Kmoyn
00
Very enjoyable, informative and well-organised tour
My wife and I took part in this tour on our honeymoon and first visit to Napoli. The bus showed up on time to colle
Hanneke4084
Hanneke4084
00
Bezoek aan Pomeï en Amalfikust
We booked this trip last-minute (night before). We got a quick response about the pick-up point. Our trip started
852sarahjayne
852sarahjayne
00
Great!
The tour was amazing and Marco was a fantastic guide. He provided so much insightful information of the city as wel
756zivileb
756zivileb
00
Unforgettable experience
Great experience of the day trip! Tiziana was very professional, good mannered guide and Maurizio was amazingly per
Sadhbh W
Sadhbh W
00
Brilliant experience - a must do.
The whole trip from start to finish was perfect - couldn’t recommend it enough ☺️ Both giannardo and mariangela wer
sct2021
sct2021
00
Pro Tour Guide and DriverThese guys know what they are doing
Our guide (Teresa) and driver (Genardo) ... she had to deliver the dialogue in 3 languages, jokes and all... and is
NadiaNJP
NadiaNJP
00
Amazing Value!
Loved every second of our Amalfi Coast tour. Anna was a fantastic guide and Arcangelo a really good and safe driver
MayCZ2
MayCZ2
00
Tour : Napoli & Capri in one day
It’s was very condensed, 2 places in one day but it was a great experience ! Our guides in Pompeii were very intere
docmerc
docmerc
00
Beautiful Amafi
Beautiful day touring these 3 cities with our guide Theresa. The tour covers a lot of ground in one day but it did
152macieja
152macieja
00
Very nice trip
If you want to see Amalfi coast in one day -it is a very good option . Perfect views , lunch in a nice place with a
cptmrcl
cptmrcl
00
Great experience
Great organization (pickup, transport, transfer between the sites). The guide in Pompei very competent and entertai
Frequently Asked Questions about Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide


Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide price starts from R 994,15. Discover and book Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide on Tripadvisor

Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide on Tripadvisor

Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide is hosted by WorldTours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact WorldTours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide on Tripadvisor